Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Cricket Pushing bad APN to Google Pixel XL?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    43
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket Pushing bad APN to Google Pixel XL?

    Has anyone had any experience with Cricket pushing out a bad/incomplete APN? I have seen some discussions on reddit but not a final solution. I have a google Pixel XL (first gen). I have an APN with MMS settings but after a reboot I get a new APN that is missing the MMS settings and my MMS stops working.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Chicago Area
    Posts
    572
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cricket Pushing bad APN to Google Pixel XL?

    iPhone user here, it seems that it’s an issue for lots of android phones and requires the user to add other apn that work. I’m sure you can do a search for other posts with similar issues and how to add an apn that works...

    Doubt it’s just cricket as a google search shows other carrier with similar problems.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    70
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Pixel 2 XL gets two APNs about monthly. One will have the correct settings. I have to go in and delete the APN with missing settings.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    262
    Feedback Score
    0
    Seems to be an issue specific to Pixel devices. Just have to nuke the bad APN every time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cajun Country
    Posts
    174
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can't get my Pixel XL to work for group messages OR picture messages. I'm running Oreo, version 8.1. What APN settings should I be using?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    262
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Louisiana84 View Post
    I can't get my Pixel XL to work for group messages OR picture messages. I'm running Oreo, version 8.1. What APN settings should I be using?
    Go into your APN settings, there will be two of them. Delete the one that is incomplete (missing info inside). Everything will start working.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NE Fla.
    Posts
    511
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T via Cricket Wireless, Verizon via RedPocket, Alachua County CCC via Motorola SmartZone
    Feedback Score
    0
    If the mmsc doesn't show http://mmsc.aiowireless.net and the proxy proxy.aiowirelesss.net then that's the one you want to delete.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1,341
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6, iPhone 5s,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cricket has been pushing bad APNs for some time now. I used to manage APN manually on my androids. I made the switch to iphone about 1 year ago. Problem solved.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NE Fla.
    Posts
    511
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T via Cricket Wireless, Verizon via RedPocket, Alachua County CCC via Motorola SmartZone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a Sony Xperia X Compact that I bought and started using in November. It received a configuration message the day I started using it. The configuration is correct, I didn't have to edit it and it hasn't had one "pushed" to it since. Same experience with my wife's Nexus 6p, one configuration message, configured correctly and nothing since. I have a Cricket SIM in a Nvidia Shield tablet I had to configure manually because it apparently never received a configuration message, and then an android based quasi-feature phone, a Sonim XP5700, that also had the correct APN pushed to it on first use about 2 years ago and never an issue since.

    My mom is on Net10 (AT&T), initially with a Samsung S5 Active that would never keep the right APN. We switched her to an iPhone SE and that problem went away. So it's not just Cricket...

    I'm at a loss to explain why the OP is getting new APNs pushed to him on every reboot. That's not how that is supposed to work.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    262
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by robertjglenn View Post
    I have a Sony Xperia X Compact that I bought and started using in November. It received a configuration message the day I started using it. The configuration is correct, I didn't have to edit it and it hasn't had one "pushed" to it since. Same experience with my wife's Nexus 6p, one configuration message, configured correctly and nothing since. I have a Cricket SIM in a Nvidia Shield tablet I had to configure manually because it apparently never received a configuration message, and then an android based quasi-feature phone, a Sonim XP5700, that also had the correct APN pushed to it on first use about 2 years ago and never an issue since.

    My mom is on Net10 (AT&T), initially with a Samsung S5 Active that would never keep the right APN. We switched her to an iPhone SE and that problem went away. So it's not just Cricket...

    I'm at a loss to explain why the OP is getting new APNs pushed to him on every reboot. That's not how that is supposed to work.
    It's not, yet that is what's happening with Pixel devices and Cricket.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    786
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwfreak View Post
    Cricket has been pushing bad APNs for some time now. I used to manage APN manually on my androids. I made the switch to iphone about 1 year ago. Problem solved.
    I've personally had Androids only on cricket and never had a bad APN.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    786
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by robertjglenn View Post
    I have a Sony Xperia X Compact that I bought and started using in November. It received a configuration message the day I started using it. The configuration is correct, I didn't have to edit it and it hasn't had one "pushed" to it since. Same experience with my wife's Nexus 6p, one configuration message, configured correctly and nothing since. I have a Cricket SIM in a Nvidia Shield tablet I had to configure manually because it apparently never received a configuration message, and then an android based quasi-feature phone, a Sonim XP5700, that also had the correct APN pushed to it on first use about 2 years ago and never an issue since.

    My mom is on Net10 (AT&T), initially with a Samsung S5 Active that would never keep the right APN. We switched her to an iPhone SE and that problem went away. So it's not just Cricket...

    I'm at a loss to explain why the OP is getting new APNs pushed to him on every reboot. That's not how that is supposed to work.
    It sounds like something with the pixel. Maybe they just need to edit the 2nd APN to be correct instead of deleting it and it'll stop pushing new ones.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NE Fla.
    Posts
    511
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T via Cricket Wireless, Verizon via RedPocket, Alachua County CCC via Motorola SmartZone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wrenhal View Post
    It sounds like something with the pixel. Maybe they just need to edit the 2nd APN to be correct instead of deleting it and it'll stop pushing new ones.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk
    Interesting since the Pixel and Nexus are closely related OSwise.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm glad I read this thread. I plugged a cricket sim into my wife's Google Pixel 2 XL a couple days ago, and yesterday she was complaining about not receiving MMS. Sure enough, 2 APNs. The first was incomplete, so I deleted it and everything seems to be working. If I see a 2nd APN again, I will enter the missing information and see if that sticks.

    thanks everyone

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    193
    Device(s)
    Pixel XL
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Same problem here, my Pixel XL (v1) running stock Android Oreo will not work with MMS. I started a thread last week on it here and changed my APN over but it won't work for very long. The APN gets discarded for the Cricket version they keep pushing. This is a recent issue, I never had a problem until recently.

    This is the thread we discussed it on:
    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...ads-won-t-work

    I don't know what to do now.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to Unlock TELUS GOOGLE PIXEL XL For Free
    By Express Unlocks in forum attunlockcode.com - Unlock Your Mobile With Any Carrier | Best Online Phone Codes | Fastest Response Time
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-01-2017, 06:33 PM
  2. Google Pixel XL Phone Nexus M1 LCD Screen Display with Digitizer Touch, Black
    By SSTparts.com in forum Cellphone Spare Parts & Repair Tools - LCD Digitizer Flex Cable from USA www.SSTparts.com
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-07-2016, 04:30 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-04-2016, 11:56 PM
  4. Google Pixel XL
    By hanks in forum Other Manufacturers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-31-2016, 09:58 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-27-2016, 07:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks