Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: spent $10 to find out network is [email protected]

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    151
    Feedback Score
    0

    spent $10 to find out network is [email protected]

    I have a AT&T note 4 thought I would give Tmobile a spin the coverage map show LTE but the tower next to my home is 2G only with no time frame for a update sucks I am stuck with AT&T and there BS ways I was hoping for good service from Tmobile but oh well maybe next year.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,125
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0

    spent $10 to find out network is [email protected]

    Quote Originally Posted by John Chambers View Post
    I have a AT&T note 4 thought I would give Tmobile a spin the coverage map show LTE but the tower next to my home is 2G only with no time frame for a update sucks I am stuck with AT&T and there BS ways I was hoping for good service from Tmobile but oh well maybe next year.
    Does the att note 4 have band 12 enabled?


    via the HoFo App
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________



    Speed achieved using T-Mobile Samsung GS2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    16,112
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by John Chambers View Post
    I have a AT&T note 4 thought I would give Tmobile a spin the coverage map show LTE but the tower next to my home is 2G only with no time frame for a update sucks I am stuck with AT&T and there BS ways I was hoping for good service from Tmobile but oh well maybe next year.
    I love the way that some people find that T-Mobile either does not have a good signal at one location and/or does not work well with their chosen BYOD and conclude broadly that "the network is [email protected]". Apparently having no comprehension that every network is "[email protected]" in some places. While you were testing T-Mobile did you happen to do any CellMapper or Sensorly mapping? I do hope that the $10 did not set you back too much.
    Donald Newcomb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,125
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also does att enable aws hspa on their phones? I know they like to disable the aws hspa band to prevent what he just did


    via the HoFo App

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    16,112
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by terryjohnson16 View Post
    Also does att enable aws hspa on their phones? I know they like to disable the aws hspa band to prevent what he just did
    GSMarena.com says that the N910W8 has HSDPA 1700. I don't know if AT&T might have disabled it, or not. It would help to know exactly where John is located. That might help answer some questions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,125
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (T-Mobile)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    GSMarena.com says that the N910W8 has HSDPA 1700. I don't know if AT&T might have disabled it, or not. It would help to know exactly where John is located. That might help answer some questions.
    It may have it but att tends to software disable the aws hspa band on their phones

    I know they did that on their version of the galaxy s3. You have to go into the settings to enable it


    via the HoFo App

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7,013
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    You're *****ing about $10?


    I can send you the change in my cup holder to make you feel better..
    Bye!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    502
    Carrier(s)
    All major providers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by John Chambers View Post
    I have a AT&T note 4 thought I would give Tmobile a spin the coverage map show LTE but the tower next to my home is 2G only with no time frame for a update sucks I am stuck with AT&T and there BS ways I was hoping for good service from Tmobile but oh well maybe next year.
    Where was this?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,767
    Device(s)
    S9
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by John Chambers View Post
    I have a AT&T note 4 thought I would give Tmobile a spin the coverage map show LTE but the tower next to my home is 2G only with no time frame for a update sucks I am stuck with AT&T and there BS ways I was hoping for good service from Tmobile but oh well maybe next year.
    It's all location. AT&T doesn't even have 2G for voice at my house in a major metropolitan area in South Florida that was proved again with friends trying to call me on their AT&T phone in my drive way this week. T-Mobile has 5 bars of 4G LTE plus VoWiFi and VoLTE. AT&T is over rated and over priced.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    836
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6, Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    I spent $45 a month for 3 years to realize AT&T's network is [email protected]

    Oh, wait, it's all about location. SMH
    Nexus 6 - 64 GB - Midnight Blue
    Nexus 4 - 16 GB - Black
    Nexus 9 - 32 GB - Black
    And my first: Samsung Galaxy Craptivate.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    236
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thats good, you found out tmobile doesnt work for you. It doesnt for everyone

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    700
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6 Plus, LG Leon LTE, Xiaomi Note 4G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AutoOnion View Post
    Thats good, you found out tmobile doesnt work for you. It doesnt for everyone
    Exactly, and only $10 spent. I consider that pretty darn good. If you want to try Sprint, it's even better, $0/mo (no credit card or any payment info needed) for a Sprint SIM card and RingPlus. Only thing is your phone should be unlocked and should support CDMA and GSM, like if you buy a SIM-free iPhone 6 from the Apple Store.
    Jeffw16

    Blog



    1. T-Mobile Band 4 LTE at UTD, 2. T-Mobile Band 12 LTE, 3. TWC 100Mbps

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,393
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ChristopherMcG View Post
    You're *****ing about $10?


    I can send you the change in my cup holder to make you feel better..
    To some people $10 may be the difference between eating or not eating today.


    via the HoFo App

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13,768
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kneedragger32 View Post
    To some people $10 may be the difference between eating or not eating today.


    via the HoFo App
    And those people aren't experimenting with trying different cell phone carriers. The fact is you can get the same information without spending any money if you really want you. If I know I'm experimenting and I'm going to spend $10 that is my choice. Why would I complain about getting a successful result? I was successful in finding out that that carrier didn't have good coverage in my area...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    16,112
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kneedragger32 View Post
    To some people $10 may be the difference between eating or not eating today.
    Generally, those people get phone service for free.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 12:52 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2007, 03:29 PM
  3. how to find out if the network in my area is bad or something?
    By lastdon00 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-29-2005, 09:50 AM
  4. any way to find out who an IM name is?
    By rockon83 in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-17-2003, 08:54 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2003, 10:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks