Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TracFone beating AT&T here

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    83
    Feedback Score
    0

    TracFone beating AT&T here

    I'm in Chinle, AZ for a couple days with no hope of getting a cell signal. In our group, a guy with AT&T postpaid has no problem and even my wife's TracFone (which I had thought used AT&T towers) has a signal.

    Not really a problem since I don't mind being off the grid for a while, but a reminder of the limitations of the prepaid plan.

    Sent from my BTV-W09 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    743
    Device(s)
    Moto G5 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T PrePaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rochrunner View Post
    I'm in Chinle, AZ for a couple days with no hope of getting a cell signal. In our group, a guy with AT&T postpaid has no problem and even my wife's TracFone (which I had thought used AT&T towers) has a signal.

    Not really a problem since I don't mind being off the grid for a while, but a reminder of the limitations of the prepaid plan.

    Sent from my BTV-W09 using Tapatalk
    What phones? This could be band support...

    Remember AT&T post-paid has roaming privelages to partner networks, prepaid does not. But I was also under the impression that none of AT&Ts MVNOs could use roaming either.

    Sent from my Moto G5 Plus using Tapatalk
    - If ignorance is bliss, why are there not more happy people in the world?

    Current Personal Phone: Moto G5 Plus (AT&T PrePaid)

    Other phones "in the family": Huawei Honor 7x (AT&T), Axon 7 Mini (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge (VZW), HTC 10 (VZW)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    313
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by acejavelin View Post
    Remember AT&T post-paid has roaming privelages to partner networks, prepaid does not. But I was also under the impression that none of AT&Ts MVNOs could use roaming either.
    TracFone/American Movil tends to be an exception to that, they seem to have roaming support better then other prepaid but not quite as good as postpaid.

    This scenario is also why, when I'm traveling, I carry a second phone on a carrier different than my primary one. Since I'm on AT&T Prepaid, I carry a TracFone on Verizon. I paid $55 for an Android flip phone (which is *extremely* neat but a whole other topic) with 1 year/1200 minutes/1200 texts/1 GB (or somewhere around that) of data.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    632
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rochrunner View Post
    I'm in Chinle, AZ for a couple days with no hope of getting a cell signal. In our group, a guy with AT&T postpaid has no problem and even my wife's TracFone (which I had thought used AT&T towers) has a signal.

    Not really a problem since I don't mind being off the grid for a while, but a reminder of the limitations of the prepaid plan.

    Sent from my BTV-W09 using Tapatalk
    Tracfone actually most commonly used Verizon.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    12,205
    Feedback Score
    0
    TracFone smartphones/BYOPs don't roam from everything I've seen posted in the TracFone section, only the older basic phones do.

    Anyone here have a TracFone smartphone/BYOP roaming for calling?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    83
    Feedback Score
    0
    Our phones are both BYOP, mine's a Pixel 2 and hers is a Nexus 5. Actually her TracFone connection here is only working for voice and not for data. Not a big deal and sometimes good to be out of touch like the good old days!

    Sent from my BTV-W09 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    570
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6
    Carrier(s)
    Boom <Tracfone Verizon BYOP < Selectel < Consumer Cellular,AT&T, H2O, Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rochrunner View Post
    Our phones are both BYOP, mine's a Pixel 2 and hers is a Nexus 5. Actually her TracFone connection here is only working for voice and not for data. Not a big deal and sometimes good to be out of touch like the good old days!

    Sent from my BTV-W09 using Tapatalk
    The Verizon maps show minimal coverage for 4GLTE or Prepay in Chinle proper. As you travel east a bit into Canyon de Chelly, the Verizon
    coverage improves for both. I was there about 18 months ago & experienced the same - sometimes the coverage is actually better than the map shows in some areas - ya neva know !

    AT&T prepay coverage is non existent on the maps - a giant hole in NW AZ- Postpaid shows roaming coverage as mentioned above.
    NW AZ , SE UT both have big holes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    331
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0

    TracFone beating AT&amp;T here

    When I was at the Grand Canyon last year, my friend had voice/text and very spotty data coverage with AT&T postpaid, while I had voice/text but no data coverage with Tracfone AT&T. I’ve since switched to Cricket, so I’m wondering if my coverage will be any different next time I visit.

    ETA: My friend has an iPhone 6, I have an iPhone 6S+


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    602
    Device(s)
    Moto G6 Play
    Carrier(s)
    Red Pocket (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0
    As of now Cricket will not work at the Grand Canyon. ATT has no native coverage there.

    Sent from my Moto G Play using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-17-2004, 07:37 PM
  2. Beating at the workplace... hahahahah
    By nemo in forum Nextel Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2004, 12:50 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-30-2003, 01:23 PM
  4. First Look At My T610 Here In The U.s
    By XPMILLINIUM in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 05-17-2003, 12:09 PM
  5. At&t Gsm?? Here!?!!?!?!?! Wtf!
    By kaneman in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2002, 12:50 AM

Bookmarks