Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Band 30 and Band 66 on my Galaxy S9 in New Mexico

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    80
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Band 30 and Band 66 on my Galaxy S9 in New Mexico

    My old phone (Moto X Pure Edition) would camp out on Band 2, Band 4 and Band 17 in Albuquerque and the surrounding area the most. Once I switched to a Galaxy S9, it now hangs out on Band 30 and Band 66. My question is, why would it connect to Band 30 and 66 if they have worse signal than I had on my Moto X on Band 2, 4, and 17? I didn't even know AT&T supported Band 66.

    Thanks guys, this is a great forum.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Oklahoma City/Kansas City
    Posts
    1,043
    Device(s)
    iP7, GS8, Galaxy Tab S3, iPad mini 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    My old phone (Moto X Pure Edition) would camp out on Band 2, Band 4 and Band 17 in Albuquerque and the surrounding area the most. Once I switched to a Galaxy S9, it now hangs out on Band 30 and Band 66. My question is, why would it connect to Band 30 and 66 if they have worse signal than I had on my Moto X on Band 2, 4, and 17? I didn't even know AT&T supported Band 66.

    Thanks guys, this is a great forum.
    AT&T is currently having issues with load balancing on Band 30 across the country. I’m literally always connected to it, when it’s available. Network Engineers are currently working on a fix for this issue.

    Regarding Band 66- are you seeing true Band 66 or Band 4 MFBI, which appears as Band 66?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    --Bentley

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    80
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BentleyBeard View Post
    Regarding Band 66- are you seeing true Band 66 or Band 4 MFBI, which appears as Band 66?
    How can I tell?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Oklahoma City/Kansas City
    Posts
    1,043
    Device(s)
    iP7, GS8, Galaxy Tab S3, iPad mini 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    How can I tell?
    You’ll need to take a screenshot of Service Mode so we can determine that. To do this, go into you’re dialer, like you would to make a phone call. Dial *#0011#. Once in Service Mode, take a screenshot and post it here in the forum!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    80
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BentleyBeard View Post
    AT&T is currently having issues with load balancing on Band 30 across the country. I’m literally always connected to it, when it’s available. Network Engineers are currently working on a fix for this issue.
    I'm not sure I understand this part. It seems like for me to be connected to Band 30 and have a worse signal then the Band 30 must be from a tower that is farther away rather than being closest to me, right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Oklahoma City/Kansas City
    Posts
    1,043
    Device(s)
    iP7, GS8, Galaxy Tab S3, iPad mini 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    I'm not sure I understand this part. It seems like for me to be connected to Band 30 and have a worse signal then the Band 30 must be from a tower that is farther away rather than being closest to me, right?
    It could be coming from your closest tower. Band 30 is a higher frequency than Band 2, 4 or Band 12 - meaning it doesn’t have the range that those others do, resulting in weaker signal.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    80
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BentleyBeard View Post
    Band 30 is a higher frequency than Band 2, 4 or Band 12 - meaning it doesn’t have the range that those others do, resulting in weaker signal.
    Wouldn't the band that your phone connects to be on the device side, not the external network side? If I'm connecting to band 30 instead of band 12, wouldn't that be something that your phone determines? How would network engineers be able to fix that?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    831
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8+ (Intel), iPhone 6S, Galaxy S6, iPad 9.7, iPad Mini 3, Netgear Nighthawk Hotspot
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Wouldn't the band that your phone connects to be on the device side, not the external network side? If I'm connecting to band 30 instead of band 12, wouldn't that be something that your phone determines? How would network engineers be able to fix that?
    The network controls everything. The phone does what the network tells it to do, based on many parameters that are controlled by the network engineers.
    I do not represent any company or other entity. Anything I post in these forums or write on this site are my thoughts and opinions only. I make every attempt to be 100% accurate, but I am human and do make mistakes from time to time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    530
    Device(s)
    Moto G4 Play
    Carrier(s)
    Red Pocket (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Once I switched to a Galaxy S9, it now hangs out on Band 30 and Band 66.
    How is your data speed when connected to Band 30? Is it useable, or noticeably slow?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    80
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post
    How is your data speed when connected to Band 30? Is it useable, or noticeably slow?
    It's very good, usually get 30-40 Mbps down.At that point, my phone connects to carrier aggregation.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,780
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S6 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    It's very good, usually get 30-40 Mbps down.At that point, my phone connects to carrier aggregation.
    It sounds like it's working as designed. When you make a call, does it jump to 2 or 12?

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    80
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Joeybutts View Post
    It sounds like it's working as designed. When you make a call, does it jump to 2 or 12?

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
    It doesn't, it goes down to HSPA+.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    293
    Feedback Score
    0

    Band 30 and Band 66 on my Galaxy S9 in New Mexico

    Is this band 66? I haven’t went into field test mode on iPhone in a long time, it looks way different on the X.
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1523509080.479735.jpg
Views: 172
Size:  55.2 KB
    Colorado Springs

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Oklahoma City/Kansas City
    Posts
    1,043
    Device(s)
    iP7, GS8, Galaxy Tab S3, iPad mini 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Josh177 View Post
    Is this band 66? I haven’t went into field test mode on iPhone in a long time, it looks way different on the X.
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1523509080.479735.jpg
Views: 172
Size:  55.2 KB
    Colorado Springs
    Nope, it appears Field Test is broken on your iPhone as well. That’s actually Band 2, judging from the frequency/EARFCN.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,780
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S6 Active
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    It doesn't, it goes down to HSPA+.
    Is your s9 unlocked? Or do you have VoLTE off?

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Worse battery indicator on my Galaxy S9
    By skyhawk214 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2018, 07:07 AM
  2. Band 4 and Band 66 ?
    By bcltoys in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-29-2017, 09:44 PM
  3. Band 30 and 2 antenna polarization
    By Houe in forum AT&T
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2016, 09:05 AM
  4. Try and surprise ME on my birthday will you...
    By Haadkoe in forum Nextel Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-18-2003, 04:32 AM
  5. Ringtone and game hosting on my webserver
    By gutteramit in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2003, 06:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks