Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FreedomPop deleted my number

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    140
    Feedback Score
    0

    FreedomPop deleted my number

    I have several FP lines that I use strictly as emergency phones/backup or, in the case of the 3UK Global SIM's, for international travel. So I might make just a few calls every month. Today, instead of the usual notification from the FP app that they successfully registered my device, I got a message saying I had no phone number associated with the account, and in order to proceed I was forced to get a new number. I've had this line for nearly a year; I can't fathom why they decided to delete the number but keep the account active. I'm pretty sure I've used it within the last month. Does anyone know why this happened? Since I do not ever give out my FP numbers (I have a work phone which is my daily driver as well as a GVoice number) it didn't cause me any problems but it sure is weird.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    89
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    A few months back Fpop started deactivated accounts that no calls had been made in 60 days. The user lost the phone number but could reactivate the account. I had this happen to a sim I had and I just deleted it altogether.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    351
    Feedback Score
    0
    Lost my number the other day. No other numbers in my area available.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Downtown Toronto
    Posts
    1,264
    Feedback Score
    0
    I lost one number too. Chose another one and that one was deleted within a day again!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    149
    Device(s)
    LG G3, MOTO G
    Carrier(s)
    H2O Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    i also lost a number on a fpop sim i rarely used

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    120
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does the data service continue? I use my account with my Google Voice number, so I don't care about losing the freediompop number. I just need my account to stay active and for data to work.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,779
    Device(s)
    HTC MyTouch 3G
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint PCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone actually use FP for voice? I find their voice service (which is VOIP over Sprint data,no?) just terrible most of the time.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,974
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxman1 View Post
    Does the data service continue? I use my account with my Google Voice number, so I don't care about losing the freediompop number. I just need my account to stay active and for data to work.
    I received a reply from a FP rep in a Twitter DM that said as long as some data was used every month, the account itself wouldn't be deactivated. So far that's been true in my experience. However, everything seems subject to change at any moment with FP, so...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,974
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by monkeyboy View Post
    Does anyone actually use FP for voice? I find their voice service (which is VOIP over Sprint data,no?) just terrible most of the time.
    I use a FP AT&T LTE SIM for data for voice via Hangouts. It works amazingly well for me, however, based on other reports, it may not work as well for everyone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    119
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's pretty alarming when you discover FreedomPop has deleted the number they assigned you/you ported in. Like others said, the account remains active. And up until recently, you could still gift data to your other account(s)/SIM(s).

    Now that I can only get extra, free data on my main LTE SIM from Freedom Friends, I have no use for any of those other accounts other than to continue being a Friend to my LTE SIM. I ended up activating data rollover for $1.99/mo so that I'm at least getting to keep a chunk of the free data month-to-month.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 04:51 AM
  2. How do I delete my number from SPH-A900?
    By Relztrah in forum Samsung
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-08-2009, 08:29 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-16-2008, 09:13 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2008, 08:35 AM
  5. how to delete "MY NUMBER" from samsung u740?
    By one028 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2007, 07:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks