Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: Honor 6X and ZTE V8 (Tethering?)

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    927
    Device(s)
    Alcatel Fierce 2, VMoto E, Kyocera Icon, Lumia 640, Several Dumb Phones
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Smartel, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Langning View Post
    The honor 6x I bought from Bestbuy last month can tether off the Cricket basic 5gb plan.

    Sent from my LEX727 using HoFo mobile app
    Did you enter any apn settings, or did Cricket's ota set it, or did it just automatically have built in settings?

    Really didn't check apn since the data just worked, but maybe I can do something with the apn settings.

    I'm on unlimited 2.

    I have another favorite phone which I prefer to use(unlocked Metro Blade Zmax) that I was finally able to get to work(and hotspot) on Cricket, so I'm good, but I bought the Honor 6 specifically to hotspot on Cricket.

    Maybe I'll eventually get hotspot working.

    Thx.

    Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,085
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gwite View Post
    Did you enter any apn settings, or did Cricket's ota set it, or did it just automatically have built in settings?

    Really didn't check apn since the data just worked, but maybe I can do something with the apn settings.

    I'm on unlimited 2.

    I have another favorite phone which I prefer to use(unlocked Metro Blade Zmax) that I was finally able to get to work(and hotspot) on Cricket, so I'm good, but I bought the Honor 6 specifically to hotspot on Cricket.

    Maybe I'll eventually get hotspot working.

    Thx.

    Sent from my 6045O using Tapatalk
    That is a bummer about the Honor 6x. Another reason to stick with ZTE phones imho. I was hugely disappointed when my Honor 5x wouldn't tether on Cricket. I'll stay away from Huawei / Honor phones for this reason. They have no reason to not allow this since they are fully unlocked phones that are not subsidized on any carrier. Shame.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Marlborough, MA
    Posts
    297
    Device(s)
    SE T616, Samsung x426
    Carrier(s)
    ATT GSM (x5)
    Feedback Score
    0
    It worked right out of the box. I also have an unlocked alcatel (amazon brand), 2 moto 4 plus and 1 le pro3. All can tether with no manual overrides.

    Sent from my LEX727 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Marlborough, MA
    Posts
    297
    Device(s)
    SE T616, Samsung x426
    Carrier(s)
    ATT GSM (x5)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I left out the $50 kodak ektra from Bestbuy which can also tether.

    Sent from my LEX727 using HoFo mobile app

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    556
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Langning View Post
    It worked right out of the box. I also have an unlocked alcatel (amazon brand), 2 moto 4 plus and 1 le pro3. All can tether with no manual overrides.

    Sent from my LEX727 using HoFo mobile app
    I have a Moto G4 Plus factory unlocked. It came directly from Motorola. It will NOT tether on Cricket.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,085
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mandelstamm1 View Post
    I have a Moto G4 Plus factory unlocked. It came directly from Motorola. It will NOT tether on Cricket.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app
    Yes now I'm skeptical of that poster's claims... my Moto G4 Plus factory version, it will NOT tether either. I'm wondering if he's making stuff up now.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,200
    Feedback Score
    0
    Finally grabbed a V8 Pro yesterday and took the latest update. Very nice phone and hotspot works perfect.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,125
    Device(s)
    Android, Windows
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T, Sprint, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I grabbed a V8 Pro yesterday from Walmart for $50 on clearance. Pretty nice phone and it does tether out of the box
    Also I have a Orbic Wonder that tethers out of the box.

    Sent from my Z978 using HoFo mobile app

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Marlborough, MA
    Posts
    297
    Device(s)
    SE T616, Samsung x426
    Carrier(s)
    ATT GSM (x5)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sprintleaver View Post
    Yes now I'm skeptical of that poster's claims... my Moto G4 Plus factory version, it will NOT tether either. I'm wondering if he's making stuff up now.
    I am sorry I don't have a G4 Plus; the 2 Moto phones I bought from Walmart (last September) are "Motorola Moto G5 Plus 64GB Unlocked". They absolutely can tether!!! In fact, all of my other unlocked phones (4) can enable hotspot too.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Two question: ZTE AWE Tethering and Google hangout
    By highnndry in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-14-2014, 01:30 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 02:53 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-13-2005, 03:25 PM
  4. Axim x30 and a v600 tethering
    By Enk1du in forum AT&T
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2005, 01:20 PM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 05:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks