Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: How to test Verizons coverage before committing a switch?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    2,100
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max, Pixel 3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, T-Mobile & Sprint (via Google Fi), AT&T (via Red Pocket Mobile and Airalo)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jpiszcz View Post
    3x sounds really weird you positive it said that/did you get a screenshot? If you were on 3G then it makes sense it switches to 1xRTT for voice and then you are unable to use data while on a call.
    I meant to say "1x". I was likely roaming on Sprint at the time. Right now I just turned off LTE and I get "3G" and am able to make calls and use 3G data - but not simultaneously. During a call "3G" goes away. So my iPhone 6S purchased at Apple and activated on AT&T has proven to have both GSM 4G and CDMA 3G.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by RenoWirelessGuru; 02-15-2017 at 01:17 AM.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    185
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vtecsohc View Post
    Get vzw prepaid, total wireless
    Quote Originally Posted by mossme89 View Post
    Get straight talk verizon for $45 for 1 month.
    Almost all MVNOs are limited to VZW's MVNO/native network, so no roaming. I know VZW's own prepay doesn't roam, pretty sure Total doesn't, not sure about Straight Talk. Tracfone CDMA does roam though

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    2,100
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro Max, Pixel 3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, T-Mobile & Sprint (via Google Fi), AT&T (via Red Pocket Mobile and Airalo)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HFA View Post
    ...I know VZW's own prepay doesn't roam...
    VZW's coverage map shows prepaid roaming - specifically Incline Village, NV shows no native network coverage, but fills in with Prepaid Roaming.

    Name:  vzw-prepaid-roaming.PNG
Views: 668
Size:  57.2 KB

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Irvine, CA, USA
    Posts
    52
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5/5x, iPhone 3GS through 5s, iPhone 7+, etc.
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, VZW, AT&T, Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RussPath03 View Post
    I picked up a Verizon LG V20 so I would assume that's good to test with?
    Yes, that supports all the right bands.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    185
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RenoWirelessGuru View Post
    VZW's coverage map shows prepaid roaming - specifically Incline Village, NV shows no native network coverage, but fills in with Prepaid Roaming.

    Name:  vzw-prepaid-roaming.PNG
Views: 668
Size:  57.2 KB
    Interesting, now I'm confused. Guess its been awhile since I've checked their map. Wonder what the difference between Voice & Messaging and Prepaid is then.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    737
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you activate a device on postpaid and cancel within 3 days the activation fee is refunded.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    477
    Feedback Score
    0
    Get a prepaid. I think boom mobile has good plans. I don't recommend Verizon however. Sprint has a much better deal at fifty bucks. Also Cricket if you don't have good Sprint coverage has the same unlimited plan but it's $65 instead of $80. Not crazy about Verizon. The cricket is on AT&T network and I love Cricket are awesome. That's $65 includes taxes and fees as well.

    Sent from my SM-N910P using HoFo mobile app

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Abilene
    Posts
    1,404
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 10+, iPhone XR, iPhone 7, iPhone SE & Netgear Nighthawk LTE hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sprint1 View Post
    Get a prepaid. I think boom mobile has good plans. I don't recommend Verizon however. Sprint has a much better deal at fifty bucks. Also Cricket if you don't have good Sprint coverage has the same unlimited plan but it's $65 instead of $80. Not crazy about Verizon. The cricket is on AT&T network and I love Cricket are awesome. That's $65 includes taxes and fees as well.

    Sent from my SM-N910P using HoFo mobile app
    Sprint has bad coverage in my town. I won't touch them.

    Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    185
    Feedback Score
    0
    Even Sprint's hometown coverage is bad!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. How to test wind data speeds out before buying data?
    By awaisuk in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2011, 09:47 AM
  2. Replies: 64
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 09:39 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2003, 02:13 AM
  4. How to test my new 520m...and a question
    By m2bored in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-11-2002, 05:32 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 12:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks