Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Red Pocket - Any issues if using an AT&T phone on AT&T Red Pocket? (Samsung S4)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    675
    Feedback Score
    0

    Red Pocket - Any issues if using an AT&T phone on AT&T Red Pocket? (Samsung S4)

    I am currently on Red Pocket Verizon and just put my mom's flip phone on Red Pocket Verizon as well.

    I'm on the $255.00 3gb Amazon plan and mom has the 500/500/500 Ebay Plan.

    I believe my sister might need more than 3gb data but not sure. She has no idea. She's on Straight Talk 45.00 plan now.

    I was considering buying a Red Pocket 30.00 monthly plan to let her try out the 3gb and see if that's enough for her and then maybe getting the year plan off Amazon but before doing that, I wanted to make sure AT&T phones work ok on Red Pocket.

    There for a time I was thinking to put her on Cricket but I don't want to have to deal with being in a group with strangers just to get her price at a good deal.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,094
    Feedback Score
    0
    was it bought through at&t? if it has carrier branding you could get it unlocked first. I'm not sure if it has changed much from a few years back, but it took 24-48hrs to get the unlock code and wasn't too difficult.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    675
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Qt0 View Post
    was it bought through at&t? if it has carrier branding you could get it unlocked first. I'm not sure if it has changed much from a few years back, but it took 24-48hrs to get the unlock code and wasn't too difficult.
    Thanks. Yes, it is AT&T branded. So in order to use it on Red Pocket AT&T, it has to be unlocked? I didn't know that.

    How do I unlock...go to AT&T website?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,144
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7+
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by diddlydudette View Post
    Thanks. Yes, it is AT&T branded. So in order to use it on Red Pocket AT&T, it has to be unlocked? I didn't know that.

    How do I unlock...go to AT&T website?
    Shouldn't have to unlock it before use but if you can, it will give you more flexibility in the future. ATT easier with MVNOs than Verizon.
    Overly complicated cell phone service. Unlimited with iPhone X. Low cost plan on other national network with iPhone 7+. And a real cheap pay per use plan for "home number" with Moto E4. Combination of best chance for coverage when traveling, and a home replacement number to give out when I don't want to give out my primary cell phone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,619
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by diddlydudette View Post
    I am currently on Red Pocket Verizon and just put my mom's flip phone on Red Pocket Verizon as well.

    I'm on the $255.00 3gb Amazon plan and mom has the 500/500/500 Ebay Plan.

    I believe my sister might need more than 3gb data but not sure. She has no idea. She's on Straight Talk 45.00 plan now.

    I was considering buying a Red Pocket 30.00 monthly plan to let her try out the 3gb and see if that's enough for her and then maybe getting the year plan off Amazon but before doing that, I wanted to make sure AT&T phones work ok on Red Pocket.

    There for a time I was thinking to put her on Cricket but I don't want to have to deal with being in a group with strangers just to get her price at a good deal.

    Thanks.
    Testing on the monthly $30 RP plan is a good idea, and maybe even 2 months, just to make sure.

    AT&T Red Pocket works fine, except on iPhones, where traditional MMS doesn't work, which is the same as H2O. and also Airvoice, as I understand it.

    If the Red Pocket 3GB plan isn't enough, I might suggest the PureTalkUSA 5GB plan for $35/mo.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    0
    My 2 ATT phones went right on to Red Pocket ATT with no unlock required

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    675
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by USMCSSGT View Post
    My 2 ATT phones went right on to Red Pocket ATT with no unlock required
    Thanks. I have the phone IMEI #. Is there a way to unlock online easily. As long as it's a AT&T phone, would it really need to be unlocked to work on ATT network again? It's working fine on Straight Talk so shouldn't it work fine on Red Pocket?

    Rep gave me this info:

    As long as your device is GSM unlocked, it can be activated in any of our GSM networks. You may choose from GSMA or GSMT. GSMA has the widest coverage while GSMT has the fastest LTE network.

    I got to thinking about the RP 30.00 monthly plan, it's not capped so she'll be able to keep going but on 2gb if past the 3gb. How accurate is it to look online in her RP account and see how much data she is using? If that is accurate it would give me a good idea of what she needs.

    As far as her usage data, she gave me an idea of how she uses her phone:

    Maybe 1 hour for 5 days a week she may listen to music on her phone while exercising.
    She doesn't watch movies or stream on her phone.
    She might look at Facebook a few times during the day.
    She'll send emails but maybe 10 a day if that much and maybe a pic in email every so often.
    Texts
    She might send 5 pics in a week over the phone if not on wifi or she may send 10 or she may not send any that week.
    She might look at a youtube here and there.

    Y'all think 3gb might be ok? Am I being realistic that amount of data might work?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,619
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by diddlydudette View Post
    Thanks. I have the phone IMEI #. Is there a way to unlock online easily. As long as it's a AT&T phone, would it really need to be unlocked to work on ATT network again? It's working fine on Straight Talk so shouldn't it work fine on Red Pocket?

    Rep gave me this info:

    As long as your device is GSM unlocked, it can be activated in any of our GSM networks. You may choose from GSMA or GSMT. GSMA has the widest coverage while GSMT has the fastest LTE network.

    I got to thinking about the RP 30.00 monthly plan, it's not capped so she'll be able to keep going but on 2gb if past the 3gb. How accurate is it to look online in her RP account and see how much data she is using? If that is accurate it would give me a good idea of what she needs.

    As far as her usage data, she gave me an idea of how she uses her phone:

    Maybe 1 hour for 5 days a week she may listen to music on her phone while exercising.
    She doesn't watch movies or stream on her phone.
    She might look at Facebook a few times during the day.
    She'll send emails but maybe 10 a day if that much and maybe a pic in email every so often.
    Texts
    She might send 5 pics in a week over the phone if not on wifi or she may send 10 or she may not send any that week.
    She might look at a youtube here and there.

    Y'all think 3gb might be ok? Am I being realistic that amount of data might work?
    Your sister's AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 should work fine on Red Pocket AT&T without being unlocked.

    Yes, the RP 3GB $30 monthly plan has unlimited slow data after the 3GB is used up.

    But explain to her that if she can keep her usage under 3GB/mo, she could save a lot of money over a year by buying the Amazon $255, 360 day plan.

    Based on the usage she described to you, 3GB/mo should be enough.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    675
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Your sister's AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 should work fine on Red Pocket AT&T without being unlocked.

    Yes, the RP 3GB $30 monthly plan has unlimited slow data after the 3GB is used up.

    But explain to her that if she can keep her usage under 3GB/mo, she could save a lot of money over a year by buying the Amazon $255, 360 day plan.

    Based on the usage she described to you, 3GB/mo should be enough.
    Thanks for the quick response.

    I did find this online so I think you are right as far as 3gb will probably be enough:

    Medium data user- 'I need it for my email, social media and for entertainment’

    You download email daily to your phone, via an on-board or downloadable email client such as Gmail.

    You spend quite a bit of time browsing the internet, and download a few games or applications a month.

    You like to watch video on online streaming sites such as YouTube every so often and perhaps download a few songs now and then too.

    Sound familiar? That means you're classified as a medium data user. You'll require a data allowance of 3GB per month at least.


    I think I'll go ahead and present her options then. I just wanted to make 100% sure RP and her phone would work, etc.

    Thanks Boz for confirming!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    Facetime over cellular on Red Pocket GSMA

    I was not able to use facetime over cellular. After repeated emails with Red Pocket customer service, I was told that Facetime on GSMA is Restricted to Wifi only. I was not able to get an answer if Facetime is also restricted if using Verizon network.
    Anyone else has a problem on using facetime over cellular at Red Poket

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,144
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7+
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hudson12 View Post
    I was not able to use facetime over cellular. After repeated emails with Red Pocket customer service, I was told that Facetime on GSMA is Restricted to Wifi only. I was not able to get an answer if Facetime is also restricted if using Verizon network.
    Anyone else has a problem on using facetime over cellular at Red Poket
    RP Verizon. I was able to make a call between my 7+ (on RP Verizon) and X (ATT Postpaid).

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    9,619
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hudson12 View Post
    I was not able to use facetime over cellular. After repeated emails with Red Pocket customer service, I was told that Facetime on GSMA is Restricted to Wifi only. I was not able to get an answer if Facetime is also restricted if using Verizon network.
    Anyone else has a problem on using facetime over cellular at Red Poket
    Cellular data should be cellular data. In other words, I would be surprised if there was something with RP preventing FaceTime from working...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,579
    Device(s)
    Tin cans and a string
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    What about using a vpn through mobile data? That would show if the blockage is on RP's side or elsewhere. As far as the app is concerned when going through the vpn, all data (including dns and everything else) should appear to be coming from the vpn's IP, not att/RP.

    Have you tried accessing it through a freedompop lte sim? Results?

    I can't recall any app I use on android that only works over the vpn.

    Are there any errors or it just fails to connect and times out?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    628
    Carrier(s)
    VZW - Work / T-Mobile (iPhone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hudson12 View Post
    I was not able to use facetime over cellular. After repeated emails with Red Pocket customer service, I was told that Facetime on GSMA is Restricted to Wifi only. I was not able to get an answer if Facetime is also restricted if using Verizon network.
    Anyone else has a problem on using facetime over cellular at Red Poket
    When FaceTime first came out, AT&T blocked it over cellular. This was when their network was getting clobbered with iPhone data usage (about 9-10 years ago). They subsequently allowed FaceTime over cellular to their subscribers, but I think this is another setting in the carrier profile, like MMS. So it’s entirely possible this is still restricted for the AT&T MVNOs (at least some of them)...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,068
    Feedback Score
    0
    Facetime over Cellular is permitted by Apple only for providers listed for the feature at

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204039

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can i use an AT&T unlocked phone on Sprint or Verizon Network?
    By attphoneunlock in forum ATTPhoneUnlockingShop.us - Specialists in unlocking any mobile phone on AT&T network
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2014, 05:35 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2013, 09:21 PM
  3. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-17-2012, 08:22 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-14-2012, 04:43 PM
  5. Will there any issues if my friend picks up an E71 for me?
    By brownnugen in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 12:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks