Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6
Results 76 to 82 of 82

Thread: Rogers to Hike Spending On Wireless Netowkr

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,345
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Yeah, it’s the same around here. Just recently, Bell is adding B7 to a lot of their sites. Prior to these recent upgrades, it was mostly B2 and B4 on many Bell sites, and as you’ve mentioned, some are just B2 for their high band LTE. My Telus phone always prefers B2, even when B4 and B7 are available. Speeds are still consistent and generally faster than Rogers in a lot of places, although there are now a few locations around here where Rogers is faster thanks to their recent upgrades. What I still find interesting is that there are many Bell sites without 700MHz LTE. A lot of their sites use B5 as their low band LTE. It’s completely opposite with Rogers. Nearly every Rogers site here has 700MHz LTE. Also, I find hand-off to low band LTE works better with Rogers. There are several places where my Telus device will drop to 3G (when high band LTE signal is weak enough) before it reconnects to low band LTE. Having said that, the Bell network is far more dense around here with a larger number of both outdoor and indoor sites...which is why I think my overall experience with Telus is better than Rogers. But Rogers is upping their game and it’s about damn time. Hopefully they continue with their improvements.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    11,104
    Device(s)
    LG G7 (T-Mobile), iPhone 8 (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Looks like a bit of Rogers/TBaytel expansion in NW Ontario - LTE now in Marathon, Geraldton and Longlac.
    Of course Bell is now showing White River, ON as 'future coverage'.
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    510
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Yeah, it’s the same around here. Just recently, Bell is adding B7 to a lot of their sites. Prior to these recent upgrades, it was mostly B2 and B4 on many Bell sites, and as you’ve mentioned, some are just B2 for their high band LTE. My Telus phone always prefers B2, even when B4 and B7 are available. Speeds are still consistent and generally faster than Rogers in a lot of places, although there are now a few locations around here where Rogers is faster thanks to their recent upgrades. What I still find interesting is that there are many Bell sites without 700MHz LTE. A lot of their sites use B5 as their low band LTE. It’s completely opposite with Rogers. Nearly every Rogers site here has 700MHz LTE. Also, I find hand-off to low band LTE works better with Rogers. There are several places where my Telus device will drop to 3G (when high band LTE signal is weak enough) before it reconnects to low band LTE. Having said that, the Bell network is far more dense around here with a larger number of both outdoor and indoor sites...which is why I think my overall experience with Telus is better than Rogers. But Rogers is upping their game and it’s about damn time. Hopefully they continue with their improvements.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Bell just added band 7 in my area. Now 2 4 5 7 17

    Sent from my SM-G960W using HoFo mobile app

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,345
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Rogers to Hike Spending On Wireless Netowkr

    Well well well. Never thought I’d see the day...looks like Rogers finally got approval to install a 45m monopole site within walking distance from my house. This should definitely take care of the coverage deficiencies they’ve had in our neighbourhood for years. It’s actually not going to be an additional site...they’re removing their existing site located on the north side of Teston Rd and putting this new one up a lot closer to home. Will be interesting to see how coverage is affected for the neighbourhood south of Teston Rd (east of Hwy 400) and while traveling east along Teston once that tower is gone. Nevertheless, the wife will be happy.

    New site was approved by the city in June. Hopefully this doesn’t take them another year to build!

    https://pub-vaughan.escribemeetings....ocumentId=2631


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    380
    Device(s)
    iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Rogers to Hike Spending On Wireless Netowkr

    Quote Originally Posted by toolcube View Post
    Well well well. Never thought I’d see the day...looks like Rogers finally got approval to install a 45m monopole site within walking distance from my house. This should definitely take care of the coverage deficiencies they’ve had in our neighbourhood for years. It’s actually not going to be an additional site...they’re removing their existing site located on the north side of Teston Rd and putting this new one up a lot closer to home. Will be interesting to see how coverage is affected for the neighbourhood south of Teston Rd (east of Hwy 400) and while traveling east along Teston once that tower is gone. Nevertheless, the wife will be happy.

    New site was approved by the city in June. Hopefully this doesn’t take them another year to build!

    https://pub-vaughan.escribemeetings....ocumentId=2631


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Awesome! Why are they re-locating the tower exactly? That’s great that it’s going to provide better coverage for your neighbourhood though - a huge win for Rogers customers.

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vaughan
    Posts
    1,345
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars

    Rogers to Hike Spending On Wireless Netowkr

    Not sure why they’re relocating. It could be that the two towers would be too close together and possibly interfere with signal overlap, or it could be because they were mandated to remove the tower on Teston Rd. I can’t see how this new tower that’ll be built closer to our house can possibly provide adequate coverage to the other fairly large subdivision east of us and along Teston Rd (both locations currently being very well covered by the Teston Rd tower). The new tower is going to be approx the same height but with fewer antenna panels as the one they’ll be removing (9 panels on current tower vs 6 on new tower according to the city council report). We’ll see though...maybe they’ll get creative with antenna placement/direction and blast the transmit power.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  7. #82
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    211
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus, iPhone 6s
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, Telus, Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Rogers put out a press release not too long ago touting a plan to add LTE to "over 1,000 kms of unserved highway corridors" over the next five years. They cite Route 245 in Antigonish, NS and Highway 5a near Kamloops BC (neither parts of those roads are really served by any provider) in the press release as their candidates for this new coverage.

    It'll be interesting to see if it materializes (looks like it is depending on the existence of some federal money), but it is interesting Rogers is looking to add service in areas nobody is covering yet. Wonder if Bellus will match these additions (or even beat Rogers to the punch) or if they will set up extended roaming on Rogers, or if they will just leave these areas for Rogers only.

    https://mobilesyrup.com/2019/03/20/r...ys-investment/

    https://about.rogers.com/2019/03/20/...across-canada/

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6

Similar Threads

  1. What do you spend on wireless every month?
    By shinygirl in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 11:55 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2005, 09:46 AM
  3. i730: Can you get to the downloads on wireless web?
    By theqase in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-27-2003, 04:21 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2003, 08:36 PM
  5. $0.02 to view the "Go To Site" page on Wireless Web
    By TELUSMobilityGuy in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-08-2002, 08:25 PM

Bookmarks