Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: We're sorry your service does not allow you to complete this call message MS0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    We're sorry your service does not allow you to complete this call message MS0

    Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 (model SCH-I535, Verizon)
    I have been using my phone with Tracfone's BYOP smartphone service for several months. I can always make calls when I am near home and on most trips, but on monthly work trips to SW Virginia (in same "540" area code as my home) I cannot make any calls even though the phone shows a strong cellular signal. After I dial, a recording says "To complete your call, please reenter the 10-digit number your are calling...". After I reenter the number (e.g., 540-xxx-xxxx), a second recording says "We're sorry, your service does not allow you to complete this call. Message MS0".
    Can anyone help solve this aggravation? If not, I'll have to dump Tracfone--I need service on these trips.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,837
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joesera View Post
    on monthly work trips to SW Virginia (in same "540" area code as my home) I cannot make any calls even though the phone shows a strong cellular signal.
    The phone shows a strong cellular signal but the tower may not be owned by Verizon. Smartphones (TF-branded or BYOP) don't roam onto towers that aren't owned by Verizon (or AT&T for GSM phones). Use THIS MAP , make sure it's set to Prepaid, zoom in to the location that you have problems with and see if there is Prepaid coverage. If no, your phone won't work there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,718
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    The phone shows a strong cellular signal but the tower may not be owned by Verizon. Smartphones (TF-branded or BYOP) don't roam onto towers that aren't owned by Verizon (or AT&T for GSM phones).
    Well, maybe LTE data roaming if it's a LTE in Rural America partner. But not voice roaming.
    Definitely check the coverage map.

    joesera could try a VoIP call in that area (Hangouts, GV, Whatsapp, Skype, etc)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    I wonder what prepaid roaming means?

    https://vzwmap.verizonwireless.com/d...veragelocator/
    Cheers!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5,753
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    I wonder what prepaid roaming means?

    https://vzwmap.verizonwireless.com/d...veragelocator/
    It means that Vz Prepaid service can at least voice roam, but at additional cost. IIRC, it is 20 cents a minute. I don't think they allow that for MVNOs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    It means that Vz Prepaid service can at least voice roam, but at additional cost. IIRC, it is 20 cents a minute. I don't think they allow that for MVNOs.
    Thanks! ......

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    14,593
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    It means that Vz Prepaid service can at least voice roam, but at additional cost. IIRC, it is 20 cents a minute. I don't think they allow that for MVNOs.
    Voice roaming on the Vzw extended network is included for no additional cost with Selectel, and at an extra cost with PagePlus and Puppy Wireless.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    8,718
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    I wonder what prepaid roaming means?
    In the past, the Verizon prepaid plans offered voice roaming for $0.20/min (and SMS but not sure the fee).

    I think they've stopped that since there are no by-the-minute options now. The coverage map just hasn't been updated to remove that option yet (or they keep it for MVNOs that do offer it, like PP and Puppy).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5,753
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Voice roaming on the Vzw extended network is included for no additional cost with Selectel, and at an extra cost with PagePlus and Puppy Wireless.
    Thank you for correcting my imperfect recollection about that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    8,061
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Voice roaming on the Vzw extended network is included for no additional cost with Selectel, and at an extra cost with PagePlus and Puppy Wireless.
    Selectel is a unique MVNO being on the postpaid network.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    8,061
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joesera View Post
    I dial, a recording says "To complete your call, please reenter the 10-digit number your are calling...". After I reenter the number (e.g., 540-xxx-xxxx), a second recording says "We're sorry, your service does not allow you to complete this call. Message MS0".

    Can anyone help solve this aggravation? If not, I'll have to dump Tracfone--I need service on these trips.
    Getting a message that you have to redial is the big indication you are in a roaming area. It comes from the local carrier you are connected to. Not sure if this is a CDMA thing, or if GSM carriers do the same thing.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Buckeye Land
    Posts
    558
    Device(s)
    iPhone XR, iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone, Verizon - Tracfone AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wonder what would happen if you dialed a " 1 " in front of the number?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joesera View Post
    Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 (model SCH-I535, Verizon)
    I have been using my phone with Tracfone's BYOP smartphone service for several months. I can always make calls when I am near home and on most trips, but on monthly work trips to SW Virginia (in same "540" area code as my home) I cannot make any calls even though the phone shows a strong cellular signal. After I dial, a recording says "To complete your call, please reenter the 10-digit number your are calling...". After I reenter the number (e.g., 540-xxx-xxxx), a second recording says "We're sorry, your service does not allow you to complete this call. Message MS0".
    Can anyone help solve this aggravation? If not, I'll have to dump Tracfone--I need service on these trips.
    Install this app and try it at home calling area where the phone works:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...s.cellinfolite

    It says Verizon Wireless for me. I have not tried it outside of Verizon coverage area.

    Next time you're traveling in the same area where you cannot make calls, see what carrier the app reports.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TacoDan View Post
    Wonder what would happen if you dialed a " 1 " in front of the number?
    Tried it. Got same messages.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    3
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for all the info folks. Based on my experience traveling in SW VA, Verizon's prepaid coverage map is highly optimistic there...and I will need roaming when crossing over into eastern KY. Based on my current usage (500 min/mo, 1.5 GB/mo), I'm spending about $30/mo with TF. It looks like I could get 2 GB/mo with voice & SMS roaming (+ unlimited talk & text) with Selectel for $40. Any cheaper options that will meet my needs? Also, on Verizon's "Voice & Messaging" coverage map, part of the area where I travel (eastern KY) is shown as "Extended Digital Coverage". Will Selectel work there?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-09-2013, 12:50 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-23-2013, 07:42 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-06-2011, 01:06 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-13-2010, 11:34 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-19-2010, 04:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks