Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 61

Thread: Name Call Display - Finally?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,295
    Device(s)
    Essential PH-1 / Apple iPhone X
    Feedback Score
    0
    Feature is in a staged roll-out and expanding over the months. Calling party's carrier must also support outgoing CLID for it to work.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,381
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ah ok, thanks. So maybe I'll see it enabled on my plan soon.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,632
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Key2 & iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm in Vancouver on TELUS. I got a call the other day that showed a name that wasn't in my contacts, but it seemed to be a one time occurrence. I'll have to keep an eye on it.

    Any chance we'll get outgoing name display on our TELUS phones as well (instead of "British Columbia")?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,174
    Feedback Score
    0
    Considering TELUS doesn't yet support outgoing name display, maybe the people/companies who are calling you don't have outgoing name display either, and that's why you're not getting names on all calls.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Home on the Range
    Posts
    112
    Device(s)
    Motorola Defy
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm in Greater Vancouver and received a call with ID (not in my contacts) the other day. I do have the caller ID feature on my plan as an add-on.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's working in the Okanogan. received a call the other day from someone who isn't in my contacts, but the name of the business came up

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    892
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I currently have a TELUS corp plan on an iPhone 7 Plus living in the Greater Toronto Area. I have not seen any name display until this past weekend when I received a random call. However, I was roaming in the US while using my TELUS SIM card! It only seemed to work while I was on T-Mobile and not AT&T.

    Later on, I tested this again with a friend who has an AT&T phone. He called my 416 number while I was roaming on T-Mobile and it showed his last name, first name. I then switched to AT&T and he called again, and it only showed the number.

    What's interesting is I also have a TELUS prepaid account with a 780 area code while using an old iPhone 3GS, and it started showing name display on calls the last few days. Strange how my monthly corp plan won't show it in Canada but will in the US, meanwhile a prepaid account in an old phone works in Canada.

    Name:  Photo 2017-06-17, 18 02 34.png
Views: 565
Size:  205.3 KB

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,336
    Device(s)
    iPhone X & Pixel 2XL
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by euroeuro View Post
    I currently have a TELUS corp plan on an iPhone 7 Plus living in the Greater Toronto Area. I have not seen any name display until this past weekend when I received a random call. However, I was roaming in the US while using my TELUS SIM card! It only seemed to work while I was on T-Mobile and not AT&T.

    Later on, I tested this again with a friend who has an AT&T phone. He called my 416 number while I was roaming on T-Mobile and it showed his last name, first name. I then switched to AT&T and he called again, and it only showed the number.

    What's interesting is I also have a TELUS prepaid account with a 780 area code while using an old iPhone 3GS, and it started showing name display on calls the last few days. Strange how my monthly corp plan won't show it in Canada but will in the US, meanwhile a prepaid account in an old phone works in Canada.

    Name:  Photo 2017-06-17, 18 02 34.png
Views: 565
Size:  205.3 KB
    I am literally in your exact boat and I too was in USA this past weekend with my Corp plan and experienced the exact same effect. Except while on T-Mobile my calls happened to be all from mobile devices so it just showed as "Wireless Caller"

    On AT&T it only displayed number, no Name Display.

    Our Koodo lines are all working with Name Display in Canada, we didn't test in USA with the one we had with us as we didn't need to spend on high roaming costs.
    Join me on Telegram https://t.me/Samshares

    Telus: $67/20GB Can-US Plan
    Freedom: $30/8GB Can-US (2400 Minutes/1GB)

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,288
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    T-Mobile is the only US carrier that supports Name Display
    Cell phone history:
    Motorola DPC 550 - Ericsson DF388 - Sanyo SCP-4000 - Samsung SCH-N150 - Samsung SCH-T300 - LG TM520 - LG VX-4600 - BlackBerry 6750 - BlackBerry 7250 - Samsung SGH-807 - T-Mobile Dash - Motorola RAZR - BlackBerry Bold 9000 - BlackBerry Torch 9800 - Samsung Galaxy S Captivate (rooted) - Samsung Nexus S - Samsung Galaxy S III LTE (rooted, running SlimBean 4.3) - Oppo Find 7a - Moto X Play - OnePlus 3T Midnight Black Limited Edition - Huawei P20 Pro

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    478
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    It worked in Scarborough ON for me yesterday afternoon. TELLCITYHALL was an automated message with a one-question survey asking if I trust my local government. I hung up.

    Both the name and number appeared when my phone was ringing, and both the name and number are in my call log. (Samsung Galaxy Note 4 running Android 6.0.1.)

    Sent from my SM-N910W8 using HoFo mobile app
    Koodo: Unlimited Canada Talk, World Text, 8+9 GB Data
    AT&T: Unlimited talk & text in and between the U.S., Canada, & Mexico, 8+17 GB data

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON
    Posts
    892
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I wonder when they will roll this out to corporate lines. Even prepaid accounts are working now.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    478
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by euroeuro View Post
    I wonder when they will roll this out to corporate lines. ...
    But you guys with corporate lines get VoLTE, VoWiFi, and free Visual Voicemail for iPhone!

    VoLTE definitely isn't working for me.

    Sent from my SM-N910W8 using HoFo mobile app

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,174
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Night_Owl View Post
    But you guys with corporate lines get VoLTE, VoWiFi, and free Visual Voicemail for iPhone!

    VoLTE definitely isn't working for me.

    Sent from my SM-N910W8 using HoFo mobile app
    You can't get VoLTE with that phone either way.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,336
    Device(s)
    iPhone X & Pixel 2XL
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Night_Owl View Post
    But you guys with corporate lines get VoLTE, VoWiFi, and free Visual Voicemail for iPhone!

    VoLTE definitely isn't working for me.

    Sent from my SM-N910W8 using HoFo mobile app
    Not everyone gets Visual VoiceMail for Free, I have to pay for mine.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    478
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S9, iPhone SE
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Samshares View Post
    Not everyone gets Visual VoiceMail for Free, I have to pay for mine.
    Hmmm, @euroeuro got it for free in the two screen shots he posted on June 1. I wonder why there's a difference between your two corporate CAN-US plans!

    Sent from my SM-N910W8 using HoFo mobile app

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-14-2009, 11:07 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2009, 07:02 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 05:58 PM
  4. Name on Call Display?
    By Netblade in forum Fido
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-01-2002, 12:14 AM
  5. Deactivate name/call display?
    By mawti in forum Siemens
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-08-2002, 12:49 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks