Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Rogers Number Swap

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,533
    Device(s)
    Iphone X
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers Number Swap

    Hi folks,

    Does anyone know if this is possible:

    1- have a line with Rogers, and want to keep the line
    2- also want to port the number on that line to a new provider, and get a new number assigned to my Rogers line on my existing plan; in essence, I don't want to cancel the plan

    Any way of doing this? Sign up for prepaid, swap, and then port? Any ideas? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,465
    Feedback Score
    0
    ^Not Possible with Rogers. Unless you can find someone who is very very knowledgeable and is willing to do it. Now if you were with the so called 'Future is Friendly' company Telus, then it's very possible.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,533
    Device(s)
    Iphone X
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jattdesi View Post
    ^Not Possible with Rogers. Unless you can find someone who is very very knowledgeable and is willing to do it. Now if you were with the so called 'Future is Friendly' company Telus, then it's very possible.
    I read online that if I get a pay as you go, swap the number with my normal line, and then port the number once it's a pay as you go account, it may work? Any ideas on this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,465
    Feedback Score
    0
    ^It will not work on Rogers & Fido. But Good Luck. At one time about 3 to 4 years ago it was somewhat possible after getting a 'certain department' involved. However even then there was no way to contact that department on your own.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,109
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Bell and Rogers stopped this quietly because of lazyness and internal confusion.

    Essentially, they gave everyone the finger who needs to move a number without cancelling their plan. Basically you're forced to pay any ETF and lose an loyalty or grandfathered features on your account.

    Just another way to slip through the cracks and end up with a plan that is less desirable, in a manner which the CRTC will never address because it affects a small number of informed customers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8,839
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max 256GB
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cloneman View Post
    Bell and Rogers stopped this quietly because of lazyness and internal confusion.

    Essentially, they gave everyone the finger who needs to move a number without cancelling their plan. Basically you're forced to pay any ETF and lose an loyalty or grandfathered features on your account.

    Just another way to slip through the cracks and end up with a plan that is less desirable, in a manner which the CRTC will never address because it affects a small number of informed customers.
    I don't think they were lazy nor confused. It was a very intentional decision, made in order to screw screw over their own customers by locking up their numbers in spite of the spirit of number porting regulations.
    Unlocked iPhone XS Max 256GB, Unlocked JetBlack 128GB iPhone 7Plus, Unlocked 64GB iPhone 6, unlocked 32GB iPhone 5 (AWS), unlocked 16GB iPhone 4
    $60/10GB Unlimited Canada-wide anytime minutes, Unlimited international messaging (SMS/MMS) CD, VM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,314
    Device(s)
    iPhone X & Pixel 2XL
    Carrier(s)
    Telus + Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am not sure of any carrier at this point that this feature is possible on...even on Telus.

    Anytime you move a # from the carrier (regardless to same brand pay go). The plan auto cancels immediately.

    Unless you get a certain department involved that can reinstate the # immediately to the new line so you can move it to another carrier. It is not possible.
    Join me on Telegram https://t.me/Samshares

    Telus: $67/20GB Can-US Plan
    Freedom: $30/8GB Can-US (2400 Minutes/1GB)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8,839
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max 256GB
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Samshares View Post
    I am not sure of any carrier at this point that this feature is possible on...even on Telus.

    Anytime you move a # from the carrier (regardless to same brand pay go). The plan auto cancels immediately.

    Unless you get a certain department involved that can reinstate the # immediately to the new line so you can move it to another carrier. It is not possible.
    100% Telus can do it, though they do charge $25 for it now.
    https://forum.telus.com/t5/Mobility-...nts/td-p/67708
    rogers/fido can do it, they just decided not to allow it because they can. And it screws customers so it goes along with their general philosophy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    10,237
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    It can still be done on Rogers. It was done by another fellow here. But he had to get serious with social media et al. It'll be a chore but if you keep pushing you might have the same luck the other guy did.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8,839
    Device(s)
    iPhone XS Max 256GB
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Mystery View Post
    It can still be done on Rogers. It was done by another fellow here. But he had to get serious with social media et al. It'll be a chore but if you keep pushing you might have the same luck the other guy did.
    WorldIRC? That was a few years ago and I think he was the last person. They locked down hard after him.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    151
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Samshares View Post
    I am not sure of any carrier at this point that this feature is possible on...even on Telus.

    Anytime you move a # from the carrier (regardless to same brand pay go). The plan auto cancels immediately.

    Unless you get a certain department involved that can reinstate the # immediately to the new line so you can move it to another carrier. It is not possible.
    It's possible on telus. I've done it twice this year no charge

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,529
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by ceredon View Post
    WorldIRC? That was a few years ago and I think he was the last person. They locked down hard after him.
    Quite a while since doing that. At least 5 years?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,429
    Device(s)
    iPhone8
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, Freedom, Public
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ceredon View Post
    I don't think they were lazy nor confused. It was a very intentional decision, made in order to screw screw over their own customers by locking up their numbers in spite of the spirit of number porting regulations.
    Quote Originally Posted by cloneman View Post
    Bell and Rogers stopped this quietly because of lazyness and internal confusion.
    It was banned to prevent fraud guys
    Rogers actually did this to PROTECT you

    Many store reps would activate a second line without a clients consent instead of doing upgrade
    Then call in, cancel old line, and perform the number swap to new line

    Clients lost old plans, extra discounts, and even tenure by doing this
    It was fraud to get extra activations plain and simple

    (and yes some clients would do it themselves to get activation promos but they were a minority)
    Koodo $40 Canada Wide + 8GB + 1000 Intl LD
    Public $120 Province Wide + 12GB - $6 Autopay - $12 Loyalty - $45 Refer = $19 per Month
    Freedom $35 ($37-BTS) North America Wide + 8GB + 1GB Roaming

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,429
    Device(s)
    iPhone8
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, Freedom, Public
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WorldIRC View Post
    Quite a while since doing that. At least 5 years?
    2013 was still possible for sure
    But either way yes its been years

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,533
    Device(s)
    Iphone X
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    So this seems like way too much of a hassle. Thanks for the input, folks.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. premium number swap with Rogers?
    By ericw2k in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 12:17 PM
  2. ToR and number swapping on Rogers
    By Macross_Freek in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 05:04 PM
  3. Rogers' Policy Regarding Internal Number Swaps
    By WorldIRC in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 03:15 PM
  4. Rogers and Fido Phone Number Swap
    By super26 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 11:19 PM
  5. Number swap - Rogers/Telus
    By dmoneycook in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-05-2009, 02:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks