Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 106

Thread: New CDMA Tracfone - Roaming Indicator On

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0

    New CDMA Tracfone - Roaming Indicator On

    I just transferred service to a new LG Rebel Tracfone and there's a triangle in the notification area showing that roaming is active. Android also shows "Roaming Indicator On" on the lock screen. This is a CDMA phone and should be using Verizon. The SIM number starts with 891480 and the model number LGL44VL ends in VL, which appear to confirm Verizon. I have Data Roaming turned off in settings, and Mobile Data is also off. So I don't understand where the roaming is coming from. I have two other CDMA Tracfones that never indicated they were roaming in this area (near Canton, Ohio). Verizon signal strength is generally two bars here. I believe Sprint would be the only other CDMA network in this area.

    Also, in settings under About Phone - Network - Service State, it says "not roaming".

    Could this roaming indicator be an aberration from Verizon? Is there a way to tell if the phone is in-fact roaming? Do I care if the phone thinks it's roaming?

    Thanks in advance to anyone with some knowledge....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    7,626
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, Moto E5, LG G6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's interesting, because supposedly a smartphone using Tracfone service does not roam. If there's no native Verizon tower in an area, you just flat don't have cell service.

    There are some apps that can tell which tower the phone is using but I don't know much about them. Perhaps someone else will chime in.

    A long time ago, TF deducts 2x airtime when a phone is roaming, but it hasn't been that way for at least 10 years. As long as your phone is working and the units being deducted match your actual usage, I wouldn't worry about it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    That's interesting, because supposedly a smartphone using Tracfone service does not roam.
    That's what my research turned up as well, causing me to think that the indicator might be an aberration generated by Verizon and not Tracfone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,135
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ultrawolf View Post
    That's what my research turned up as well, causing me to think that the indicator might be an aberration generated by Verizon and not Tracfone.
    did you try restarting the phone to see if the roaming indicator shows back up ??
    can you make / receive calls with the roaming indicator on ??
    it may be a fluke in the software, see if there's any software updates for your phone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    did you try restarting the phone to see if the roaming indicator shows back up ?? - Yes, indicator comes back.
    can you make / receive calls with the roaming indicator on ?? - Yes, no problem with calls.
    it may be a fluke in the software, see if there's any software updates for your phone. - Checked, no updates available from LG.

    Is there a such thing as updating a PRL (preferred roaming list) on a Tracfone?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,702
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ultrawolf View Post
    ...Is there a such thing as updating a PRL (preferred roaming list) on a Tracfone?
    I don't see update on my Verizon Galaxy S4. The PRL is displayed, but I don't see any way to update it.

    This is more likely to be a Verizon thing rather than Tracfone.

    My Sprint phones have PRL update.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    A long time ago, TF deducts 2x airtime when a phone is roaming, but it hasn't been that way for at least 10 years. As long as your phone is working and the units being deducted match your actual usage, I wouldn't worry about it.
    A 51 second call was deducted as 1 minute, so I'm good there. It does not appear that the roaming indication is affecting my service.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is no user PRL update method with CDMA LTE phones with any carrier.

    Quote Originally Posted by ultrawolf View Post
    ....

    Is there a such thing as updating a PRL (preferred roaming list) on a Tracfone?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't see a roaming icon in the User's Guide. Did I miss it?

    https://s3.amazonaws.com/tpassets.de...N_ES_Final.pdf

    Can you post a screeshot which shows the icon?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    4,702
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    There is no user PRL update method with CDMA LTE phones with any carrier.
    If you mean on Tracfone, because Tracfone does not use Sprint as a carrier, that is true.

    My CDMA LTE Sprint phones all have Update PRL and Update Profile - Galaxy S3, Mach, Viper. Of course they are not used with Tracfone.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    Didn't know Sprint has that for LTE. Verizon does not have a manual option for LTE - it's automatically done.

    Quote Originally Posted by bobdevnul View Post
    If you mean on Tracfone, because Tracfone does not use Sprint as a carrier, that is true.

    My CDMA LTE Sprint phones all have Update PRL and Update Profile - Galaxy S3, Mach, Viper. Of course they are not used with Tracfone.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,492
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ultrawolf View Post
    did you try restarting the phone to see if the roaming indicator shows back up ?? - Yes, indicator comes back.
    can you make / receive calls with the roaming indicator on ?? - Yes, no problem with calls.
    it may be a fluke in the software, see if there's any software updates for your phone. - Checked, no updates available from LG.

    Is there a such thing as updating a PRL (preferred roaming list) on a Tracfone?
    In the early stage of allowing smartphones on TF, part of the activation process for CDMA phones was dialing *22890 for activation and, sometimes *22891 to update the PRL. That hasn't been required for a long time. You could try *22890/1 but it should not be required and might even mess things up.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,221
    Feedback Score
    0
    That because the source that propagated doing this just blindly followed the pre-4G way of doing activations. There were even some isolated CDMA LTE phones that got messed up after doing these unnecessary codes based on reports posted.

    Quote Originally Posted by cv91913 View Post
    In the early stage of allowing smartphones on TF, part of the activation process for CDMA phones was dialing *22890 for activation and, sometimes *22891 to update the PRL. That hasn't been required for a long time. You could try *22890/1 but it should not be required and might even mess things up.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    Can you post a screeshot which shows the icon?
    Here's a poor man's screen shot of the upper half of the lock screen (pressing power and vol-down didn't work for screen grab). It's the open triangle next to the wifi strength. I'm downloading an offline map for Here Maps so that's what the 55% status is for. Also note the "Roaming Indicator On" message on the lock screen.

    Name:  Roaming.jpg
Views: 2681
Size:  36.9 KB

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tfusr19 View Post
    I don't see a roaming icon in the User's Guide. Did I miss it?
    You didn't miss it. It's not shown in the manual downloaded here either: http://www.lg.com/us/support-mobile/lg-LGL44VL

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Roaming Indicator on Generic V600
    By amg212 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-16-2005, 04:55 PM
  2. Roaming Indicators on Nokia 3595
    By scott2020 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2004, 09:07 AM
  3. Roaming Indicator on Unbranded V600
    By amg212 in forum Motorola
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-17-2004, 03:29 PM
  4. roaming indicators on the T616
    By tally in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2003, 05:48 AM
  5. Roaming indicator on t720
    By drago in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2003, 04:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks