Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PCS to SMR handoff for voice?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,888
    Feedback Score
    0

    PCS to SMR handoff for voice?

    So question, they have widely deployed SMR in Alabama now, pretty much throughout the entire LTE coverage area that has had NV done.

    I have noticed that when I start a call when my phone is on PCS that driving in fringe area's the signal with get very poor and the call usually drops like it used to.

    Looking at the engineering screen on my iPhone 6 you can see the phone never hands over to 800mhz, but when the call drops it immediately says paging and it connects over to 800mhz and 3-4 bars of usable service.

    Why is it not handing over, I know my Verizon phone would hand down from PCS to cellular during a call.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,029
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro 256 GB Midnight Green
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wireless Junkie View Post
    So question, they have widely deployed SMR in Alabama now, pretty much throughout the entire LTE coverage area that has had NV done.

    I have noticed that when I start a call when my phone is on PCS that driving in fringe area's the signal with get very poor and the call usually drops like it used to.

    Looking at the engineering screen on my iPhone 6 you can see the phone never hands over to 800mhz, but when the call drops it immediately says paging and it connects over to 800mhz and 3-4 bars of usable service.

    Why is it not handing over, I know my Verizon phone would hand down from PCS to cellular during a call.
    Maybe the engineering screen isn't updating while in a call? That's weird.

    Chicago, IL
    2+46+46+46+4 (85 MHz DL, 15 MHz UL)


    Duluth, MN
    4+14 UL CA (30 MHz DL/UL)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    4,056
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'd try calling tech support. Sounds like a hand off issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    6,323
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wireless Junkie View Post
    Why is it not handing over, I know my Verizon phone would hand down from PCS to cellular during a call.
    I was in an area last week in the Los Angeles area where I tested these handoffs and it worked fine. This was in a Ross clothing store in Alhambra where the 1900 is useable until you go downstairs in the lower level.
    Sprint user since 1997

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    6,323
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeybutts View Post
    I'd try calling tech support. Sounds like a hand off issue.
    Yeah that could be a neighbor list handoff issue. I have found them before and was able to get them fixed back when I had contacts in the RF dept.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,888
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by larryt510 View Post
    Yeah that could be a neighbor list handoff issue. I have found them before and was able to get them fixed back when I had contacts in the RF dept.
    I called and they escalated it to their next level of support and are filing a local engineering ticket, so hopefully Ericsson can take a look at it! Otherwise its amazing having SMR compared to PCS!!!!! Double the coverage in just a day haha, it may be that since it was just deployed that they are working on optimizing it and correcting neighbor lists.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    176
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wireless Junkie View Post
    ...its amazing having SMR compared to PCS!!!!! Double the coverage in just a day haha...
    >>>>> "Thank you, Nextel."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,015
    Carrier(s)
    Spectrum Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anybody know if Cincinnati Ohio has SMR deployed yet?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    6,323
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by idavenport90 View Post
    Does anybody know if Cincinnati Ohio has SMR deployed yet?
    Yes it does.

Similar Threads

  1. Razr V3 -- How to increase space for Voice Recorder??
    By johnnyp in forum Motorola FAQ (Now closed, check the wiki instead)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2005, 07:14 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2005, 07:14 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-25-2005, 04:40 PM
  4. Anyone know how to hack CP for Voice Record?
    By NextelsOnly in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2004, 12:19 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks