Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 39

Thread: Honor 6X and ZTE V8 (Tethering?)

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    556
    Carrier(s)
    PagePlus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Which "Exact Phone" are you talking about. Earlier I already confirmed that the Honor 6x tethers out of the box.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    655
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gwite View Post
    Restock fee for return??

    Thanks.
    Sent from my Z982 using HoFo mobile app
    If bought at Best buy yup. $35 dollar restocking fee if returned.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    556
    Carrier(s)
    PagePlus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    If opened, yes restocking fee.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    985
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Darn, looks like deal is over. Missed out.

    Hope it runs again soon. Need something that will hotspot on Cricket.

    Sent from my LG-K450 using Tapatalk

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    796
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by f2racer View Post
    If you bought an unlocked phone, it should tether without a subscription check with the carrier (Cricket). But, my daughter's Honor 8 would not tether until I added the following to the APN type:

    ,dun

    It appears as if Cricket omit's this when they provision the Access Point on your phone. Adding the "dun" fixed tethering for me.
    I have an unlocked moto g4 play and it doesn't tether. Only way to get it would be to root and as the tethering line in the build.prop file. That is the only way in marshmallow and nougat phones if maker left tether check in the build.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cthomp21 View Post
    My ZTE Axon 7 Mini does NOT tether after it was upgraded to nougat.
    Have you tried the workaround posted on ZTE's forums? Also saw f2racer suggest adding ,dun to APN.
    https://community.zteusa.com/discuss...ugat-update/p2

  7. #22
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    690
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MrMcGreenGenes View Post
    Have you tried the workaround posted on ZTE's forums? Also saw f2racer suggest adding ,dun to APN.
    https://community.zteusa.com/discuss...ugat-update/p2
    I tried this with a Moto G4 Plus and it didn't work.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,115
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MrMcGreenGenes View Post
    Have you tried the workaround posted on ZTE's forums? Also saw f2racer suggest adding ,dun to APN.
    https://community.zteusa.com/discuss...ugat-update/p2
    I think ZTE messed up the tethering app with the update, my friend's Axon 7 mini would connect but no internet. Hopefully that fix works. I haven't heard if my friend tried it or not. On the other hand the ZTE blade v8 pro works great.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    I tried this with a Moto G4 Plus and it didn't work.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app
    Yea I think this won't work for Moto because Moto's set up is different, it won't allow for it unless you root. I love my Moto G4 Plus and Moto Z Play but it's a bummer they have to be rooted to tether.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NE Fla.
    Posts
    512
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T via Cricket Wireless, Verizon via RedPocket, Alachua County CCC via Motorola SmartZone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gwite View Post
    Need something that will hotspot on Cricket.
    Unlocked Sony phones will hotspot right out of the box. The Xperia X compact is available from Best Buy for $319 on clearance and it is a pretty nice phone that well be updated to Oreo soon.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    985
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by robertjglenn View Post
    Unlocked Sony phones will hotspot right out of the box. The Xperia X compact is available from Best Buy for $319 on clearance and it is a pretty nice phone that well be updated to Oreo soon.
    Thanks but way above my price range. Looks like the Honor 6 deal is back again though.

    Sent from my LG-K450 using Tapatalk

  11. #26
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    34
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have an unlocked Moto X2 Pure 32GB running Android 6 that streams with no problems. Still not a bad phone for under $100 on eBay.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    985
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    So disappointed. Bought the Honor 6x, switched to Cricket but non of my devices are allowed to connect to internet via the 6x's hotspot?

    Any advice is appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,805
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gwite View Post
    So disappointed. Bought the Honor 6x, switched to Cricket but non of my devices are allowed to connect to internet via the 6x's hotspot?

    Any advice is appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk
    You'd either have to root the phone
    And edit the prop file
    Or try apps like foxfi or pdanet.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    985
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    You'd either have to root the phone
    And edit the prop file
    Or try apps like foxfi or pdanet.
    Yeah, wanted to avoid all that as some(one?) said it would tether "out of the box".

    Oh well...

    Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Marlborough, MA
    Posts
    299
    Device(s)
    SE T616, Samsung x426
    Carrier(s)
    ATT GSM (x5)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    You'd either have to root the phone
    And edit the prop file
    Or try apps like foxfi or pdanet.
    The honor 6x I bought from Bestbuy last month can tether off the Cricket basic 5gb plan.

    Sent from my LEX727 using HoFo mobile app

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Two question: ZTE AWE Tethering and Google hangout
    By highnndry in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-14-2014, 12:30 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 01:53 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-13-2005, 02:25 PM
  4. Axim x30 and a v600 tethering
    By Enk1du in forum AT&T
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2005, 12:20 PM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 04:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks