Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Wifi calling on Cricket Galaxy S6?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,652
    Feedback Score
    0

    Wifi calling on Cricket Galaxy S6?

    I got a weird little notification tonight saying "Activate Wifi Calling?"

    I clicked it and it thought for a while then did nothing

    Now I can't find where to click the setting again

    Anyone know how/where?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    156
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    I got a weird little notification tonight saying "Activate Wifi Calling?"

    I clicked it and it thought for a while then did nothing

    Now I can't find where to click the setting again

    Anyone know how/where?
    Got the same message. Same thing happened.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,807
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    I got a weird little notification tonight saying "Activate Wifi Calling?" I clicked it and it thought for a while then did nothing Now I can't find where to click the setting again Anyone know how/where?
    you try looking in the wifi or call settings area ??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,652
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    you try looking in the wifi or call settings area ??
    yep I did and couldn't see anything about wifi calling

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,807
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    yep I did and couldn't see anything about wifi calling
    see here - https://www.cricketwireless.com/supp...le-phones.html

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,652
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    Thanks but I already saw that and looked in those places. You would note that the Galaxy S6 is not even listed on that page. So it is weird that we got this random prompt and then it didn't seem to do anything (it actually said to try again later) but I don't know how or where to try again later

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,652
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had the same alert pop up again this morning. Clicked it, it said "Loading" for awhile, then came back to say "Please try setting up Wifi Calling again later"

    Weird

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    221
    Feedback Score
    0
    Which model number of Galaxy S6 do you have?

    I'm curious if it allows free hotspot on Cricket (if it has no carrier tether provisioning).

    My friend has a Verizon Galaxy S6 Edge + (plus) 928V, and it allows hotspot to be used on Cricket without checking for permission with Cricket.

    I was thinking of picking up an AT&T variant in the S6 line
    Last edited by <<M>>; 02-01-2018 at 04:28 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,652
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by <<M>> View Post
    Which model number of Galaxy S6 do you have?

    I'm curious if it allows free hotspot on Cricket (if it has no carrier tether provisioning).

    My friend has a Verizon Galaxy S6 Edge + (plus) 928V, and it allows hotspot to be used on Cricket without checking for permission with Cricket.

    I was thinking of picking up an AT&T variant in the S6 line
    I have the G920AZ or whatever is the Cricket variant

    It was doing this again yesterday several times and each time it didn't actual do anything and just said to try again later.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    221
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hogan773 View Post
    I have the G920AZ or whatever is the Cricket variant

    It was doing this again yesterday several times and each time it didn't actual do anything and just said to try again later.
    Hi, just to clarify are you referring to wifi hotspot or to WiFi calling, my question was regarding WiFi hotspot..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    576
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by <<M>> View Post
    Hi, just to clarify are you referring to wifi hotspot or to WiFi calling, my question was regarding WiFi hotspot..
    Flash it to unlocked firmware should do the trick. I have never seen a Cricket phone tether natively without being provisioned as such. My wife's BYOD S8 will not tether with Cricket firmware but will with XAA. Same for my AT&T Note 8. It will with XAA. My Verizon E4 won't either, I have not looked into flashing it. Wasted time/feature on my kid and a throw away phone.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    221
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ls3mach View Post
    Flash it to unlocked firmware should do the trick. I have never seen a Cricket phone tether natively without being provisioned as such. My wife's BYOD S8 will not tether with Cricket firmware but will with XAA. Same for my AT&T Note 8. It will with XAA. My Verizon E4 won't either, I have not looked into flashing it. Wasted time/feature on my kid and a throw away phone.
    PM'ed you, so as not to take this thread too far off course, ha

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-18-2018, 12:59 PM
  2. Cricket Galaxy S6 b12 on T-Mobile?
    By alj96z in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-19-2017, 11:13 PM
  3. WiFi Calling on TMo Wing
    By phillyguerrilla in forum HTC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 05:08 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 09:32 PM
  5. 3way Calling On Cricket?
    By Z-Ro in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-23-2006, 01:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks