Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: New roaming agreement?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    564
    Device(s)
    Lots
    Carrier(s)
    Currently Videotron and Bell. Has used PM, Wind, Koodo, Koodo, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0

    New roaming agreement?

    With a Windows phone, I now see

    Wind
    Wind Away (2G,4G)
    Wind Away (4G)
    Wind Away (4G)
    Mobilicity (4G)
    302500 (4G)

    (on this phone 2G=GSM and 4G=HSPA)

    Has Wind signed with Bell?

    -gmd
    Sent from my HUAWEI H883G via the HowardForums WP7 App

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    564
    Device(s)
    Lots
    Carrier(s)
    Currently Videotron and Bell. Has used PM, Wind, Koodo, Koodo, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tried again from the basement,

    Wind (4G)
    Wind Away (2G, 4G)
    Wind Away (4G)
    Wind Away (4G)

    -gmd

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    11
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5C
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is what I get (pardon the big screenshot):

    Name:  IMG_20151109_160655.png
Views: 1310
Size:  106.0 KB

    From what I remember, that second WIND Away used to just read 'Bell'. So I wonder if they did sign a new deal.
    WIND Mobile (current) - Unlimited Wish 40 ($40/mo) - Unlimited Data, Canada & US Talk, Global SMS/MMS, World Saver, Voice Mail

    Bell Mobility (former) - Corporate 22 ($22.50/mo) - Unlimited Canada SMS/MMS, 400 Local Minutes, Unlimited Evenings & Weekends starting at 5pm

    Virgin Mobile (former) - Prepaid ($10/mo)

    Old phones: BlackBerry Passport, BlackBerry Z10, BlackBerry Bold 9790, Samsung Galaxy i7500L, LG Muziq, LG 150

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,127
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Key2
    Carrier(s)
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had no signal at my cottage, there never has been one from any carrier, but when I went up to open the cottage last year I hooked onto a pretty strong roaming signal that turned out was from a new Bell tower that had recently been built. I posted about it here around April or May 2014 if you care to trawl through my posts to find it. About 2 weeks later WIND announced new roaming fees that were finally somewhat competitive. They renegotiated their fees with Rogers and hooked up with Bell and Telus.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    270
    Device(s)
    N5
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gmd View Post
    With a Windows phone, I now see

    Wind
    Wind Away (2G,4G)
    Wind Away (4G)
    Wind Away (4G)
    Mobilicity (4G)
    302500 (4G)

    (on this phone 2G=GSM and 4G=HSPA)

    Has Wind signed with Bell?

    -gmd
    Sent from my HUAWEI H883G via the HowardForums WP7 App
    weird, i never noticed it as ive never cared until now, android doesn't show the 4g/2g/3g etc all i can see is

    Wind
    Wind Away
    Wind Away
    Wind Away

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    564
    Device(s)
    Lots
    Carrier(s)
    Currently Videotron and Bell. Has used PM, Wind, Koodo, Koodo, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    See the screen capture to go along with my initial post.

    I could not attach from Windows, so I sent it to my Android phone .
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    119
    Device(s)
    Unlocked iPhone 6 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOtherNick View Post
    This is what I get (pardon the big screenshot):

    Name:  IMG_20151109_160655.png
Views: 1310
Size:  106.0 KB

    From what I remember, that second WIND Away used to just read 'Bell'. So I wonder if they did sign a new deal.
    That's a coincidence. The new roaming rates were from the CRTC negotiating wholesale prices to reduce rates. They're still doing that to try and set a standard flat rate instead of having to negotiate.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    near Edmonton
    Posts
    414
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry KEYone
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Name:  IMG_20151111_083558.png
Views: 897
Size:  107.3 KB
    Today in sherwood park, Alberta

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,025
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5S
    Carrier(s)
    Wind on HMP2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gmd View Post
    With a Windows phone, I now see

    Wind
    Wind Away (2G,4G)
    Wind Away (4G)
    Wind Away (4G)
    Mobilicity (4G)
    302500 (4G)

    (on this phone 2G=GSM and 4G=HSPA)

    Has Wind signed with Bell?

    -gmd
    Sent from my HUAWEI H883G via the HowardForums WP7 App
    Simplest thing it to look at coverage maps from the other providers.

    Bell:
    http://support.bell.ca/Mobility/Netw...rage_in_Canada

    If you look at NL, you will see that Wind does NOT have the Bell coverage of NL, but of Rogers. If you look at northeast BC, you will see that Wind does NOT have an area up there that is covered by Bell, but not Telus. Telus has access but not Wind.

    So, to my understanding, Wind has Rogers and Telus for Canadian roaming coverage, but not Bell, Sasktel, MTS, TBayTel, Videotron, Eastlink, Northwestel, Ice or anyone else in Canada.

    Perhaps over time, perhaps after the CRTC has made their roaming rates ruling. Perhaps it will have to wait for Wind to get LTE coverage before anyone is willing to roam with Wind.
    -----
    Your choices are yours and I do not criticize you for them.
    My choices are mine, please do not criticize me for my choices.
    -----
    Any comments I make are made to further any conversation that is happening and should not be taken as an attack or belittlement of anyone, unless I specifically say so.
    -----
    I dislike all politicians and lawyers equally.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    3,400
    Carrier(s)
    Value
    Feedback Score
    0
    WIND Mobile adds another new partner network
    CNW, Nov 17

    TORONTO, Nov. 17, 2015 /CNW/ - Today WIND Mobile announced it is further expanding its network coverage across Canada by adding another roaming partner.

    "Adding a third major roaming partner will give more freedom to our customers to use their phone while travelling across Canada," said WIND Mobile CEO Alek Krstajic.

    Access to the expanded partner network is available to all existing and new customers, allowing them to seamlessly use data/talk/text services on the partner networks.

    By adding another domestic roaming partner network, WIND Mobile has taken another leap in improving its service throughout Canada. The new arrangement adds 292,000 square kilometres of coverage within Canada. Collectively WIND Mobile now covers over 1.5 million square kilometres across Canada and reaches 99 per cent of the population.

    --
    Bell, most likely.
    Last edited by pjw918; 11-17-2015 at 12:36 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    564
    Device(s)
    Lots
    Carrier(s)
    Currently Videotron and Bell. Has used PM, Wind, Koodo, Koodo, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    Bell, most likely.
    Now with 3 roaming partners in Canada and 4 in the US, coverage could not be better. If speed was not an issue with Wind (in certain regions), and with data roaming enabled, makes me wonder how many people should consider making the switch.

    Specially with their roaming rates, like "Calling" cheaper than LD with others.

    15˘/min Canada/US-wide Calling
    5˘/Text Canada/US -wide
    5˘/Text Global Texting
    5˘/MB Data

    E.g. $30+roaming charges with Wind vs. $85 with another provider

    -gmd

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    270
    Device(s)
    N5
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pjw918 View Post
    WIND Mobile adds another new partner network
    CNW, Nov 17

    Collectively WIND Mobile now covers over 1.5 million square kilometres across Canada and reaches 99 per cent of the population.

    --
    Bell, most likely.
    so im not sure here how they are counting people but Saskatchewan is 3% of Canada's population or so. and rogers network in saskatchewan ive never been able to connect to even with a rogers cell phone, only thing that works out there is the sasktel/rogers roaming "roam like home" agreement...

    im guessing nobody from wind's engineering department has actually gone through sask to see if their roaming works or not along the highways/in the major cities that rogers apparently has towers.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    For the first time ever my Nexus 5 automatically connected to the 302610 (Bell) network today in downtown Toronto, even though it's listed as a Wind Away network in my network settings. I thought Wind prevented Wind Away connections in the home area, so I hope that doesn't happen again (since my Nexus 5 has the bug where Wind Away isn't seen as roaming).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Calgary / Honolulu
    Posts
    1,158
    Device(s)
    Nexus 4
    Carrier(s)
    WIND
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ruden View Post
    so im not sure here how they are counting people but Saskatchewan is 3% of Canada's population or so. and rogers network in saskatchewan ive never been able to connect to even with a rogers cell phone, only thing that works out there is the sasktel/rogers roaming "roam like home" agreement...

    im guessing nobody from wind's engineering department has actually gone through sask to see if their roaming works or not along the highways/in the major cities that rogers apparently has towers.
    I've ALWAYS been able to roam on Rogers in Sask - never once had a problem. Having said that, Roger's coverage is limited to major highways and cities - so, rural areas of the province suck (i.e. no coverage). It would be awesome if WIND added SaskTel as a roaming partner.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    368
    Device(s)
    Asus ZenFone 2 Laser w/LOS14.1
    Carrier(s)
    Public Mobile, Chatr, formerly Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Who does Wind roam with in the territories? There seems to be a fair bit of coverage.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. att new roaming agreements
    By outatym in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2003, 01:35 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-05-2003, 09:30 PM
  3. New Roaming Agreements
    By dooney in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2003, 09:25 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-08-2003, 04:08 AM
  5. AT&T/Cingular sign new roaming agreement
    By frail in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2003, 05:41 PM

Bookmarks