Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: TracFone SIM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    229
    Device(s)
    LY Stylo 2v
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question TracFone SIM

    Can a TracFone SIM be activated again in the same phone?

    I ask cause my sister-in-law upgraded phones and now the battery has died and she needs to go back to the old phone until she gets a battery put in. The phones don't use the same size SIM.
    ~~Teresa ~~

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,729
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, LG Rebel 2, LG G3
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NanaC View Post
    Can a TracFone SIM be activated again in the same phone?
    If you are asking if a Tracfone SIM can be reused, the answer is YES for a CDMA SIM, and NO for a GSM SIM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    229
    Device(s)
    LY Stylo 2v
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    If you are asking if a Tracfone SIM can be reused, the answer is YES for a CDMA SIM, and NO for a GSM SIM.
    That's why I'm asking and thanks for the reply!
    Forgot to specify that it's a CDMA Sim.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,874
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    If you are asking if a Tracfone SIM can be reused, the answer is YES for a CDMA SIM, and NO for a GSM SIM.
    GSM SIMs can't be activated again, but generally they can be just swapped to another GSM phone with no interaction with Tracfone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,357
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone - Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    GSM SIMs can't be activated again, but generally they can be just swapped to another GSM phone with no interaction with Tracfone.
    Hence the term SLIM(,Carlos) locked IIRC.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,443
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    GSM SIMs can't be activated again, but generally they can be just swapped to another GSM phone with no interaction with Tracfone.
    Quote Originally Posted by mathfaster View Post
    Hence the term SLIM(,Carlos) locked IIRC.
    No, that's not what "slimlocked" refers to...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,874
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    No, that's not what "slimlocked" refers to...
    Slim Locked refers to giving America Movil companies the full correct IMEI of a phone locks it to that particular America Movil brand. For example if you activate an IMEI on Tracfone, you can never move the phone to NET10, Straight Talk, SIMPLE Mobile, Page Plus, etc. service.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,443
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    Slim Locked refers to giving America Movil companies the full correct IMEI of a phone locks it to that particular America Movil brand. For example if you activate an IMEI on Tracfone, you can never move the phone to NET10, Straight Talk, SIMPLE Mobile, Page Plus, etc. service.
    Correct. But you said it meant something else above. Anyway, you are correct now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    Slim Locked refers to giving America Movil companies the full correct IMEI of a phone locks it to that particular America Movil brand. For example if you activate an IMEI on Tracfone, you can never move the phone to NET10, Straight Talk, SIMPLE Mobile, Page Plus, etc. service.
    So, after using a Total Wireless iPhone for the required year of service and then unlocking it, could the phone be used on another American Movil brand?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    2,874
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Regsey View Post
    So, after using a Total Wireless iPhone for the required year of service and then unlocking it, could the phone be used on another American Movil brand?
    I have no personal experience, but that is what I read here from others. I have never heard of anyone actually getting an Americal Movil phone unlocked.

Similar Threads

  1. TracFone SIM on unlocked GSM phone?
    By maniac3389 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 11:15 PM
  2. tracfone sim swap
    By elizar in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2006, 10:42 PM
  3. Cingular "market specific" Tracfone SIMs
    By hofonoob81 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2005, 11:35 AM
  4. tracfone sims
    By remusrm in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2005, 01:18 AM
  5. TracFone sim
    By crash-o-matic in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2005, 06:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks