Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Results 106 to 112 of 112

Thread: 2018 Piranha Mobile Thread 2018

  1. #106
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    14,455
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got the following email this morning. I had tested my Piranha SIM card just over a month ago, around 3/10/21, and it was working just fine for data. I don't use my Piranha SIM for calls or texts.

    I went ahead and did the following Request RC procedure, and after I restarted the phone, data still works. That SIM is in a dual SIM Blu Vivo XI, running Android 8.

    Dear customer,

    Please follow these instructions carefully, these instructions only apply to users who have not used there card within the last 30 days and who have cards with the ICCID which include the digits 89955172122222xxxxx.

    The ICCID can be found on the back of the SIM card in your handset or from your account by logging in HERE

    1. Locate the SIMTOOLKIT which you will find in your apps or under settings.
    2. Click on roaming.
    3. Click on Request RC.
    4. Reboot handset on auto search and check that you have network.
    5. If you do not locate network repeat the process and then manually select the network of the country you are located in.
    6. If you do not update your card before the 1st May 2021 the card will cease to work and a charge of 5.00 USD will apply for a replacement card with all details transferred.

    Best regards,
    Piranha Mobile team

    Piranha Mobile Ltd

    ADL Legal LLP Business Unit
    59 Broomfield Ave
    London N13 4JR
    United Kingdom
    VAT No: GB122429932
    Web: www.piranha-mobile.com
    Email: [email protected]

  2. #107
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,024
    Device(s)
    Mi Mix 2, Samsung Galaxy A50, Moto G7
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T,
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got that email as well. I noticed that their rates have changed a bit. Just about all countries that used to be free incoming (Except Western Europe/North America) are no longer free. Also, the outgoing rates in general are a little bit higher.

  3. #108
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    207
    Feedback Score
    0
    I notice that TMobile is no longer listed as a provider in the US. AT&T is listed as the main service provider. This explains why my phone stopped connecting to TMo towers. When I reported this issue to Piranha, they didn't bother to tell me that they were no longer using TMo.

  4. #109
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    DPRK
    Posts
    647
    Carrier(s)
    Currently: at&t
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I know most people say Piranha Mobile isn't stable enough to use as a primary line. But I've been using it as an inbound line for Google Voice and haven't had a problem with it. But yesterday when I was trying to place a call, the call would drop after about a minute. I tried multiple times, but eventually gave up as I couldn't keep the connection for more than a minute. Was it just me or are other people having issues as well?

  5. #110
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,024
    Device(s)
    Mi Mix 2, Samsung Galaxy A50, Moto G7
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tested my Piranha sim just now. No issues with incoming and outgoing calls.

    Quote Originally Posted by altNz View Post
    But yesterday when I was trying to place a call, the call would drop after about a minute. I tried multiple times, but eventually gave up as I couldn't keep the connection for more than a minute. Was it just me or are other people having issues as well?

  6. #111
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    DPRK
    Posts
    647
    Carrier(s)
    Currently: at&t
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Noticed last Friday on June 4th that I was no longer receiving calls. Tried placing a call to my Piranha number and found the call would fail. Similarly couldn't place an outgoing call from my Piranha number.

    Saturday night noticed my phone showed No Service. Tried updating the RC, but the phone would show service for a second before showing No Service. Reached out to Piranha CC who asked that I try manually selecting at&t and then set it back to Automatic. For some reason scanning takes 15 minutes and connecting to at&t takes another 15 minutes. When I manually selected at&t, sometimes at&t would connect other times the phone would tell me Unable to Connect to Service Provider. If I set the phone back to Automatic, I get No Service.

    At this point I've found I have to manually set my phone to connect to at&t 3G service only to get service. Piranha CC say this is expected depending on the network.

    Wanted to confirm if others are having service issues. Doesn't seem to be related to my phone as both my iPhone and Android phones which used to work with Piranha Mobile are having the same issue.

  7. #112
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,024
    Device(s)
    Mi Mix 2, Samsung Galaxy A50, Moto G7
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T,
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't believe anyone here uses Piranha much. Considering how unreliable the sim has been, it should be used as a backup sim at best.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy A50 using the HoFo mobile app

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Similar Threads

  1. 2018 Truphone thread 2018
    By Mike Nassour in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 73
    Last Post: 07-19-2020, 08:46 PM
  2. 2017 Piranha Mobile Thread 2017
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 100
    Last Post: 08-24-2018, 12:20 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2018, 02:52 PM
  4. 2018 Lycamobile Thread 2018
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-15-2018, 09:40 PM
  5. The All-Things China Mobile thread...
    By MotoV3-Slut in forum Regional Providers and Other Providers
    Replies: 116
    Last Post: 10-22-2007, 11:15 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks