Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Can someone discuss international texting.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    7,070
    Device(s)
    Cricket Moto g7 supra,metro Moto g7pwr, visible g7bpwr
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket,visible,metro pcs
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can someone discuss international texting.

    Apparently, cricket does not support. What is reccommened work a round, ie app,g voice??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,996
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can't think of any.

    I know that GV used to support international texting, but I believe that was discontinued for some reason. I know I used it to text England, but I have not done so in years, and can't verify if it still works.

    Whatsapp and Skype do work, but whatsapp requires the other party to have the app installed, so you can't send to just any number, and Skype charges per text message. Whatsapp also uses data, but I'm not sure about Skype.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    761
    Device(s)
    Asus Zenfone 2
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I know with text Now App, you can text the caribbean with the country code starting with 1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3,361
    Feedback Score
    0
    I bought the international package for a month when I needed to text to a European country. It's about $15 dollars I think.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    177
    Feedback Score
    0
    What makes you think they don't support? International texting is included on the $50 and $60 plans

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3,361
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GSMPhonePhreak View Post
    What makes you think they don't support? International texting is included on the $50 and $60 plans
    Right, that's what I had to do. Temporarily change my plan.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    California
    Posts
    696
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cricket does support international texting.

    On their 5GB and 10GB plans, they support these extras not found on the 2.5GB plan: Ability to use your data in Canada/Mexico, Calling and texting to AND from Mexico/Canada, Unlimited international texting to these countries: Argentina
    Australia
    Austria
    Belgium
    Brazil
    Canada*
    China
    Colombia
    Dominican Republic
    France
    Germany
    Greece
    Hong Kong
    Hungary
    India
    Ireland
    Israel
    Italy
    Japan
    Malaysia
    Mexico
    Netherlands
    Nigeria
    Paraguay
    Peru
    Poland
    Portugal
    Romania
    Singapore
    South Africa
    South Korea
    Spain
    Switzerland
    Taiwan
    Thailand
    Turkey
    UK
    Venezuela


    If you're on the $25, or $35 plan (2.5GB), then you cannot use those features.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,767
    Feedback Score
    0
    As a fyi, Ultra Mobile, a T-Mo mvno, has it on their $29. plan and up as a alternative to Crickets $50. plan. One of the best mvno's I've ever had with data speeds that a much faster than my Cricket lines.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    California
    Posts
    696
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jimxx200 View Post
    As a fyi, Ultra Mobile, a T-Mo mvno, has it on their $29. plan and up as a alternative to Crickets $50. plan. One of the best mvno's I've ever had with data speeds that a much faster than my Cricket lines.
    That's interesting, however why would anyone need more than 8mbps on a phone with limited data?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    154
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Stardust, LG Sunrise, Hydro Vibe
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone, RingPlus, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fflip8 View Post
    That's interesting, however why would anyone need more than 8mbps on a phone with limited data?
    Some people do more than just browse the internet.

    You know, like watching videos, downloading files and using data-intensive services.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    California
    Posts
    696
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LygerZero View Post
    Some people do more than just browse the internet.

    You know, like watching videos, downloading files and using data-intensive services.
    And that uses more than 8mbps?? 1080p only needs 4-7mbps to stream. 8mbps for a 30mb file takes around 30 seconds. Is that too long to wait?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,996
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fflip8 View Post
    And that uses more than 8mbps?? 1080p only needs 4-7mbps to stream. 8mbps for a 30mb file takes around 30 seconds. Is that too long to wait?
    Some people don't like to wait. A lot of people say that you can't tell the difference at 8Mbps and anything faster is purely for bragging rights, but I can definitely tell when my speed slows down to 8-10Mbps anytime pages are taking a long time to load or downloading is taking a long time. Same goes for throttled speed. Some people say it is usable for everything except watching movies, but I found it too slow to do anything with except get email.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    7,070
    Device(s)
    Cricket Moto g7 supra,metro Moto g7pwr, visible g7bpwr
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket,visible,metro pcs
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks!............

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,462
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6 / S9+
    Carrier(s)
    MintSIM/Red Pocket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Throttled speed is understandably slow but 8 -10 is plenty in my books.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,301
    Device(s)
    A phone
    Carrier(s)
    Any
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fflip8 View Post
    That's interesting, however why would anyone need more than 8mbps on a phone with limited data?
    The speed isn't the issue, it's the increased cricket latency caused by their proxies.

    The speed is fine.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can't send international text message from net10?
    By Red Squirrel in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 03:36 PM
  2. Bell Can't send International text message to the UK
    By Rob11 in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 03:08 PM
  3. Can someone access your text messages?
    By froggie8949 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-24-2007, 07:24 AM
  4. can't receive international text message!
    By ninisteph in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-04-2007, 06:16 PM
  5. can i sned international text's on my M55
    By vwtoby in forum Siemens
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-07-2004, 01:19 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks