Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Weird Roaming Partner

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    247
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Weird Roaming Partner

    Was traveling through VA today and I roamed, I guess, onto this really odd network. You can see the name and location in included screenshots. There was no data despite it showing 4g, but I could make a call. Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1468706126.845321.jpg
Views: 1044
Size:  41.4 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    161
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are you running iOS beta? I saw same thing on att with iOS 10


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    CMA003 (Chicagoland)
    Posts
    2,475
    Device(s)
    A bunch
    Carrier(s)
    Most of them
    Feedback Score
    0

    Weird Roaming Partner

    I saw this happen before but I swore it wasn't on an iPhone. Or maybe it was but on an old iOS version, I'm not sure.

    It's AT&T but somehow the letters get all scrambled and Chineseified. Notice the second and last characters are the same just like in AT&T.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    247
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bryanp22 View Post
    Are you running iOS beta? I saw same thing on att with iOS 10


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I actually am! Thanks! t-Mobile has been no help so far.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,335
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've seen Kanji characters before when roaming what might have been Inmix in central PA with a Moto G.
    Donald Newcomb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    247
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    I've seen Kanji characters before when roaming what might have been Inmix in central PA with a Moto G.
    That is so weird!!! Why?!? Just show ATT thats what it is.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    288
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I occasionally saw Chinese characters when roaming on AT&T in Michigan, back when I used an LG F3 and T-Mobile's LTE coverage was far less than it is now. If I brought up CellMapper or SignalCheck, it would show the usual 310-410 for the MCC/MNC.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    700
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6 Plus, LG Leon LTE, Xiaomi Note 4G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jaweather15 View Post
    That is so weird!!! Why?!? Just show ATT thats what it is.
    Probably an encoding error on iOS 10's side.

    By the way, this is nonsense hanzi (Chinese characters).
    Jeffw16

    Blog



    1. T-Mobile Band 4 LTE at UTD, 2. T-Mobile Band 12 LTE, 3. TWC 100Mbps

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,335
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffw16 View Post
    Probably an encoding error on iOS 10's side.

    By the way, this is nonsense hanzi (Chinese characters).
    It's also happened on my Android device with a different carrier. Theories:
    1) The MNN-to-name lookup table routine falls through to something like 310-XXX but not quite or,
    2) When the lookup table fails it tries to convert the MNN to something UNICODE rather than converting to decimal digits.
    Just theories.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    247
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks guys. Roaming question now. My phone doesn't like to roam automatically how can I force it to roam

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,335
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jaweather15 View Post
    Thanks guys. Roaming question now. My phone doesn't like to roam automatically how can I force it to roam
    I believe what you are saying is that your T-Mobile phone does not always roam on AT&T when you don't have a T-Mobile signal. That's not how it works. T-Mobile LAC-blocks most of AT&T's network and only allows roaming in places where they really need to allow it.

    If that's not what you are saying. Do you have network selection set to automatic or manual?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    247
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Automatic but I have set to manual. I understand how it works. I am taking about places where they have the agreement.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,335
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jaweather15 View Post
    Automatic but I have set to manual. I understand how it works. I am taking about places where they have the agreement.
    T-Mobile has the agreement to roam AT&T everywhere, they just don't want to pay for customers to roam where they don't need to. That "no agreement" business is just a smoke screen. It's T-Mobile's call to block or unblock certain LACs for roaming. In general they don't allow roaming if any part of AT&T's LAC map overlaps any part of T-Mobile's coverage. In LACs where T-Mobile allows roaming, it should happen automatically.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    700
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6 Plus, LG Leon LTE, Xiaomi Note 4G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    It's also happened on my Android device with a different carrier. Theories:
    1) The MNN-to-name lookup table routine falls through to something like 310-XXX but not quite or,
    2) When the lookup table fails it tries to convert the MNN to something UNICODE rather than converting to decimal digits.
    Just theories.
    I agree with #2. Definitely encoding related, considering 吀 replaces "T." I wonder if this is UTF-8 or UTF-16…

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    853
    Device(s)
    Pixel 2 XL
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    My brother just ran into this in KS, and Google brought me here.

    Name:  WhatsApp Image 2018-02-01 at 9.11.41 AM.jpg
Views: 197
Size:  17.4 KB

Similar Threads

  1. Bell Mobility's american roaming partner
    By mbourd25 in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 07-12-2002, 06:32 PM
  2. new roaming partner in Kansas
    By cheerioboy26 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-02-2002, 12:31 PM
  3. Cingular Roaming Partners?
    By Milkyway in forum AT&T
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-2002, 02:34 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-23-2002, 04:12 PM
  5. Roaming Partners in Canada
    By Guest 280 in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-04-2002, 08:58 AM

Bookmarks