Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: "Could not activate cellular data network"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0

    "Could not activate cellular data network"

    So, this happens periodically...no biggie, I just download the ivzwinternet.tracfone.com apn profile and it fixes it. But not this time.

    Any suggestions? (I'm talking with chat right now, no help yet).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    416
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon (prepaid)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Last time I had this problem, it turned out it didn't need any fix at all, but I had to delete the special profile that ivzwinternet had created. I believe I also reset the network settings.

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mowgie View Post
    Last time I had this problem, it turned out it didn't need any fix at all, but I had to delete the special profile that ivzwinternet had created. I believe I also reset the network settings.
    I gave that a try...it didn't work for me

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    416
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon (prepaid)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I will check my phone and see if it's still working. What a pain, it's vzw TracFone on iPhone, right?

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mowgie View Post
    I will check my phone and see if it's still working. What a pain, it's vzw TracFone on iPhone, right?

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
    This one's a TFW Tracfone, but working on Verizon towers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    And, with typical Tracfone service, chat just disconnected me with the "if I haven't heard from you in 2 minutes, this session will end" even though I'd been texting. This usually means it is a big problem that the CSR doesn't want to handle.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    These are the things I've tried:

    ivzwinternet.tracfone.com

    ivzwentp.tracfone.com

    deleting the profile entirely

    iphone.flexserve.net/select with the VZWINTERNET and a custom apn installed

    Nothing has worked. Please help!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    236
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0

    "Could not activate cellular data network"

    Does the network name in the upper left say Verizon or TFW? If Verizon that means you've got an old sim card. Think those will be problematic. TFW are newer style and I don't think those have the data issue

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's the TFW sim

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    And now calling doesn't work! Aargh!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    416
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon (prepaid)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I checked my iPhone, 6s 10.3.3, carrier Verizon 28.4. No profile installed. I think it is the older sim? Says Verizon not TFW.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, Tracfone zeroed out all my buckets. I took a screen shot of the balances before making the chat. They told me to wait 24 hours for my balances to update. Sounds like BS. But that's all I can do at this point.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mowgie View Post
    Last time I had this problem, it turned out it didn't need any fix at all, but I had to delete the special profile that ivzwinternet had created. I believe I also reset the network settings.

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
    It doesn't seem like it is possible ,

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    416
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon (prepaid)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mcomke88 View Post
    It doesn't seem like it is possible ,
    I know, right? I think I had to clear all the stuff off to use a cricket sim in the phone, and now it's working perfectly with the tracfone verizon sim.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    64
    Feedback Score
    0
    Update,

    Tracfone is refusing to restore the text,talk and data they deleted. Supposedly it has been "escalated" and I'm to call back with a special pin in 24 hours.

    In the meantime, to get my phone working again, I added the $15 talk, text data card and filed a complaint with the FCC with documentation. Then after several different attempts, finally found a CSR that could activate my cellular data. The process he took me through was this:

    Turn off data
    Clear previous profile
    On Safari, go to ivzwentp.tracfone.com and download new profile
    Turn off wifi
    Turn off phone
    Turn back on phone
    Turn on data
    and, voila! it finally worked

    So, now all I need is my service restored. Keeping my fingers crossed!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2010, 11:27 AM
  2. 'could Not Activate Cellular Data Network'
    By mjjuevos in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2010, 07:56 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-04-2009, 05:41 PM
  4. Could not activate cellular data network
    By mt_talha in forum Apple
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 12:28 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 09:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks