Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 157

Thread: Wi-Fi calling is here

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    2,020
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    It doesn't let me switch it off as I'm on an unlimited 2 plan ... But It used to work on my s8+ before I ported out..now that I ported back in..it doesn't work anymore.. I just tried on the s8+.. I downgrade to 5 gb plan switched stream off on /off and VOLtE still does not work..

    Sent from my SM-G955U1 using HoFo mobile app

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Posts
    572
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cell_Phone33 View Post
    It doesn't let me switch it off as I'm on an unlimited 2 plan ... But It used to work on my s8+ before I ported out..now that I ported back in..it doesn't work anymore.. I just tried on the s8+.. I downgrade to 5 gb plan switched stream off on /off and VOLtE still does not work..

    Sent from my SM-G955U1 using HoFo mobile app
    Sorry to hear that, you may have to contact support for help. I wonder why they make screwy changes with androids.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    128
    Feedback Score
    0

    Wi-Fi calling is here

    Where do I activate the “WiFi preferred calling “? In the terms and conditions it’s mentioned that you can choose WiFi preferred or cellular preferred.
    The former uses WiFi whenever the phone is connected to a network , even though cellular network is available ...

    I’d rather use WiFi in my apartment since I only get 3G...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Posts
    572
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Wi-Fi calling is here

    Quote Originally Posted by khrisztian View Post
    Where do I activate the “WiFi preferred calling “? In the terms and conditions it’s mentioned that you can choose WiFi preferred or cellular preferred.
    The former uses WiFi whenever the phone is connected to a network , even though cellular network is available ...

    I’d rather use WiFi in my apartment since I only get 3G...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I had that same question also. But it seems once it’s activated it’ll say cricket Wi-Fi on the upper left corner even with 3/4 bars.

    Now wether it’s sending it through WiFi I won’t know since it sounds the same on LTE vs WiFi for me. I tested it by putting it on airplane mode and turning on WiFi. Worked like a charm.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    74
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Slagish View Post
    I had that same question also. But it seems once it’s activated it’ll say cricket Wi-Fi on the upper left corner even with 3/4 bars.

    Now wether it’s sending it through WiFi I won’t know since it sounds the same on LTE vs WiFi for me. I tested it by putting it on airplane mode and turning on WiFi. Worked like a charm.
    I can’t recall when on MetroPCS, whether it just said “MetroPCS Wi-Fi”, without any cell bars?

    Shouldn’t it just say “cricket Wi-Fi” without the cell bars, if connected to the Wi-Fi network?

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    128
    Feedback Score
    0

    Wi-Fi calling is here

    Quote Originally Posted by lol4lol View Post
    I
    Shouldn’t it just say “cricket Wi-Fi” without the cell bars, if connected to the Wi-Fi network?
    Right, but the fact is that you are still connected to the cell tower even though your calls get routed via WiFi .

    I guess that scenario will come into play when you are in airplane mode and connected to WiFi



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #67
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    74
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by khrisztian View Post
    Right, but the fact is that you are still connected to the cell tower even though your calls get routed via WiFi .

    I guess that scenario will play when you are in airplane mode and connected to WiFi



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Makes sense. Thank you.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Posts
    572
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lol4lol View Post
    I can’t recall when on MetroPCS, whether it just said “MetroPCS Wi-Fi”, without any cell bars?

    Shouldn’t it just say “cricket Wi-Fi” without the cell bars, if connected to the Wi-Fi network?
    Hmm, well it says it while in airplane mode and with cell bars. So I’m not sure.

    I do recall att version only working when you had poor coverage according to their terms but technically I would imagine this is separate from att since it’s barely rolling out.


    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512832777.289196.jpg
Views: 542
Size:  39.5 KB

    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512832793.743676.jpg
Views: 541
Size:  36.2 KB

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    2,020
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Slagish View Post
    Hmm, well it says it while in airplane mode and with cell bars. So I’m not sure.

    I do recall att version only working when you had poor coverage according to their terms but technically I would imagine this is separate from att since it’s barely rolling out.


    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512832777.289196.jpg
Views: 542
Size:  39.5 KB

    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512832793.743676.jpg
Views: 541
Size:  36.2 KB
    can you still make a call when in Airplane mode ?

  10. #70
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    74
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cell_Phone33 View Post
    can you still make a call when in Airplane mode ?
    I just tested this in Airplane Mode. I was able to make and receive a call.

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Posts
    572
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Wi-Fi calling is here

    Quote Originally Posted by Cell_Phone33 View Post
    can you still make a call when in Airplane mode ?
    Yes and it sounds as clear as LTE.


    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512833786.243482.jpg
Views: 545
Size:  26.4 KB

  12. #72
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,215
    Device(s)
    Gold iPhone 7 Plus (Verizon variant)
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless $35/5GB
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes sir Cricket WiFi calling and Volte is live and well
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512836146.455375.jpg
Views: 544
Size:  24.1 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512836159.212944.jpg
Views: 548
Size:  27.6 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512836173.248287.jpg
Views: 536
Size:  23.1 KB

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,215
    Device(s)
    Gold iPhone 7 Plus (Verizon variant)
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless $35/5GB
    Feedback Score
    0
    iPhone 7 Plus Verizon variant 128 gb
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1512836362.705242.jpg
Views: 537
Size:  32.1 KB

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,341
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6, iPhone 5s,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Slagish View Post
    You shouldn’t have to downgrade. Make sure your phone is update with the latest update and then check the about page in setting to make sure you have the latest carrier update. Should be cricket 30.1 I believe.

    That should allow you to activate WiFi calling in cellular settings.
    Is there a way to get the newest cricket carrier software without upgrading to iOS 11? My Verizon iPhone 6 is currently on 10.3.3.

  15. #75
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    74
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwfreak View Post
    Is there a way to get the newest cricket carrier software without upgrading to iOS 11? My Verizon iPhone 6 is currently on 10.3.3.
    Go into Settings/General/About and wait about 30 seconds. See if the carrier update pops up.

    If it’s not iOS 11 specific, the update should pop up.

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-2015, 10:40 AM
  2. What is the correct SIM for wi-fi calling?
    By gate115 in forum T-Mobile prepaid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 05:00 PM
  3. Telna is Now Doing Wi-Fi Calling
    By Conan Edogawa in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 02:01 PM
  4. Is There a TMOB Wi-Fi- Calling App for prepaid Comet?
    By mcd320 in forum T-Mobile prepaid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 09:40 AM
  5. Is it possible to use wi-fi calling with iPhone?
    By keith5696 in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2008, 12:57 PM

Bookmarks