Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Anyone still successfully receiving AT&T's "4G"?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    8
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S4, HP Veer, HP Pre3
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0

    Anyone still successfully receiving AT&T's "4G"?

    I have an HP Veer that's actually been on T-Mo for a while now, but I've recently lost the H+ icon for the big E only. I've asked in the t-mo subgroup for input on that change.

    But my question to this subgroup is,

    Is anyone over here still receiving H+, from either AT&T directly or through an MVNO?

    All i can find anymore is LTE ads, so I'm a little hesitant to sign it up anywhere without confirmation from a satisfied user.

    Thanks for any direction to an H+ service provider for this fun little device, if i have to switch.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2,236
    Device(s)
    iPhone X, GS8 Active
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes. My car that runs on AT&T drops down to HSPA+ all the time.

    Sent from my PH-1 using HoFo mobile app

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,629
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus 128 GB
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CircuitSwitched View Post
    Yes. My car that runs on AT&T drops down to HSPA+ all the time.

    Sent from my PH-1 using HoFo mobile app
    Ditto for my iPhone on AT&T Postpaid.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    528
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus, iPad (5th Gen)
    Carrier(s)
    310-150, 310-260
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yep - there's a few LTE dead spots where I live and my iPhone goes back to "4G" (I can also turn off LTE and receive it), as well as the DAS that AT&T installed at work.

    I think T-Mobile is refarming a lot of their 3G/4G spectrum into LTE in a lot of areas, leaving a very minimal amount of 2G/EDGE available for legacy IoT and old devices. That might be what you're seeing in your area on the HP...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    576
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8
    Feedback Score
    0
    4G is alive and well here in the Tampa Bay area. In the speed testing that I have done I have seen results between 3-15 down. As the other poster above mentioned T-Mobile is in the process of taking a lot of their 4G that is on 1900 MHz and converting it to LTE. I know our area for example was converted last fall. AT&T has mentioned nothing about converting or shutting it down and I have noticed new towers that came online as recently as last December have had it added to them so it looks like it will be good for the foreseeable future.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3,391
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by webOSfan View Post
    ...Thanks for any direction to an H+ service provider for this fun little device, if i have to switch.
    Any service provider that uses AT&T. Freedompop works if you want to try something for free*. FP is not real cell service for voice and text. It works using data with their app. Data is data. It works fine.

    *Free, but requires a $5 deposit to get to free.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,550
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    4G working fine here on cricket. Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1518453806.273751.jpg
Views: 650
Size:  30.8 KB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    8
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S4, HP Veer, HP Pre3
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks all for the prompt response. I'm glad to hear going back to ATT's network is an option to keep this little old phone connected.

    But unless FreedomPop makes an app for WebOS, that's probably not an option for this device.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3,391
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by webOSfan View Post
    Thanks all for the prompt response. I'm glad to hear going back to ATT's network is an option to keep this little old phone connected.

    But unless FreedomPop makes an app for WebOS, that's probably not an option for this device.
    No app for WebOS. An app is not needed for data, assuming you can set an APN.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Greater Hartford, CT
    Posts
    12,230
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus Grey 128Gb
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0

    Anyone still successfully receiving AT&T's "4G"?

    I think AT&T is gradually refarming 4G spectrum to LTE. But I can see UMTS sticking around for the foreseeable future.
    Last edited by DRC72; 02-12-2018 at 05:31 PM.
    Hartford, CT Area

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,280
    Device(s)
    iPhone X 256 GB Space Gray, iPad Pro 10.5 256 GB, Galaxy S8+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    AT&T likely refarmed all PCS spectrum to LTE, leaving all UMTS on 850 MHz... which your old T-Mobile phone doesn’t support.

    B2+B66+B30+B5 (20 MHz + 10 MHz + 10 MHz + 5 MHz)
    Minneapolis, MN

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    8
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S4, HP Veer, HP Pre3
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    No app for WebOS. An app is not needed for data, assuming you can set an APN.
    Yes, yes i can! Maybe this freedompop is worth investigating. I can set all apn settings on this device.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    9,621
    Device(s)
    Samsung GS9
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    Yep. 15 FWY north between San Bernardino and Vegas still has big pockets of AT&T 4GHSPA service. Verified this on Saturday.
    “The Internet wasn’t meant to be metered in bits and bytes, so it’s insane that wireless companies are still making you buy it this way. The rate plan is dead — it’s a fossil from a time when wireless was metered by every call or text.” John Legere 1/5/2017

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Western MA
    Posts
    1,593
    Device(s)
    LG G3/G2/XCharge, Moto E4/E2/G4 Play
    Carrier(s)
    H2O, PagePlus, TracFone, Tello, TMO, Xfinity
    Feedback Score
    0
    Since AT&T Prepaid and most MVNOs (except Cricket) still cannot use VoLTE, voice calls still need 3G. As jakeuten said, most of it has been moved to 850 Mhz (where AT&T has that). TMO doesn't need 3G/4G much anymore, because all their MVNOs and most of their phones are capable of, and allowed to use, VoLTE.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    535
    Feedback Score
    0

    Anyone still successfully receiving AT&T's "4G"?

    My work phone is AT&T and they have tons of “4G” HSPA+. I see more if that than LTE where I live and work. So they definitely have a lot of it and seem to rely on it quite a bit.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 66
    Last Post: 10-20-2007, 09:44 PM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-08-2005, 07:29 PM
  3. Anyone still using a Nokia 8260 TDMA AT&T?
    By bluesman78 in forum Nokia
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-17-2005, 09:40 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-19-2004, 08:50 AM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-20-2003, 01:01 PM

Bookmarks