Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: New SIM card won't work in an old Razr?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    43
    Device(s)
    Motorola E4
    Carrier(s)
    Lycamobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    New SIM card won't work in an old Razr?

    I have an old Moto Razr in perfect shape. Sold it. Man says it says "check SIM". Took it back. I can put an old SIM in it and it connects just fine. I know the new Sims are 15% thinner than the old ones so I tried a new SIM with a spacer and it still didn't work. Took it to a T-Mobile store and he said other people had recently encountered the same problem, but he had no idea why. Anyone on here ran into this and found a solution?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,561
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    yes !!! with my grandma, she lost her flip phone; got her a new sim... so I got an old samsung flip and just transfered her sim.. did not work... then I tried in a motorola blur which is also very old.. with new sim, did not work. I tried the sim in my iphone, worked.. in my J7 samsung, worked and tried in the same old samsung flip.. did not work. So i had to buy a new flip phone; the alcatel 4044w which now comes with all the LTE bands and wifi calling.... it works !!!

    I guess the new sim cards are not accepted at old technology... specially if its 2g only phones.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    43
    Device(s)
    Motorola E4
    Carrier(s)
    Lycamobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just got done putting my wife's T-Mobile SIM in two different Razr's and they both worked! WTH T-Mobile? Just talked to tech support and even they didn't know what the problem is. They obviously have changed the newest sims, but tech support doesn't even know?!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    756
    Device(s)
    Nokia 3595
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is it an issue with the SIM's technology or is it an issue with the SIM's form factor? The original standard size SIM has a conducting area larger than the newer 3-in-1 SIM because the newer SIM were all designed to be popped out as nano-SIM.

    https://cdn2.macworld.co.uk/cmsdata/.../nano-SIM2.jpg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    43
    Device(s)
    Motorola E4
    Carrier(s)
    Lycamobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Technology I would say. Even though the SIM is smaller (when popped out) the actual contact areas are the same alignment.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,609
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Not sure. While SIMs come in 5v, 3v & 1.8v, modern SIMs are supposed to support all three voltages. If the phone doesn't see the SIM, I'd guess it would be something with the pattern of the contacts.
    Donald Newcomb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    6,287
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Matte Black
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile - Unleash the Data Hounds!!!
    Feedback Score
    0
    This makes me wonder if someone had access to say a SIM Card from the 2000's that was unused, could they call in and get it activated!?
    Hofo Veteran - Magenta Disciple

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,861
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wide_opeN View Post
    This makes me wonder if someone had access to say a SIM Card from the 2000's that was unused, could they call in and get it activated!?
    Most of the T-Mobile SIM's that I have seen had expiration dates on them---perhaps 2 to 3 years into the future.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    14,609
    Device(s)
    Samsung Avant, Nexus 5X, Moto G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Project Fi, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wide_opeN View Post
    This makes me wonder if someone had access to say a SIM Card from the 2000's that was unused, could they call in and get it activated!?
    I've asked about using an undated SIM and was told, "No".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    6,287
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Matte Black
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile - Unleash the Data Hounds!!!
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ahhh, that makes sense as technology is constantly evolving.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,561
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, the new sim cards are not compatible with lots of 2g only gsm flip phones.
    The OP however can find an older sim card (2016 or 2017) and still activate, and it will work.

    Technology in a way sucks... just yesterday i had to finally upgrade my laptop from win7 to win10 because win7 is not fully compatible with WPK2-PSK2 AES Enterprise wifi encryption... it doesnt read the certificates... i guess thats why the new sim! For the WIFI calling im sure. I hate win10, despise win10.

Similar Threads

  1. Why doesnt friends sim card want to work in my iPhone??
    By burnsmonkey in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-21-2010, 11:34 PM
  2. Rogers sim card does not work in Docomo phone + hypersim
    By alanalan11 in forum Japanese Phones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 12:49 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-20-2007, 11:05 AM
  4. Will my 3g sim work in an OLD phone?
    By evanl85 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-12-2007, 02:31 PM
  5. SIM card won't work in old Fido phone
    By 2venus in forum Fido
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-20-2003, 08:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks