Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: NON-firstnet Sonim XP8 Use

Feedback Score

NON-firstnet Sonim XP8 Use

As we know, the local AT&T stores have no clue or are simply unwilling to work with anyone concerning the XP8.

Most of the time, the response I have been getting from them is that it is for FirstNet use only. ( I know that is BS.)

I have an XP7 that I have been abusing for three years. It is time to upgrade. Over three years it is well worn, and have had to replace the battery, but it still works fine.

I use the xp7 for personal use and carry an iCrap 8+ as a work phone. I hate that thing since I have to make sure that it is in velvet gloves to use it and it is too pretty for me.

Here are my questions.

1. Since AT&T is exclusive in the US, did they disable the second sim port? I need for one SIM to be AT&T the other will be for whatever country I am in at the moment and T-Mobile when in the states.

2. Can the PTT be reassigned without hacking the phone? I use Zello and IRN for ham radio stuff and will never use the ATT app.

Hopefully, someone else is in the same boat and can answer me. I really do not want to order the phone, wait a random period for it to ship, only to find that it has been locked down too far, and I have to return it.

thanks

Feedback Score
    see this thread here - https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...nt-A-Sonim-XP8

the XP8 does have 2 simcard trays - https://www.att.com/devicehowto/tuto...odel=XP8XP8800 but unsure if the second simcard slot is disabled
    the phone might be locked to AT&T.

i believe the PTT can be reassigned - https://www.att.com/devicehowto/tuto...odel=XP8XP8800
    Last edited by october262; 08-20-2018 at 12:36 AM.

Feedback Score

NON-firstnet Sonim XP8 Use

Quote Originally Posted by crazyhick View Post
    As we know, the local AT&T stores have no clue or are simply unwilling to work with anyone concerning the XP8.