Page 2 of 35 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 519

Thread: ZTE Mobley USB Tethering ASUS Router and probably others!

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    665
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TopGun2000 View Post
    No that won't work as it needs 12 volts

    If you want to purchase one they are on ebay, maybe amazon too.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-Adapter-...QAAOSw32lYwuee
    AT&T Unlimited Plus with Netgear DC112A
    $20 Mobley stand-alone hotspot for home internet


    Unlimited ZTE Mobely Hotspot since 05/2016

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm trying to do this setup, but I am truly a novice. Can someone tell me if I can use a netgear WNDR3400v3.

    There is a USB port on the back. I logged into netgear genie, but I don't understand what to do. I also looked and there isn't a DD-WRT flash for this router.

    If I get a router that I can flash with DD-WRT will I be able to tether? Or will I just have to set it up as a repeater. Thanks in advance


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    1,046
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ATC_turbo View Post
    I'm trying to do this setup, but I am truly a novice. Can someone tell me if I can use a netgear WNDR3400v3.

    There is a USB port on the back. I logged into netgear genie, but I don't understand what to do. I also looked and there isn't a DD-WRT flash for this router.

    If I get a router that I can flash with DD-WRT will I be able to tether? Or will I just have to set it up as a repeater. Thanks in advance


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    do you have a power source plugged into the OBDII in addition to the microusb on the mobley plugged into the netgear?

    see if your netgear supports usb modems, if it doesn't and there is no custom firmware then you are SOL. you would be better finding a forum specific to your netgear.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok. Yes all are plugged in and I'm don't see it anywhere about USB modems. I will check netgear forums. Thank you


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,543
    Device(s)
    Nexus5/Nexus6
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ATC_turbo View Post
    Ok. Yes all are plugged in and I'm don't see it anywhere about USB modems. I will check netgear forums. Thank you


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I don't even see this option on the Netgear R9000.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    So I am able to get my hands on a different netgear router that I can flash with DD-WRT software. Once I flash it, will I be able to tether, or will I just have to use it as a repeater


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    1,046
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ATC_turbo View Post
    So I am able to get my hands on a different netgear router that I can flash with DD-WRT software. Once I flash it, will I be able to tether, or will I just have to use it as a repeater


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    DD-WRT isn't necessarily what enables. you need a usb port and the hardware has to support it in addition to the software. lets not clutter this thread with home router configuration questions... we've already established if the router supports usb modems it should work with the mobley tethered via usb so long as the mobley has an external power source.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    704
    Device(s)
    2 iPhones are better than one. Twice the fun. Ask anyone.
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can confirm works with DD-WRT and the TP-Link WR1043 my favorite cheap go to router! This just keeps getting better. I love these TP-Links, I typically load Gargoyle and disable the wireless, then use a Unifi AP-LR.

    Oh I can't wait for my antenna adapter to get here and I can try to defeat my 2 bars of LTE!

  9. #24
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    949
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max (Intel), iPhone 6S, Galaxy S9, iPad 9.7, iPad Mini 3, Netgear Nighthawk Hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FirstNet
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mexican-bum View Post
    A BIG thanks goes out to mossme89 for posting that tethering works with Linux.

    Just checked and Mobley works perfect tethered via USB to ASUS $80 T-mobile branded router. I am actually powering the mobley off one USB and tethering to the other USB. So the ASUS router is fully powering the Mobley which is nice!


    Literally just plug it in, set APN and DNS and done! All other info was already correct, as it auto detected the mobley.

    Using this router
    T-Mobile (AC-1900) By ASUS Wireless-AC1900 Dual-Band Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MYTAURW..._4BDZyb9YVHTJ9

    Using USB power adapter, posting on how to make one in the other thread, can also be purchased on eBay.

    MicroUSB cable(microUSB port on side of mobley)

    Plugged both to the USB ports on back of router.


    Attachment 149898
    Your router is using very, very old firmware. There have been numerous updates and security fixes released in newer firmware versions. I highly recommend you update your router's firmware ASAP.
    I do not represent any company or other entity. Anything I post in these forums or write on this site are my thoughts and opinions only. I make every attempt to be 100% accurate, but I am human and do make mistakes from time to time.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    665
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0

    ZTE Mobley USB Tethering ASUS Router and probably others!

    Quote Originally Posted by BMWDude49120 View Post
    Your router is using very, very old firmware. There have been numerous updates and security fixes released in newer firmware versions. I highly recommend you update your router's firmware ASAP.
    Lol, I did! I literally just unboxed it when I took those pics. It's actually not hooked up right now, going to give to my dad.

    Thanks though :-)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #26
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    949
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max (Intel), iPhone 6S, Galaxy S9, iPad 9.7, iPad Mini 3, Netgear Nighthawk Hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FirstNet
    Feedback Score
    0
    Okay, sorry. I was just looking out for you. I didn't want your router to get hacked, or anything.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    665
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWDude49120 View Post
    Okay, sorry. I was just looking out for you. I didn't want your router to get hacked, or anything.
    Hey no worries! I probably should have pointed that out in my post for anyone that gets that router.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    239
    Device(s)
    Motorola G4 Play
    Carrier(s)
    C Spire
    Feedback Score
    0
    Keep in mind that for the people in rural areas a solution to increase slow speeds is to hook up two mobley's to a Asus router that has dual wan support. It will not double your speed in all cases, But in most cases it will.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    1,046
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Frenchfry View Post
    Keep in mind that for the people in rural areas a solution to increase slow speeds is to hook up two mobley's to a Asus router that has dual wan support. It will not double your speed in all cases, But in most cases it will.
    They support USB model dual wan? I thought it could only do one USB and one regular internet connection?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    239
    Device(s)
    Motorola G4 Play
    Carrier(s)
    C Spire
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hytekj View Post
    They support USB model dual wan? I thought it could only do one USB and one regular internet connection?
    It would take a second router with the USB connection or in WiFi repeater mode to feed it to the asus router wan port.

    Cheap router to feed the Mobley to a wan port on the Asus router. Should work, need to verify
    https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wirel...%2Brouter&th=1

    Asus router setup to do dual wan load balance, Not all Asus routers have this option.
    https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011719/

Page 2 of 35 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Usb tether to router
    By sraider in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2016, 07:00 AM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 12:18 AM
  3. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-02-2007, 03:59 PM
  4. Tethering with MDA (and probably SDA) on Mac OS X
    By Sonic McTails in forum Windows Mobile Devices
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-19-2006, 05:01 AM
  5. N80 browser...and probably other s60 v3 devices
    By MapleLeafs in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 04:11 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks