Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Is it easy to make Sprint S8 work on other carriers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    232
    Device(s)
    Oneplus One
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Is it easy to make Sprint S8 work on other carriers

    I am with Cricket Wireless now. Sprint's one year free offer is so inviting. However, I do not have a Sprint compatible phone. What I am thinking is to get a Sprint S8 which cost $15.63*18 months= $281. If Sprint does not work for me will I be able to use this phone on other carriers like Cricket? I think Verizon puts its own firmware on their phones disabling LTE bands needed on other carriers. So to make the phone work on other carriers one has to reflash the firmware. What will be needed on Sprint S8 or S8+ to make it a phone workable on other carriers?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,991
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by emily1995 View Post
    I am with Cricket Wireless now. Sprint's one year free offer is so inviting. However, I do not have a Sprint compatible phone. What I am thinking is to get a Sprint S8 which cost $15.63*18 months= $281. If Sprint does not work for me will I be able to use this phone on other carriers like Cricket? I think Verizon puts its own firmware on their phones disabling LTE bands needed on other carriers. So to make the phone work on other carriers one has to reflash the firmware. What will be needed on Sprint S8 or S8+ to make it a phone workable on other carriers?
    Cricket and att websites say it will work. The S8 has bands 2,4,5,12,13,17,25,26,41. I've been told 29,30,66 are blocked. Don't know if that's true or not.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    232
    Device(s)
    Oneplus One
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I know an unlocked S8 from Samsung will work on all carriers. That is not my question. My question is will a Sprint branded S8 work on other carriers?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,991
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by emily1995 View Post
    I know an unlocked S8 from Samsung will work on all carriers. That is not my question. My question is will a Sprint branded S8 work on other carriers?
    I was talking about the Sprint model.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,607
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs 256 GB Gold (Dual SIM)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by emily1995 View Post
    I know an unlocked S8 from Samsung will work on all carriers. That is not my question. My question is will a Sprint branded S8 work on other carriers?
    If it's unlocked domestically then you could flash the G950U or G950A firmware onto the device. The former supports all carriers and the later is specifically baked for AT&T with more support for their network features like HD Voice, 4x4 MIMO, 256QAM, and 3xCA.
    AT&T: 2008, 2012-2014, 2016-Present
    T-Mobile: 2011-2012, 2015, 2017-2019
    Verizon: 2010 via Straight Talk for 2 months, 2018
    Sprint: Couldn't pay me to use them

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,514
    Device(s)
    Galaxy nexus
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by emily1995 View Post
    I am with Cricket Wireless now. Sprint's one year free offer is so inviting. However, I do not have a Sprint compatible phone. What I am thinking is to get a Sprint S8 which cost $15.63*18 months= $281. If Sprint does not work for me will I be able to use this phone on other carriers like Cricket? I think Verizon puts its own firmware on their phones disabling LTE bands needed on other carriers. So to make the phone work on other carriers one has to reflash the firmware. What will be needed on Sprint S8 or S8+ to make it a phone workable on other carriers?
    I believe you are leading the phone from Sprint.. you don't get to own it for 281..


    Sent from my Nexus 6 using HoFo mobile app
    Proud to be Latin/Chinese xD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    151
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    if I'm not mistaken, all s8 phones are the same no matter if it is bought from gsm, cdma or unlocked they all have the same radio and bands from what I read.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using HoFo mobile app

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,607
    Device(s)
    iPhone Xs 256 GB Gold (Dual SIM)
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by jwrunyon41722 View Post
    if I'm not mistaken, all s8 phones are the same no matter if it is bought from gsm, cdma or unlocked they all have the same radio and bands from what I read.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using HoFo mobile app
    it's all dependent on carrier firmware.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,362
    Device(s)
    Sonim XP8, iPhone XS, Pixel 3 XL
    Carrier(s)
    SouthernLINC, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    You would have to buy the Sprint S8 at full price. They don't let you lease a phone on the free for a year program.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,196
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    You would have to buy the Sprint S8 at full price. They don't let you lease a phone on the free for a year program.
    You can after 120 days.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    782
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by Mephisto Zap View Post
    You can after 120 days.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    So. You can't sign up for the free year offer unless you bring your own phone! And it has to be one that is on Sprint's approved list.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Mariposa
    Posts
    217
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10, iPhone XS MAX
    Carrier(s)
    Programmer
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    There are a lot of websites online that can help you to unlock your Sprint phone permanently and use it on other carrier/s. They also can reflash the phone with debranded firmware so the device will work perfectly on GSM & CDMA networks.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    If the Sprint brand S8 is SIM unlocked, it should work on any U.S. cellular carrier. The S8 firmware will download the appropriate apps based on the SIM card you install and load the appropriate version of firmware.

    You will need to get Sprint to SIM unlock the phone. To do that the phone must be paid off and be on thier network for a minimum of 50 days.

    Here is a link to Samsung's support page that describes the process:

    https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS00078492/
    Last edited by Breaking Good; 03-11-2019 at 12:51 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    35
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone XS Max, Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Xfinity Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    I have an S8+ from Xfinity Mobile (which uses Verizon's network), which is also unlocked. When you insert a SIM card from another major carrier (Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, and certain others), it will automatically flash the carrier firmware upon reboot. If you put in a SIM card that doesn't flash firmware (smaller MVNOs and international carriers) it will function as normal with the firmware of the last major carrier SIM inserted.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    151
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    All S8 phones have the same hardware and once unlocked can work on any carrier. I had my Sprint S8 unlocked and used it in Cricket and Page Plus. The phone will be locked to Sprint until you fulfill the unlock requirements. (Remain a sprint customer for X amount of days and then paying off any balance remaining on the flex lease and paying the remaining balance to own the phone.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 05:18 AM
  2. Is it hard to make your own app on S60?
    By I has a phone in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-13-2009, 10:13 AM
  3. Is it possible to make 40k working for tmobile?
    By StuartScott in forum T-Mobile Employees & Dealers
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 10:35 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 10:08 AM
  5. So very torn... Is it time to leave Sprint?
    By skankboy in forum Sprint
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-25-2002, 01:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks