Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Would a dual sim phone work?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    399
    Feedback Score
    0

    Would a dual sim phone work?

    We were on a road trip into a rather remote area. I had no phone or internet service on ATT with my Tracfone. My guess this area was covered by Verizon as the place we were going had phone service and internet. I did not ask them who their service provider was. I'm not real familiar with dual sims. If I would have had a dual sim phone would I have been able to have an ATT sim and a Verizon sim and be able to switch between the two based on whatever service was available?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm not aware of any dual-sim phones that work with Verizon. You could always carry two separate phones with two different numbers - or you could port your mobile phone number to Google Voice and have calls directed to multiple phones including your AT&T and Verizon phones when your Google Voice number is dialed

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,626
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    I'm not aware of any dual-sim phones that work with Verizon. You could always carry two separate phones with two different numbers
    You can carry an unlocked VZ Moto E4 and two SIMS (one CDMA and one GSM).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    If I was driving and someone needed to reach me at a moments notice, musical SIMs wouldn't work.

    I guess it depends one's situation and whether they just want to invest in a second phone as a backup and avoid musical SIMs.

    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    You can carry an unlocked VZ Moto E4 and two SIMS (one CDMA and one GSM).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,479
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by haymeadowfield View Post
    We were on a road trip into a rather remote area. I had no phone or internet service on ATT with my Tracfone. My guess this area was covered by Verizon as the place we were going had phone service and internet. I did not ask them who their service provider was. I'm not real familiar with dual sims. If I would have had a dual sim phone would I have been able to have an ATT sim and a Verizon sim and be able to switch between the two based on whatever service was available?
    The dual SIM Axon 7 phone reportedly works on Vzw, and most/all GSM networks.

    To use a Vzw SIM in an Axon 7, it would have to be activated with a Vzw whitelisted device and then swapped into the Axon 7.

    Before you buy an Axon 7, do research to make sure what I've described is accurate and/or has not changed recently.

    Good luck!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    434
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    The dual SIM Axon 7 phone reportedly works on Vzw, and most/all GSM networks.

    To use a Vzw SIM in an Axon 7, it would have to be activated with a Vzw whitelisted device and then swapped into the Axon 7.

    Before you buy an Axon 7, do research to make sure what I've described is accurate and/or has not changed recently.

    Good luck!
    I can confirm that what Boz1 says is correct.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    The Axon 7 is nice, but pricey
    https://www.zteusa.com/axon-7

    I wonder if they still make them. Discontinued on B&H Photo website and I didn't bother looking too hard elsewhere.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,174
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Even if your carrier can enable the dual SIM phone, you can only use one phone # at a time, not both simultaneously.
    Don't make me turn this car around.....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,278
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good short article on use of dual SIM phones.

    https://www.digitalcitizen.life/simp...w-does-it-work

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good information. I wonder what type of dual-sim the Axon 7 is? Could find the answer with a brief Google search.

    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Good short article on use of dual SIM phones.

    https://www.digitalcitizen.life/simp...w-does-it-work

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,278
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    The Axon 7 is nice, but pricey
    https://www.zteusa.com/axon-7

    I wonder if they still make them. Discontinued on B&H Photo website and I didn't bother looking too hard elsewhere.
    The Axon 7 is an out of production model. Current prices for new ones vary a lot. Still not known if you can use both a GSM and CDMA SIM. It seems to have all the radios for either. It's successor will be the Axon 9, but no details yet.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,278
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    Good information. I wonder what type of dual-sim the Axon 7 is? Could find the answer with a brief Google search.
    Dual Standby from references I saw. Most common type as stated in the article.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    399
    Feedback Score
    0
    There are a number of Axon 7 mini available on ebay new and used but reviews are not real good on the mini.
    I read the article also and it sounds like more people are wanting this technology.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,428
    Device(s)
    Moto X PE, Moto G4P, LG Volt
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/Verizon, Freedompop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by haymeadowfield View Post
    There are a number of Axon 7 mini available on ebay new and used but reviews are not real good on the mini.
    I read the article also and it sounds like more people are wanting this technology.
    I'm pretty sure the Axon 7 mini does NOT support CDMA.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    399
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just came across some info on gsmarena.com 2g is CDMA and 4g is LTE. Also phone is dual stand by. WE seldom get into areas with no ATT coverage. I think I can live with that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Any dual sim phones work on Wind?
    By beachlover333 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-05-2015, 04:11 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2013, 04:57 PM
  3. Would Samsung B7722 Dual Sim Phone work with FIDO and PC-Mobile (Canadian carriers)?
    By N.Stewart in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 01:55 PM
  4. Would a dual band phone work with tmo?
    By JohnnyVolcano in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 09:37 PM
  5. Would a Dual band phone work on ROGERS?
    By C09 in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2002, 03:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks