Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Results 91 to 102 of 102

Thread: Rogers to Hike Spending On Wireless Netowkr

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,369
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers to Hike Spending On Wireless Netowkr

    Itís a bit lower than what we usually see around here. When we were close to the tower that was decommissioned, we would get 80-100 Mbps. As you move south on CityView Blvd towards the tower located at Hwy 400 and Major Mac, itís anywhere from 80-120...even inside the Walmart and Home Depot which are just next to that tower at Major Mac & 400, speeds are close 100 (and actually faster than Bell/Telus since none of the surrounding Bell towers have any sectors pointing towards those stores and Bellís towers are a bit farther away too). But around my subdivision of homes, itís no fast than 50-60 (always closer to 50), and no more than 30/33 inside as I mentioned before. It could be congestion but Iím thinking probably unlikely. All of their towers around here are connected to fibre and they should have enough radio capacity to offer higher speeds.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    389
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    It’s a bit lower than what we usually see around here. When we were close to the tower that was decommissioned, we would get 80-100 Mbps. As you move south on CityView Blvd towards the tower located at Hwy 400 and Major Mac, it’s anywhere from 80-120...even inside the Walmart and Home Depot which are just next to that tower at Major Mac & 400, speeds are close 100 (and actually faster than Bell/Telus since none of the surrounding Bell towers have any sectors pointing towards those stores and Bell’s towers are a bit farther away too). But around my subdivision of homes, it’s no fast than 50-60 (always closer to 50), and no more than 30/33 inside as I mentioned before. It could be congestion but I’m thinking probably unlikely. All of their towers around here are connected to fibre and they should have enough radio capacity to offer higher speeds.
    yeah that's extremely odd. what bands are you picking up inside of your home? and what bandwidths are they?

    I'm about 2.7 km away from my nearest tower in a basement apartment and I connect to 10 MHz Band 12 + 10 MHz Band 4 and can still manage to pull between 40 - 60 Mbps download. You should be able to blow that out of the water with wider bandwidths, and probably tri-band CA being in such close proximity of a new tower.

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,369
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Iíve detected bands 2, 4, 7, and 12 while inside. The field test mode on iPhones isnít the greatest or easiest to use, especially with the new Intel modems. Iím not sure if Iím reading it right but Iím only ever seeing 2CA when testing on my iPhone 8 Plus (for both Telus and Rogers) by looking under the ďCA StatusĒ menu. With Rogers, Iíve seen various different combos of 2CA including:

    15MHz of B2 + 15MHz of B4
    20MHz of B7 + 15MHz of B2
    20MHz of B7 + 15MHz of B4
    15MHz of B2 + 10MHz of B12

    The 1st three combos yield up to 33Mbps while the last combo with B12 tops out at around 28Mbps.

    By comparison, with Telus, itís almost always 20MHz of B2 + 15MHz of B4 inside my house and I consistently pull over 200Mbps.

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    389
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Iíve detected bands 2, 4, 7, and 12 while inside. The field test mode on iPhones isnít the greatest or easiest to use, especially with the new Intel modems. Iím not sure if Iím reading it right but Iím only ever seeing 2CA when testing on my iPhone 8 Plus (for both Telus and Rogers) by looking under the ďCA StatusĒ menu. With Rogers, Iíve seen various different combos of 2CA including:

    15MHz of B2 + 15MHz of B4
    20MHz of B7 + 15MHz of B2
    20MHz of B7 + 15MHz of B4
    15MHz of B2 + 10MHz of B12

    The 1st three combos yield up to 33Mbps while the last combo with B12 tops out at around 28Mbps.

    By comparison, with Telus, itís almost always 20MHz of B2 + 15MHz of B4 inside my house and I consistently pull over 200Mbps.
    Usually your serving cell info shows the main frequency band youíre currently connected to and the CA Status shows the other bands that are being aggregated together with the serving cell. When Iím close to a tower my phone usually defaults to Band 7 for serving cell and then Band 4 + Band 12 in the CA status window. Thatís when I get good 150+ Mbps download speeds.

    Iíd be surprised if you werenít connecting to tri band CA off of that tower being that youíre located so close to it. Still canít figure out why the speeds would be so miserable though. Does it change at all depending on time of day of testing?

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,369
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Not really. Itís always around 30ish regardless of time of day.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,373
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Unless the site is overloaded or there is some network backhaul issue, you should get well over 100Mbps. Down here in the states, I hit 150Mbps just on B4 20x20. When I was in Northern Ontario, I was hitting +80Mbps on Rogers with B2 10MHz + B12 5MHz ( I think). Bell was hitting 50Mbps and Telus was around 20Mbps (I posted somewhere on this channel)

    Sent from my LM-G710 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,369
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah, I have no idea whatís going on with the new site. Tested it again last night and it topped off at around 27Mbps.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    389
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Yeah, I have no idea whatís going on with the new site. Tested it again last night and it topped off at around 27Mbps.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Must be a loooot of Rogers subscribers in your neighbourhood to bog down a new site that much. Whatís 3G speeds on that tower like?

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,369
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Between 5 and 6 Mbps on 3G


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    389
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Between 5 and 6 Mbps on 3G


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Ouch. Sounds like they shouldíve put up 2 towers in your neck of the woods instead of just 1. Maybe where that site serves part of highway 400 (Iím assuming from the close proximity) itís not able to keep up. From what I remember this past summer that is a pretty busy stretch for traffic.

  11. #101
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    958
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I posted this on the 5G sharing discussion, but I'll repost here in case you didn't see, I found Rogers was testing B38 (MFBI B41) in Vancouver:




    Unfortunately, did not have a Rogers SIM to be able to connect to it.

    My suspicion is they will focus on Massive MIMO, and TDD is best suited for that efficiency wise. Likewise, one of their high level execs came from a UK provider who also was focused on the same thing.

  12. #102
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,369
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers to Hike Spending On Wireless Netowkr

    Quote Originally Posted by newfoundlander1 View Post
    Ouch. Sounds like they shouldíve put up 2 towers in your neck of the woods instead of just 1. Maybe where that site serves part of highway 400 (Iím assuming from the close proximity) itís not able to keep up. From what I remember this past summer that is a pretty busy stretch for traffic.
    They have 2 sites along Hwy 400 covering the entire subdivision - one located just north of Canadaís Wonderland covering the south end of the subdivision and another (the new one) covering the north end. By comparison, Bell has one site (located right in between both Rogers sites) covering the entire subdivision and Iíve never experienced anything slower than 200Mbps on Telus (and thatís while in my basement!)...260-280ish while upstairs/outside.

    On top of the lacklustre speed with Rogers in my area, thereís now virtually no signal on the far east end of the subdivision located on the east side of Hwy 400 because they tore down the Teston Rd tower (signal was full there prior to them removing that tower).

    I really have no clue what the heck theyíre doing.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Similar Threads

  1. What do you spend on wireless every month?
    By shinygirl in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 11:55 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2005, 10:46 AM
  3. i730: Can you get to the downloads on wireless web?
    By theqase in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-27-2003, 05:21 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2003, 09:36 PM
  5. $0.02 to view the "Go To Site" page on Wireless Web
    By TELUSMobilityGuy in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-08-2002, 08:25 PM

Bookmarks