Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Cricket IPv6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Nexus 6, LG G3, Droid X
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Project Fi, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket IPv6

    Cricket has implemented ipv6 support apparently. Was checking the information phone info menu (*#*#INFO#*#* for android users), and accidentally hit the ping button. Both v4 and v6 passed with replies, so I investigated further. In Settings > About phone lists a v4 and v6 address in the 2600:387:* range.

    Followed up with checking ipv6 test websites with positive results. However, it's the same situation as ipv4, server public address, and different internal IP, but everything works fine. IPv6 websites work just fine.

    Guess AT&T has to move forward with their mobile features, I know Verizon and T-Mobile have had v6 for a couple years now.


    I don't like phones... I'm in it for the data.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,565
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Which phone/rom? Axon 7 with a 9/2017 build of resurrection remix (lineage os based) fails ipv6.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    447
    Feedback Score
    0
    S8 and S8+ both come back unknown. I have the S8 running on Cricket firmware.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    293
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, H2O, Straight Talk, Net10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Skreelink View Post
    Cricket has implemented ipv6 support apparently. ... Guess AT&T has to move forward with their mobile features, I know Verizon and T-Mobile have had v6 for a couple years now.
    Where are you? I have a real AT&T SIM (iPad data-only) in one of my Android tablets and at least in the SF Bay Area, have never seen an IPv6 address assigned.
    Nexus 4 on Net10/AT&T
    Samsung Tab S2 SM-T817T on T-Mo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Nexus 6, LG G3, Droid X
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Project Fi, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
    Which phone/rom? Axon 7 with a 9/2017 build of resurrection remix (lineage os based) fails ipv6.
    It's a Huawei Nexus 6P, running Paranoid Android 7.3.1. In my course of testing, I also got IPv6 on a Motorola Nexus 6, on Pure Nexus 6.0.1-20160803, as well as an AT&T LG G3 D850 on Fulmics 6.6. I hate using the sim adapters...

    I also noticed the way Cricket does their throttling. They're using AMBR, which stands for Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate. They set a UE-AMBR of 8Mb/8Mb, so any APN you use, still get's that set. Did some testing with someone on postpaid AT&T, noticed they're enforced via APN-AMBR. They had the "Phone" APN in use, which set a 150Mb/25Mb AMBR. After having them change it to "nxtgenphone" it went up to 256Mb/50Mb, so I don't know where the UE-AMBR is enforced.

    Simpler terms: UE == User Equipment == UE-AMBR is the maximum the UE can achieve.
    APN-AMBR limits it per APN setting, and if your phone uses multiple APNs they can add up until they hit the UE-AMBR limit. Although this isn't really useful as it's pretty much just rolled into one APN anyway and you're not going to hit those limits anyway.

    Fun screenshot comparison: Cricket's 8Mb/8Mb AMBR vs Project Fi's 1073Mb/1073Mb AMBR.



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    315
    Feedback Score
    0
    What does all this mean for a lay person?

    Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Nexus 6, LG G3, Droid X
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Project Fi, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ccarlmcracken View Post
    What does all this mean for a lay person?

    Sent from my PH-1 using Tapatalk
    IPv6 is the next step in the future of the internet. We actually ran out of IPv4 addresses awhile back and working on mostly recycled ones. With IPv6, there's pretty much no chance to max them out. There's a lot of technical things behind it, but in the future (say 5-10 years or more) everything will be moved to IPv6, some websites only support it and are not accessible on IPv4. As far as the AMBR info I posted, not much, it was mostly just an observation on my part.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Skreelink View Post
    Cricket has implemented ipv6 support apparently. Was checking the information phone info menu (*#*#INFO#*#* for android users), and accidentally hit the ping button. Both v4 and v6 passed with replies, so I investigated further. In Settings > About phone lists a v4 and v6 address in the 2600:387:* range.

    Followed up with checking ipv6 test websites with positive results. However, it's the same situation as ipv4, server public address, and different internal IP, but everything works fine. IPv6 websites work just fine.

    Guess AT&T has to move forward with their mobile features, I know Verizon and T-Mobile have had v6 for a couple years now.


    weird it seems that ATT Prepaid doesnt have ipv6 yet

    Name:  Screenshot_2018-01-07-14-29-30.png
Views: 409
Size:  102.9 KB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,553
    Device(s)
    iphone 6s plus
    Carrier(s)
    VZW,T-mobile,Cricket,Fi
    Feedback Score
    0
    It is as if AT&T prepaid had been abandoned. No VoLTE, no WiFi calling either
    "I didn't get fat by accident. This was a personal choice. " - Kevin Gillespie

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    Aio Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can confirm, I have IPv6 now on my phone 2600:387:0:902::12

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    187
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, Nexus 6, LG G3, Droid X
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket, Project Fi, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm surprised no one has figured it out...

    For those who want IPv6, change the APN to actually support it. The "default" setting in the APN is IPv4 only, simply change this to IPv4/IPv6 and it should work. If you cannot edit the APN, make a new one with the same information. Also for those with AT&T Prepaid should also get it with an APN edit. Please let us know if it works for you as well. Also going to toss this extra bit of info out there: Using AT&Ts MMSC works better than cricket's. Simply change the MMSC and Proxy "aiowireless.net" to "mobile.att.net" (i.e proxy.mobile.att.net and http://mmsc.mobile.att.net ) it's a lot more stable, at least in my testing. I've yet to have a "failed" mms using the att settings vs aiowireless settings.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Posts
    574
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Neat, one day iOS will get these features. Maybe in some update of some sort... 🤔

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    98
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Skreelink View Post
    I'm surprised no one has figured it out...

    For those who want IPv6, change the APN to actually support it. The "default" setting in the APN is IPv4 only, simply change this to IPv4/IPv6 and it should work. If you cannot edit the APN, make a new one with the same information. Also for those with AT&T Prepaid should also get it with an APN edit. Please let us know if it works for you as well. Also going to toss this extra bit of info out there: Using AT&Ts MMSC works better than cricket's. Simply change the MMSC and Proxy "aiowireless.net" to "mobile.att.net" (i.e proxy.mobile.att.net and http://mmsc.mobile.att.net ) it's a lot more stable, at least in my testing. I've yet to have a "failed" mms using the att settings vs aiowireless settings.
    When you say works better, what benefits have you noticed from using the mobile att net settings in APN?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    462
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus, iPad (5th Gen)
    Carrier(s)
    310-150, 310-410
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Slagish View Post
    Neat, one day iOS will get these features. Maybe in some update of some sort... ��
    It does, but you're just not seeing them while using Cricket - there are a handful of items that can be made available or unavailable, depending on what the SIM card in the phone and Carrier Settings file dictate. This is how AT&T and Cricket have the manual carrier selection menu disabled, but T-Mobile has it available. There are a few places where you can side-load APNs (in fact, for some prepaid services, you have to do this so that MMS works), but unless there's a specific need for IPv6, I'd wait until Cricket issues the ability in a Carrier Settings Update.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201699

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,565
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    @Skreelink Good observation. My apn was forced to ipv4. Setting it to ipv4/v6 enabled ipv6 connectivity on the axon 7. Wonder if it makes any difference in terms of battery life¿?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Cricket Communications does anyone use it?
    By golfer67 in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 11:23 PM
  2. I have Cricket as a secondary service
    By helloastronaut in forum Other Manufacturers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-31-2003, 11:21 PM
  3. Found a Cricket phone and had fun...
    By Espo in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-01-2001, 12:14 PM
  4. Cricket Wireless?
    By korbashui in forum Regional Providers and Other Providers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2001, 05:45 PM
  5. Cricket 5170i
    By Unregistered in forum Nokia
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2001, 07:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks