Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 54

Thread: Port validation

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,633
    Device(s)
    iphone 6s plus
    Carrier(s)
    VZW,T-mobile,Cricket,Fi
    Feedback Score
    0
    I did it today. It was fairly quick.

    I really wish use of better solutions than fixed PINs and passwords was ubiquitous, but I will take any improvement.
    "I didn't get fat by accident. This was a personal choice. " - Kevin Gillespie

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    440
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hi

    Should I speak to an account specialist (from retention’s dept) to add the port validation feature onto my account or will any customer care rep be able to do this? Thanks!

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Patriots Nation & St Petersburg FL
    Posts
    9,507
    Device(s)
    LG G6, LG K20 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nyctechogirl View Post
    Hi

    Should I speak to an account specialist (from retention’s dept) to add the port validation feature onto my account or will any customer care rep be able to do this? Thanks!
    I don’t see why you need someone from the retention department to do this. Any CS rep should be able to help you.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New York, New York, United States
    Posts
    544
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6610, Touch Pro II, Lumia 640
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile (Since Omnipoint!)
    Feedback Score
    0
    They're not that smart. I just called to have it added.
    "Ok it's added"
    "Hold on haven't told you what it should be"
    "Oh let me see oh you have to tell me what it should be" (Duh!)

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have added a 6 digit passcode with t force to my account. Have no problems accessing any of my information

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    440
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by billm261 View Post
    I don’t see why you need someone from the retention department to do this. Any CS rep should be able to help you.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Okay, thanks.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,604
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just did mine... The guy who answered the phone at 611 seemed kind of sleepy and confused for a few seconds but then he woke up and was able to get me set up with "port validation" pretty quickly.

    All it involved was changing my 4 digit call-in password number to a new 6-digit one.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14,105
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just received a text from T-Mobile regarding this topic. Here's the link to their webpage which encourages everyone to set up the new PIN:

    https://www.t-mobile.com/customers/secure

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    691
    Device(s)
    Moto G6, Nokia 6.1
    Carrier(s)
    T- Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jet1000 View Post
    I just received a text from T-Mobile regarding this topic. Here's the link to their webpage which encourages everyone to set up the new PIN:

    https://www.t-mobile.com/customers/secure
    I just got that too. I called 611, got connected in under 30 seconds, had a pleasant rep who was on the ball and the whole thing was done in under a minute. Totally painless.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    2,166
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    We went through T force, was done in like 2 minutes.

    Sent from my SM-T580 using HoFo mobile app
    NHCharmedOne





    My opinions are mine, not yours, no one says you have to agree with them! =)

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    420
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have some questions that are not answered.

    1 - my number was ported in from Verizon. I've been getting a lot of calls (all unanswered) from the same Verizon prefix. I don't know anyone else with that prefix. I block them. I've haven't seen any other posts from those who ported in.

    2. I am not signed up for autopay and check do not save when I pay the bill, which I do on a computer, not the phone. I do no shopping on the phone. NFC is OFF. Have no use for it since it doesn't work with the printer.

    3. I have NO banking information or account/phone numbers on the phone and no social media. I also do not have the TMO app. I prefer using a computer.

    4. The phone is unlocked. It does have a built in SIM lock. Should I use that?

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    62
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P
    Carrier(s)
    T Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by carpetshark View Post

    3. I have NO banking information or account/phone numbers on the phone and no social media. I also do not have the TMO app. I prefer using a computer.
    The items you have listed look like they are about *device* concerns. The recent scams that require port validation are not about the device. They are about hackers porting your cell number out to a different phone in their possession which they then use to reset passwords using 2-factor SMS.

    To protect against this one should 1- setup the port validation with TMobile and 2- remove the cell number from any bank accounts, gmail, etc. that could cause losses.

    I'll let others weigh in if I am reading something wrong or to address the separate issue of device security.

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    420
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cell only. No other option. Landline converted to DSL. I do use email for password with one bank. The other bank uses questions and most of my answers deal with stuff that was local years ago and in another state.

    How does this affect flip phones that don't use data? That phone is branded. The user will have a fit if I change anything.

    The 3rd phone is out of the country until next fall. I'd have to find the directions for the Moto G5 to send the kid.

    How are the hackers getting the numbers? Are these people hacking the banks member lists, using dialers (like scammers), or phone companies lists/bills? They have to be getting the numbers to port from somewhere. Do they spam call from a spoofed same extension?

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tempe
    Posts
    115
    Carrier(s)
    t-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by carpetshark View Post
    How are the hackers getting the numbers? Are these people hacking the banks member lists, using dialers (like scammers), or phone companies lists/bills? They have to be getting the numbers to port from somewhere. Do they spam call from a spoofed same extension?
    I believe my info may have been aquired through the Anthem data breach a year or two ago.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    14,105
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by carpetshark View Post
    Cell only. No other option. Landline converted to DSL. I do use email for password with one bank. The other bank uses questions and most of my answers deal with stuff that was local years ago and in another state.

    How does this affect flip phones that don't use data? That phone is branded. The user will have a fit if I change anything.

    The 3rd phone is out of the country until next fall. I'd have to find the directions for the Moto G5 to send the kid.

    How are the hackers getting the numbers? Are these people hacking the banks member lists, using dialers (like scammers), or phone companies lists/bills? They have to be getting the numbers to port from somewhere. Do they spam call from a spoofed same extension?
    If you call T-Mobile to install the new longer PIN that should solve your problem. It doesn't affect your device or other devices on your account. It just makes it more difficult to port out your lines.

    I believe the scam goes something like this:

    1. Many T-Mobile accounts were setup with the last four digits of the SSN as a PIN. If through a data breach, they can get your SSN, they have been able to use that to port your number to a new SIM.

    2. Then with control of your number, they can request to reset your bank's password if the bank will send an SMS text to your phone number to verify the account.

    3. Then once the bank password is reset, they can transfer money out of your account.

    But the key thing is to add a new PIN to your account. If they can't port your number, they can't do the above.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. port to Total wireless, getting 'MEID' number is not valid
    By ButcheeyBoy in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2015, 02:13 PM
  2. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12-24-2010, 08:38 AM
  3. Could R520 / WAP problem be Port related?
    By dgorecki in forum Fido
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2001, 02:03 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-11-2001, 09:30 PM
  5. argh pls answer :) time port.
    By Sslithissik in forum Motorola
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2001, 05:05 AM

Bookmarks