Thread: Small Cell Phone Providers.

Feedback Score

Small Cell Phone Providers.

I am brand new to mobile cell phones and know even less about providers of cell phone service. I read in Consumer Reports review of cell phones and cell phone service providers.

Why does Consumer Cellular and Ting have the highest rating in terms of customer satisfaction for billed service , while the giants(AT&T, Sprint, T-mobile) have the lowest. Is there a reason why customers don't switch to Consumer Cellular and Ting? From what I understand the smaller ones are less expensive than AT&T, Verizon, and Sprint. What is going on?

Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    These "small phone service providers" are known as MVNOs (Mobile Virtual Network Operators). They buy mobile service wholesale from the carriers, repackage it and sell it retail. In some cases (e.g. MetroPCS, Boost, Cricket) they are really just another marketing outlet for the carrier. They are able to offer plans that don't really interest the host networks, tailored to specific segments of the population. For instance, Consumer Cellular markets to seniors. Cricket is AT&T's vehicle to compete with T-Mobile on price.
    Donald Newcomb

Feedback Score
    """""FREE PHONES""""" [sic] is the main reason postpaid still rules.
    If my actions include deeds of philanthropy in charity and acts of loving kindness I am living in my Faith.

Red Pocket (AT&T) UTnT 5GB exp 09.27.20
    Red Pocket (AT&T) UTnT 1GB exp 02.12.20
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.11.21
    Tello x2 (Sprint) $5 1-use/3mo no exp by 04.11.20

Feedback Score
    Thanks for the information. DRNewcomb says that Consumer Cellular is marketed toward seniors. Is that because older people generally don't use the phone for talk,text, data as much as younger people? For people who use the phone a lot(young people) a major carrier would be a better choice?

Feedback Score