Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: move number, but keep old plan

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6
    Device(s)
    k790i
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question move number, but keep old plan

    Right now I have two mobiles, one for work, and one for personal use. I'm thinking about only using my work phone, however I currently have a better plan than my wife does, so I want to switch her over to my plan instead of cancelling it.

    We're considering porting her Fido number over to my Koodo phone, and switching her Fido plan to low cost hibernation until her contract expires in January. Does anyone know if it's possible to port a number from Fido, but to keep the Fido account active (with a new number)?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1,174
    Feedback Score
    0
    What is the point? Just pay the device balance at Fido.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    2,268
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Knighted View Post
    Right now I have two mobiles, one for work, and one for personal use. I'm thinking about only using my work phone, however I currently have a better plan than my wife does, so I want to switch her over to my plan instead of cancelling it.

    We're considering porting her Fido number over to my Koodo phone, and switching her Fido plan to low cost hibernation until her contract expires in January. Does anyone know if it's possible to port a number from Fido, but to keep the Fido account active (with a new number)?
    No, it's not possible.

    What does this have to do with Koodo?

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk
    Cell phone history:
    Motorola DPC 550 - Ericsson DF388 - Sanyo SCP-4000 - Samsung SCH-N150 - Samsung SCH-T300 - LG TM520 - LG VX-4600 - BlackBerry 6750 - BlackBerry 7250 - Samsung SGH-807 - T-Mobile Dash - Motorola RAZR - BlackBerry Bold 9000 - BlackBerry Torch 9800 - Samsung Galaxy S Captivate (rooted) - Samsung Nexus S - Samsung Galaxy S III LTE (rooted, running SlimBean 4.3) - Oppo Find 7a - Moto X Play - OnePlus 3T Midnight Black Limited Edition - Huawei P20 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,632
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Key2 & iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Moved to the Fido forum.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,393
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well you need to do a premium number swap and then port. It's quite complicated and it's easier to just pay off the device balance and end the contract at this point.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-2014, 10:34 AM
  2. Get New Phone Number But Keep Old One?
    By semaj550 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-21-2013, 04:04 PM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-26-2010, 09:50 AM
  4. Possible to upgrade phone (newe2), but keep old plan?
    By wannet in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-30-2006, 09:50 AM
  5. can i change number but keep plan??
    By hcsopi in forum Sprint
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-13-2004, 01:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks