Thread: Best Android Version and HOWTO for upgrading Droid 4 to Custom ROM

Feedback Score

Best Android Version and HOWTO for upgrading Droid 4 to Custom ROM

Hi everyone:

I'm an ex IT technician. I know computer concepts well, but don't understand all smartphone/Android terminology completely.
    I would like to upgrade my Droid 4 (XT894) from its current Jelly Bean 4.1.2 to whatever is the next, most stable custom ROM.

Since LineageOS is fairly new, I assume I should stick with Cyanogen 12 (Maserati)?

I also need a step-by-step HOWTO on doing the upgrade. I could probably take 50 hours and figure out the various steps, but since this is not a PC, and you could brick your phone doing it, I'd rather have plenty of info. beside me when I do the upgrade.

Can someone help me out?

Thanks

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Shplad View Post
    Hi everyone:

I'm an ex IT technician. I know computer concepts well, but don't understand all smartphone/Android terminology completely.
    I would like to upgrade my Droid 4 (XT894) from its current Jelly Bean 4.1.2 to whatever is the next, most stable custom ROM.

Since LineageOS is fairly new, I assume I should stick with Cyanogen 12 (Maserati)?

I also need a step-by-step HOWTO on doing the upgrade. I could probably take 50 hours and figure out the various steps, but since this is not a PC, and you could brick your phone doing it, I'd rather have plenty of info. beside me when I do the upgrade.

Can someone help me out?

Thanks
    Unless someone here knows, the best place for that sort of thing is XDA Developers.

Feedback Score
    Thanks. Heading over XDA-Developers are getting prepared to be bamboozled by terminology.

Feedback Score
    Thanks. Heading over XDA-Developers are getting prepared to be bamboozled by terminology.

It can be daunting, but not much harder than getting a Windows PC to dual boot Linux.