Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Tracfone Alcatel Raven on lycamobile?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0

    Tracfone Alcatel Raven on lycamobile?

    I have a month old Tracfone Alcatel Raven and want to use it with Lycamobile (or Three) for an upcoming trip to Europe. I have a sim for Lycamobile but it comes up as an invalid sim. Is this phone locked to tracfone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,203
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, all TracFones are locked. You can find the TracFone Unlocking Policy on their website, but I don't believe anyone has been successful at getting one unlocked yet .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, didn't know that. Any opinion on what is the best option for a cheap phone to use with Lycamobile and/ or Three?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,203
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't, but maybe others here do. Try their websites too.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cascade1911 View Post
    Thanks, didn't know that. Any opinion on what is the best option for a cheap phone to use with Lycamobile and/ or Three?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,980
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cascade1911 View Post
    Any opinion on what is the best option for a cheap phone to use with Lycamobile ?
    I clicked on "Use your own phone" on Lycamobile web site to see what kinds of phones are compatible but couldn't get the page to load.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,203
    Feedback Score
    0
    See this link for some good information on Lycamobile including BYOD device requirements
    https://www.prepaidphonenews.com/201...obile.html?m=0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10,016
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cascade1911 View Post
    Thanks, didn't know that. Any opinion on what is the best option for a cheap phone to use with Lycamobile and/ or Three?
    For Lycamobile, any unlocked phone that supports the T-Mo bands and frequencies will work.

    There are a number of unlocked models of Blu or other similar brand phones that support most/all T-Mo and AT&T bands and frequencies will do the job, probably starting at ~$50.

    If you're using Three in the US, the same phone will work.
    Vzw-$9.99/mo+$0.25/min 1999-2001
    PagePlus-2001-2015
    LycaMobile-v1 2013-2016
    Selectel-2013-2015
    Puppy-2014
    Tracfone-2015-2016
    TruPhone-2015-
    Red Pocket-2016-2017
    Piranha-2016-
    FreedomPop-GSM 2016-
    T-Mo-Data 2017-

    Ericsson AF738 Jul01-Dec03
    Qualcomm QCP 2760 Dec03-Feb08
    LG VX-8600 Feb08-Apr10
    Samsung Omnia SCH-i910 Apr10-Nov11
    HTC Droid Inc ADR6300 (CM7.2) Nov11-Jun13
    HTC Droid Inc 2 ADR6350 (CM7.2) Jun13-May15
    LG G2 VS980 (Rooted) May15-Apr17
    LG Phoenix 2 Mar17-

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually looking to use in Europe (Baltic) but would like to test in US.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,609
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S6, Moto E LTE, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cascade1911 View Post
    Actually looking to use in Europe (Baltic) but would like to test in US.
    You need to be sure any phone you buy supports the bands used in the countries you will be visiting. Many cheap US market phones only support US bands.

    FrequencyCheck - Mobile Network Compatibility Search for Unlocked Phones and Devices is a good site for checking compatibility.

    The unlocked Motorola Moto E4 is probably the best relatively inexpensive phone that works well in most coutries.
    My site: PrepaidPhoneNews.com My other sites: wapreview.com, boostapps.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    54
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm seeing unlocked e4's for about $130. Is that about right? At that money I might as well just pay Verizons $10/ day.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,203
    Feedback Score
    0
    People were paying $40 for the Verizon Prepaid version, then a few bucks to an eBay unlocker to unlock them. Apparently that's not possible now:
    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...900929-Moto-E4

    Quote Originally Posted by Cascade1911 View Post
    I'm seeing unlocked e4's for about $130. Is that about right? At that money I might as well just pay Verizons $10/ day.
    Cheers!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,609
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S6, Moto E LTE, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cascade1911 View Post
    I'm seeing unlocked e4's for about $130. Is that about right? At that money I might as well just pay Verizons $10/ day.
    $129.99 is the list price for a new unlocked E4. Discounts and sales on this phone are few and far between.

    Any phone that works with Verizon postpaid ($10/day international is a postpaid only deal) should already be unlocked and work abroad with a local SIM at least as well as it will with a Verizon SIM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    4,846
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    You need to be sure any phone you buy supports the bands used in the countries you will be visiting. Many cheap US market phones only support US bands.
    Good point. Some of what you see on the Lycamobile US website for phone compatibility is useless for International travel. Especially LTE.

    http://www.lycamobile.us/lycamobile-...-compatibility

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10,016
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    You need to be sure any phone you buy supports the bands used in the countries you will be visiting. Many cheap US market phones only support US bands.

    FrequencyCheck - Mobile Network Compatibility Search for Unlocked Phones and Devices is a good site for checking compatibility.

    The unlocked Motorola Moto E4 is probably the best relatively inexpensive phone that works well in most coutries.
    That's a really good point. As you mentioned, Cascade1911 needs to check https://www.frequencycheck.com/ to see what frequencies/bands are used by the cellular networks in the areas they will be visiting, and pick a phone that supports those frequencies/bands.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    4,846
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    That's a really good point. As you mentioned, Cascade1911 needs to check https://www.frequencycheck.com/ to see what frequencies/bands are used by the cellular networks in the areas they will be visiting, and pick a phone that supports those frequencies/bands.
    B&H has a good easy to use list of international carriers and their frequencies.
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/FrameWo...eFormatted.pdf

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 171
    Last Post: 12-09-2016, 01:53 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-19-2015, 08:23 PM
  3. Help disabling alarm on Tracfone Alcatel A382G (BIG EASY)
    By mimiindiana in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-22-2013, 06:57 AM
  4. Tracfone minutes purchased on EBay: Question?
    By Affiliated in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 11:52 AM
  5. TracFone Nokia 2285 on Verizon?
    By explordawg in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-15-2004, 11:04 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks