Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: NON-firstnet Sonim XP8 Use

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11, Samsung SM-N960U
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    No with a FirstNet SIM; Yes with a commercial AT&T SIM.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11, Samsung SM-N960U
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by crazyhick View Post
    As we know, the local AT&T stores have no clue or are simply unwilling to work with anyone concerning the XP8.

    Most of the time, the response I have been getting from them is that it is for FirstNet use only. ( I know that is BS.)

    I have an XP7 that I have been abusing for three years. It is time to upgrade. Over three years it is well worn, and have had to replace the battery, but it still works fine.

    I use the xp7 for personal use and carry an iCrap 8+ as a work phone. I hate that thing since I have to make sure that it is in velvet gloves to use it and it is too pretty for me.

    Here are my questions.

    1. Since AT&T is exclusive in the US, did they disable the second sim port? I need for one SIM to be AT&T the other will be for whatever country I am in at the moment and T-Mobile when in the states.

    2. Can the PTT be reassigned without hacking the phone? I use Zello and IRN for ham radio stuff and will never use the ATT app.

    Hopefully, someone else is in the same boat and can answer me. I really do not want to order the phone, wait a random period for it to ship, only to find that it has been locked down too far, and I have to return it.

    thanks
    RE: #1, if you get an AT&T branded XP-8, the second SIM is disabled. Per Sonim, this is a contractual requirement.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wannabefree View Post
    RE: #1, if you get an AT&T branded XP-8, the second SIM is disabled. Per Sonim, this is a contractual requirement.
    I can verify that the second SIM slot in an AT&T branded Sonim XP 8 is disabled. I learned that the hard way having purchased one, only to have to return it the next day after the in-store techs couldn't get it to work. Apparently no one let them sales people know that the second SIM was disabled. I then got ahold of Sonim and they were kind enough to overnight one to me direct. I installed both SIMs and they fired up immediately. One of them is a Firstnet SIM and the second one is AT&T. The phone works with most GSM SIMs but won't work with CDMA such as Sprint. On a related note Firstnet is having issues with their SIMs, so for now, my Firstnet is on a provisioned AT&T SIM.

    Sent from my XP8800 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,869
    Feedback Score
    0

    Non-Firstnet Sonim XP8 Use

    I bought a used AT&T Sonim XP8. Has anybody here found a way to unlock the second SIM slot yet? OR, for that matter, getting it to work full with Verizon MVNOs?

    If I recall correctly. a Verizon SIM can work for voice, or data, but not both at the same time

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes. Return it and get an unlocked XP-8 from Sonim direct. That’s what I had to do. The second slot is locked by AT&T and nothing I did fixed it. Ultimately, I got an unbranded XP-8 direct from Sonim and that fixed the issue.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,869
    Feedback Score
    0

    Non-Firstnet Sonim XP8 Use

    Verizon is now selling the Sonim XP8. I am trying to find out if the Verizon version locks out the second SIM card slot.





    https://www.verizonwireless.com/smartphones/sonim-xp8/

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    447
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8, iPad Mini 4, Blackberry KEY 2
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
    Verizon is now selling the Sonim XP8. I am trying to find out if the Verizon version locks out the second SIM card slot.





    https://www.verizonwireless.com/smartphones/sonim-xp8/
    I'll test it out... I know Verizon blocks the AT&T and unlocked ones by letting you only have call or data not both if my Verizon branded one has sim slot 2 unlocked for AT&T/T-Mobile we all should go for Verizon model as that would be the best choice

    Sent from my SM-G977U using Tapatalk

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    37
    Feedback Score
    0
    After a month I ended up returning the Sonim XP 8 and am now happily using two SIMs on an IPhone. Nothing but problems with the Sonim XP 8.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,869
    Feedback Score
    0

    NON-firstnet Sonim XP8 Use

    Quote Originally Posted by Brill View Post
    After a month I ended up returning the Sonim XP 8 and am now happily using two SIMs on an IPhone. Nothing but problems with the Sonim XP 8.
    What sort of problems did you have with the Sonim XP8. I have one, but it is not my primary smartphone. I have it on an unlimited AT&T data SIM and it mainly gets used for stream music, not telephone calls and texting.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Bell Slow Speed on revA - Non local IP address using Speed test for revA test
    By QkSi1ver in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 09:43 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-03-2008, 10:09 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 12:30 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-25-2007, 11:39 PM
  5. I have Nextel i860(Non-Boost) Can I use it for Boost Mobile?
    By SuperNewbie in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 03:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks