Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Freedom Internet Settings

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    207
    Device(s)
    Motorola X Play
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    I would like to use the iPad with its own cellular connection. It allows for more monthly data, as it isn't using data from the iPhone's data pool, and it also prevents discharge of the iPhone's battery.

    The carrier settings are visible on the iPad; they are not on the iPhone.

    I am in Calgary (North East, to be exact).

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    696
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus (256GB). iPhone 6S Plus (128GB). iPad 6th Generation (2018) (128GB).
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kkritsilas View Post
    I would like to use the iPad with its own cellular connection. It allows for more monthly data, as it isn't using data from the iPhone's data pool, and it also prevents discharge of the iPhone's battery.

    The carrier settings are visible on the iPad; they are not on the iPhone.

    I am in Calgary (North East, to be exact).
    Can you post screenshots of this? Blacking out personal information.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    207
    Device(s)
    Motorola X Play
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Here are a few screen shots that may help.

    Name:  IMG_1562.jpg
Views: 548
Size:  46.1 KB


    Name:  IMG_1563.jpg
Views: 549
Size:  33.9 KB


    Name:  IMG_1565.jpg
Views: 575
Size:  42.6 KB


    Name:  IMG_1566.jpg
Views: 546
Size:  30.5 KB

    I think I got all the relevant screens. If not, please let me know.
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    696
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus (256GB). iPhone 6S Plus (128GB). iPad 6th Generation (2018) (128GB).
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Did you download the Carrier Settings for your iPad? It should be on Freedom Mobile 31.1. In addition to that, you need to be on iOS 11 or higher.

    If not, then try populating the fields that's provided in the 2nd message of this thread.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    32
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by qag01 View Post
    Here are the settings (APN's) to configure Data/MMS on your phone. Create two separate APN's: One for "Data" and one for "MMS"

    Internet:

    Name: Data
    APN: internet.freedommobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 490
    APN Type: default,supl
    (Leave all other fields blank)
    Note 8 here.
    for APN type the following is listed:

    • internet+ MMS
    • internet
    • MMS



    first option I guess, right?
    none is default.

    thx

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    287
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by diehard88 View Post
    Note 8 here.
    for APN type the following is listed:

    • internet+ MMS
    • internet
    • MMS



    first option I guess, right?
    none is default.

    thx
    You'd want the one called "Data" as "internet" and the one called "MMS" set as "MMS"

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using HoFo mobile app

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    207
    Device(s)
    Motorola X Play
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    The only way I have heard of to get the latest carrier setting is to go to Settings>General>About, and wait for the pop up that says that new carrier settings are available, and then download them. I have tried that, but don’t get the pop up regarding new carrier settings.

    If there is another nethod of getting the latest carrier settings, please let me know.

    I can try the APN settings for post #2.

    Also, as can be seen in the screen shot, this is on iOS 11.2.5, which is the latest version if iOS for those not on the Beta Test/Developer program.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    207
    Device(s)
    Motorola X Play
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have set the APNs up as per posting #3. I did not use the MMS settings, as there is no true MMS capability in an iPad Pro ( iMessage not wtihstanding). As can be seen, there is NO LTE service, only 3G. The screen shot is after a reboot of the iPad Pro with the new APN settings as advised in posting #3.

    Name:  IMG_1574.jpg
Views: 597
Size:  41.2 KB

    Please also note that this doesn't appear to be iPad specific, as I have a couple of friends with Android tables who are unable to get onto Freedom LTE. Freedom did recently hae an LG tablet on sale, and from all reports, it was working on LTE, so this should be possibile.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    696
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus (256GB). iPhone 6S Plus (128GB). iPad 6th Generation (2018) (128GB).
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kkritsilas View Post
    I have set the APNs up as per posting #3. I did not use the MMS settings, as there is no true MMS capability in an iPad Pro ( iMessage not wtihstanding). As can be seen, there is NO LTE service, only 3G. The screen shot is after a reboot of the iPad Pro with the new APN settings as advised in posting #3.

    Name:  IMG_1574.jpg
Views: 597
Size:  41.2 KB

    Please also note that this doesn't appear to be iPad specific, as I have a couple of friends with Android tables who are unable to get onto Freedom LTE. Freedom did recently hae an LG tablet on sale, and from all reports, it was working on LTE, so this should be possibile.
    I don't know what bands are in the iPad, but you can only get Band 7 LTE in Toronto so far (based on experiments done with my iPhone 6S Plus, and well documented. I use an 8 Plus now, so I'm on Band 4 (UMTS), Band 7 or Band 66 all the time. Sometimes it'll drop to 3G but I'm not concerned about that). According to a spec sheet for the iPad 9.7 inch model, Band 66 is not listed, but Band 4 UMTS, Band 4 LTE and Bands 7 and 13 (both LTE) are listed. You can get LTE on your iPhone right?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    491
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 6T/Samsung Galaxy s7 edge
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is there an APN setting for volte? Thanks

    Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
    Freedom Mobile Promo 50 Everywhere Canada

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    696
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus (256GB). iPhone 6S Plus (128GB). iPad 6th Generation (2018) (128GB).
    Carrier(s)
    Freedom
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ma678 View Post
    Is there an APN setting for volte? Thanks

    Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
    Nope. Need to be using a phone sold by Freedom. The only exceptions are Samsung (if you change the CSC) and Apple (which contain the APN’s in the Carrier Profile, including VoLTE).

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. 7250 internet settings?
    By dragon208 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-14-2003, 09:42 PM
  2. how/where to enter internet settings on T720?
    By AndyVX in forum Motorola
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-11-2003, 10:51 PM
  3. 7250 internet settings?
    By dragon208 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-24-2003, 05:05 PM
  4. GPRS/Internet Settings
    By fatih in forum AT&T
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-31-2003, 08:15 PM
  5. 9290 and internet settings
    By agnos in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2002, 07:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks