Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Virgin Mobile to Boost Mobile?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    DC-MD-VA
    Posts
    679
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Peter Adderton, founder and former CEO of Boost Mobile, has said that the T-Mobile and Sprint merger shouldn’t be allowed to happen unless Boost Mobile and/or MetroPCS are spun off.

    https://www.tmonews.com/2018/05/boos...-sprint-merge/

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    338
    Device(s)
    LG K3
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by AnciusD View Post
    Boost Mobile and/or MetroPCS are spun off.
    I think he was safe with that "and/or" as they are very unlikely to spin off MetroPCS. He would simply get what he wants which is control of Boost Mobile again
    LG K3 on Virgin Mobile ($20 a month Walmart Plan)
    2 Samsung SCH-u410™ w/Verizon Prepaid ($5 month & $15 month grandfathered plans)

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3,068
    Carrier(s)
    Metro / T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by PacoMartin View Post
    I think he was safe with that "and/or" as they are very unlikely to spin off MetroPCS. He would simply get what he wants which is control of Boost Mobile again
    My question to him would be; which network would the spun-off Boost decide to use? Tmo will likely dismantle the CDMA network. Anyone staying with the "spun off" Boost would probably need to buy a new phone. Also, they may end up on the New Tmo network anyway.

    I highly doubt that Boost will be allowed to go it's own way. And, even if it does, I doubt it will be competitive or survive for long on its own.

    Sent from my Z982 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    338
    Device(s)
    LG K3
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by PacoMartin View Post
    AT&T just introduced $65 ($55 with autopay) unlimited data, video at 1.5 mbps (480p), data subject to deprioritization at all times if the network is congested. Unlimited calls to Mexico and Canada. Unlimited voice and messaging and high speed data roaming in Mexico and Canada. Hotspot NOT available.

    That makes Virgin Mobile Android $5 more than a major player like AT&T
    Virgin Mobile is getting more and more uncompetitive.

    AT&T is introduced a $70 ($65 with autopay) unlimited data, video at 1.5 mbps (480p) that includes unlimited WatchTV which is 30 channels anchored by CNN, TNT,TBS, TNT, TCM and three dozen other channels.

    Virgin Mobile Android has not budged in two years, and they still want $60 for unlimited data with no hotspot.
    At the very least they should include the Boost TV for the $60.

    Live Channels
    ABC News Digital Live news and other programming.
    Bloomberg Television
    Euro News
    Outside TV

    On Demand Channels
    ABC News Now
    Euro News
    Outside Television

    A&E Popular entertainment channels for the whole family.
    ABC Mobile
    Animal Planet
    Discovery
    Disney
    Disney XD
    ESPN On Demand
    Free Form
    FYI
    History
    Investigation Discovery
    Lifetime
    Science
    VH1

  5. #20
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    806
    Carrier(s)
    Metro by T-Mobile, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    My family still has one member on VM with an S7. We have been waiting out the 1 year to be able to unlock it so we can move it to another service. Would unlocking yours allow you to use it on Boost (even though I realize it shouldn't be necessary)?

    Alternately, you can look at the many other companies and their offerings (like the At&T plan mentioned above) to see where else you can use an unlocked S7. We are going to add ours to a family plan on Metro - totally unlimited for an additional $25 to the plan, rather than almost $40 including taxes for 5 GB from Virgin Mobile. It's a good time to shop around.

    Sent from my LG-H830 using HoFo mobile app

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,606
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by aml1025 View Post
    My family still has one member on VM with an S7. We have been waiting out the 1 year to be able to unlock it so we can move it to another service. Would unlocking yours allow you to use it on Boost (even though I realize it shouldn't be necessary)?

    Alternately, you can look at the many other companies and their offerings (like the At&T plan mentioned above) to see where else you can use an unlocked S7. We are going to add ours to a family plan on Metro - totally unlimited for an additional $25 to the plan, rather than almost $40 including taxes for 5 GB from Virgin Mobile. It's a good time to shop around.

    Sent from my LG-H830 using HoFo mobile app
    See posts 1&2 on page 1of this thread

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    94
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Excuse my ignorance but how do I unlock my VM S7 phone?

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,606
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by gemstone View Post
    Excuse my ignorance but how do I unlock my VM S7 phone?
    How long has it been active on VM ??
    The minimum is 1 year with VM

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    94
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    How long has it been active on VM ??
    The minimum is 1 year with VM
    It's over 1 year.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,606
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Quote Originally Posted by gemstone View Post
    It's over 1 year.
    Try contacting VM.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    vBActivity - Stats
    vBActivity - Bars
    Has the FED status been checked?

    If it’s clean then there should be no reason why once the device is showing as inactive that it can’t be used on another Sprint MVNO.

    Easiest way to check FED status is via ting.com/byod.



    Quote Originally Posted by gemstone View Post
    It's over 1 year.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Virgin Mobile to Boost Mobile switch?
    By gemstone in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-10-2017, 05:36 PM
  2. How to switch from Virgin Mobile to Boost Mobile
    By gemstone in forum Boost Mobile
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-28-2015, 03:37 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-22-2014, 10:25 PM
  4. Moving from Virgin Mobile to Boost :)
    By qipengart in forum Boost Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 06:30 PM
  5. Porting from Virgin Mobile to Boost
    By martafreedman in forum Boost Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 09:10 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks