Page 1 of 34 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 505

Thread: ZTE Mobley USB Tethering ASUS Router and probably others!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    665
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    ZTE Mobley USB Tethering ASUS Router and probably others!

    A BIG thanks goes out to mossme89 for posting that tethering works with Linux.

    Just checked and Mobley works perfect tethered via USB to ASUS $80 T-mobile branded router. I am actually powering the mobley off one USB and tethering to the other USB. So the ASUS router is fully powering the Mobley which is nice!


    Literally just plug it in, set APN and DNS and done! All other info was already correct, as it auto detected the mobley.

    Using this router
    T-Mobile (AC-1900) By ASUS Wireless-AC1900 Dual-Band Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MYTAURW..._4BDZyb9YVHTJ9

    Using USB power adapter, posting on how to make one in the other thread, can also be purchased on eBay.

    MicroUSB cable(microUSB port on side of mobley)

    Plugged both to the USB ports on back of router.


    Name:  IMG_7868.jpg
Views: 18490
Size:  51.7 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images      
    Last edited by mexican-bum; 03-19-2017 at 11:16 AM.
    AT&T Unlimited Plus with Netgear DC112A
    $20 Mobley stand-alone hotspot for home internet


    Unlimited ZTE Mobely Hotspot since 05/2016

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    373
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mexican-bum View Post
    A BIG thanks goes out to mossme89 for posting that tethering works with Linux.

    Just checked and Mobley works perfect tethered via USB to ASUS $80 T-mobile branded router. I am actually powering the mobley off one USB and tethering to the other USB. So the ASUS router is fully powering the Mobley which is nice!


    Literally just plug it in, set APN and DNS and done! All other info was already correct, as it auto detected the mobley.

    Uses the router
    T-Mobile (AC-1900) By ASUS Wireless-AC1900 Dual-Band Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MYTAURW..._4BDZyb9YVHTJ9

    Name:  Capture.PNG
Views: 27306
Size:  138.3 KB

    Name:  Capture1.PNG
Views: 27363
Size:  72.8 KB

    Name:  Capture2.PNG
Views: 27045
Size:  82.0 KB

    Name:  IMG_7868.jpg
Views: 18490
Size:  51.7 KB
    Nice! So this will work with lede as well.

    In using lede/openwrt with a mc7455 modem and getting 100-110 mbps with att.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,541
    Device(s)
    Nexus5/Nexus6
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I tried this on the Netgear R7000 with tomato. I could see it connecting and pulling an IP address but I think I was missing a setting as it wasn't directing my packets over the device even though I had it setup as such.

    I flashed the Merlin firmware that was ported to the Netgear R7000 and it worked like a charm. Popped right in. I haven't tried it with OpenWRT or DDWRT yet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,541
    Device(s)
    Nexus5/Nexus6
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Toyed around with DD-WRT as well and it works just fine. See below:


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    987
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Awesome!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    430
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Working with Shibby Tomato (I'd assume Tomato would work also).

    My problem last night was that I was trying to use 4G. Need to be 3G modem to recognize USB. Make sure you select the right USB port in the Modem device dropdown.

    Name:  Shibby.png
Views: 15237
Size:  73.9 KB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,541
    Device(s)
    Nexus5/Nexus6
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Are you guys getting a 192.168.1.x IP from the Mobley on the Wan status on the router? If so I would change the router to 192.168.0.x or 192.168.2.x to prevent conflicts.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    430
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by digiblur View Post
    Are you guys getting a 192.168.1.x IP from the Mobley on the Wan status on the router? If so I would change the router to 192.168.0.x or 192.168.2.x to prevent conflicts.
    192.168.10.x. I changed it after I got it, just like I did my Home Base. My home network is already on 192.168.0.x

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    18
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Will the Micro USB port supply power to the Mobley?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    665
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Joelk View Post
    Will the Micro USB port supply power to the Mobley?
    No, will need to power it by some other means, either by AC adapter or USB power adapter

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    45
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T UDP
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mexican-bum View Post
    No, will need to power it by some other means, either by AC adapter or USB power adapter

    How about these Y cables?

    https://smile.amazon.com/HIGHROCK-En...+y+power+cable

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    987
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by mexican-bum View Post
    No, will need to power it by some other means, either by AC adapter or USB power adapter
    Are you saying power can be injected into the micro-USB??

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    434
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S7 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by hytekj View Post
    Are you saying power can be injected into the micro-USB??
    no it will not power off of the micro-usb port. previously in one on the many Mobley threads some people were using a converter to go from the 5v output of a USB to 12v to power the Mobley. They then plugged that converter into one of the USB ports on the back of the router and are able to power the Mobley from the router and then use the micro-usb to tether to the router. Check mexican-bum posts at the beginning of the thread and you can somewhat see it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC/CT
    Posts
    987
    Carrier(s)
    VZW & ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by cyorke View Post
    no it will not power off of the micro-usb port. previously in one on the many Mobley threads some people were using a converter to go from the 5v output of a USB to 12v to power the Mobley. They then plugged that converter into one of the USB ports on the back of the router and are able to power the Mobley from the router and then use the micro-usb to tether to the router. Check mexican-bum posts at the beginning of the thread and you can somewhat see it.
    yup that is what i plan to do, thanks

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Baltimore area
    Posts
    1,362
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint $50 iPhone Plan
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Sorry just saw this. I've been sick as hell.

    This is the power adapter I bought

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/282227311567...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

    Works like you'd expect. I get about 36 or 37 Mbps when tethered and about half that over wifi. Top speed I've seen is 115 Mbps on my s7 with 2ca but this device doesn't support that.

Page 1 of 34 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Usb tether to router
    By sraider in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2016, 07:00 AM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-19-2010, 11:18 PM
  3. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-02-2007, 03:59 PM
  4. Tethering with MDA (and probably SDA) on Mac OS X
    By Sonic McTails in forum Windows Mobile Devices
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-19-2006, 05:01 AM
  5. N80 browser...and probably other s60 v3 devices
    By MapleLeafs in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 04:11 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks