Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sprint phones over to cricket

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    315
    Feedback Score
    0

    Sprint phones over to cricket

    I have 2 iPhone 7 plus and a Samsung s6 to port over from sprint next month. I think all iPhones after the 6, once unlocked, are fine. Not so sure about the Samsung. I have read years ago about some sprint phones do not have the bands in the radio to work with full functionality on some other networks. Can anyone recall the specifics of this?

    Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    456
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus, iPad (5th Gen)
    Carrier(s)
    310-150, 310-410
    Feedback Score
    0
    The iPhones should be fine - the 6s and 6s Plus are truly universal among the four US carriers, the 7/8/X (and Plus models) are split in that models with a Qualcomm modem work on all four, but the models with an Intel modem only work on AT&T and T-Mobile. SEs are split by AT&T/T-Mobile/Verizon and Sprint (but it seems like they still work on others, just missing some LTE bands.)

    Since your 7 Pluses are currently on Sprint, they'd have a Qualcomm modem, and unlocked should work fine.
    Last edited by ecs0013; 12-25-2017 at 02:51 PM. Reason: Took out 7S mention…no idea where that typo came from…too much egg nog?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    315
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ecs0013 View Post
    The iPhones should be fine - the 6s and 6s Plus are truly universal among the four US carriers, the 7/7S/8/X (and Plus models) are split in that models with a Qualcomm modem work on all four, but the models with an Intel modem only work on AT&T and T-Mobile. SEs are split by AT&T/T-Mobile/Verizon and Sprint (but it seems like they still work on others, just missing some LTE bands.)

    Since your 7 Pluses are currently on Sprint, they'd have a Qualcomm modem, and unlocked should work fine.
    Thanks! That's what I was thinking. I guess I could enter the IMEI number from the Samsung at the Cricket website and be able to tell.

    Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    456
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus, iPad (5th Gen)
    Carrier(s)
    310-150, 310-410
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ccarlmcracken View Post
    Thanks! That's what I was thinking. I guess I could enter the IMEI number from the Samsung at the Cricket website and be able to tell.
    Yeah, I can't really help on that - mostly manage iPhones at work and pretty much is what all the family members use, too. I'm sure there's some people on these forums that can help on that though.

    By the way, this page lists all the LTE bands for each iPhone model, showing what typically can and cannot work - the "Supported LTE Networks" heading more or less lists the carriers it was sold under. Since your 7 Plus would also have LTE bands 2, 4, 5, 12/17, 29, and 30, it's good to go on Cricket/AT&T: https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    914
    Feedback Score
    0
    take the model number of your GS6 and look up the LTE bands at gsmarena.com. You want to at least have 2, 4 and 12/17. Band 30 would be a plus, but it depends what they have deployed in your area. They use a lot of 2, 5, 12/17 and 30 around me. Depending on your sprint submodel, here is what I found:

    LTE band 2(1900), 3(1800), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 7(2600), 13(700) - G920V
    LTE band 2(1900), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 12(700), 25(1900), 26(850), 41(2500) - G920P
    LTE band 2(1900), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 12(700), 13(700), 17(700), 25(1900) - G920R

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    315
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thefisch View Post
    take the model number of your GS6 and look up the LTE bands at gsmarena.com. You want to at least have 2, 4 and 12/17. Band 30 would be a plus, but it depends what they have deployed in your area. They use a lot of 2, 5, 12/17 and 30 around me. Depending on your sprint submodel, here is what I found:

    LTE band 2(1900), 3(1800), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 7(2600), 13(700) - G920V
    LTE band 2(1900), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 12(700), 25(1900), 26(850), 41(2500) - G920P
    LTE band 2(1900), 4(1700/2100), 5(850), 12(700), 13(700), 17(700), 25(1900) - G920R
    We have the 925p. I guess it was an Edge. Thanks for the info! I think it's worth giving a try.

    Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    315
    Feedback Score
    0
    Update: I see that on an AT&T forum that a rep suggested this site: willmyphonework.net


    Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Sprint over to Cricket, FREEEEEEEDDDOOOOOMMMMM!
    By jasoutside in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 12-30-2015, 05:44 AM
  2. RIM Blackberry 8330 Sprint full flash over to Cricket?
    By DSMAvenger in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-28-2009, 09:07 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 06:29 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-09-2008, 12:26 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-12-2007, 01:44 PM

Bookmarks