Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 51

Thread: 2018 Piranha Mobile Thread 2018

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,234
    Device(s)
    Moto Z4,Moto e5,ZTE Z320,Pokefi,Isatphone 2.1,Karma Go
    Carrier(s)
    Vz/Visible,Sprint,Piranha,SkyRoam,InMarSat
    Feedback Score
    0
    And Piranha added a carrier for US voice. In addition to At&t at six cents a minute outgoing there is now T-mo at eight cents a minute.

    Sent from my moto z4 using HoFo mobile app

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetKen View Post
    And Piranha added a carrier for US voice. In addition to At&t at six cents a minute outgoing there is now T-mo at eight cents a minute.

    Sent from my moto z4 using HoFo mobile app
    It seems to be down to 4 cents/min. now.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,234
    Device(s)
    Moto Z4,Moto e5,ZTE Z320,Pokefi,Isatphone 2.1,Karma Go
    Carrier(s)
    Vz/Visible,Sprint,Piranha,SkyRoam,InMarSat
    Feedback Score
    0
    Correct, rates down to four cents for AT&T, T-Mo, SunComm (thought bought out) and a regional out west called Choice. Works on AT&T for me but not on T-Mo. Also think may in some instances be charged three cents. Data at two cents a mb which is a bit on the high side...there are cheaper data alternatives.
    Quote Originally Posted by 46jimbo View Post
    It seems to be down to 4 cents/min. now.
    Sent from my moto z4 using HoFo mobile app

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    186
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can anyone with a working SIM tell us where there U.S. and U.K. numbers are located?

    Do they use a certain area code for U.S. numbers?

    And I read that their U.K. numbers are Jersey (Channel Islands) numbers, which are more expensive to call than numbers in the U.K. But the cost of those calls depends on the number prefix.

    Any info?

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,110
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lineisbusy View Post
    Can anyone with a working SIM tell us where there U.S. and U.K. numbers are located?

    Do they use a certain area code for U.S. numbers?

    And I read that their U.K. numbers are Jersey (Channel Islands) numbers, which are more expensive to call than numbers in the U.K. But the cost of those calls depends on the number prefix.

    Any info?
    My Isle of Man number starts with +44 7418 (07418 when calling from within the UK).
    Calling that number using Google Voice costs 19¢/minute compared with 1¢/minute for regular UK Mobile numbers.
    Find and compare prepaid plans at https://prepaidcompare.net

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    186
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    My Isle of Man number starts with +44 7418 (07418 when calling from within the UK).
    Calling that number using Google Voice costs 19¢/minute compared with 1¢/minute for regular UK Mobile numbers.
    Thanks for this confirmation of what I had read in the 2017 Piranha thread about the cost to call certain 07* numbers. I also see in earlier posts on this (2018) thread that two people with US numbers had 213 area codes.

    I suppose I could get a Canadian number (my first), I wonder what area code that might be. A recent R*dd*t post indicates that Piranha just changed its phone number supplier, so past history may not be a guide to future assignments.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a newly assigned Canadian number. It's area code 289, which is Hamilton, ON.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,234
    Device(s)
    Moto Z4,Moto e5,ZTE Z320,Pokefi,Isatphone 2.1,Karma Go
    Carrier(s)
    Vz/Visible,Sprint,Piranha,SkyRoam,InMarSat
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Piranha number starts with +44-7937. That is a Isle of Jersey mobile number.
    Quote Originally Posted by lineisbusy View Post
    Can anyone with a working SIM tell us where there U.S. and U.K. numbers are located?

    Do they use a certain area code for U.S. numbers?

    And I read that their U.K. numbers are Jersey (Channel Islands) numbers, which are more expensive to call than numbers in the U.K. But the cost of those calls depends on the number prefix.

    Any info?
    Sent from my moto z4 using HoFo mobile app

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    DPRK
    Posts
    638
    Carrier(s)
    Currently: at&t
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by lineisbusy View Post
    Can anyone with a working SIM tell us where there U.S. and U.K. numbers are located?

    Do they use a certain area code for U.S. numbers?

    And I read that their U.K. numbers are Jersey (Channel Islands) numbers, which are more expensive to call than numbers in the U.K. But the cost of those calls depends on the number prefix.

    Any info?
    When I requested a USA number, they gave me a 209, Stockton, California, number.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can anyone confirm if their new US numbers are usable for text verification from services like Uber, Microsoft, FB, etc? In other words, are they detected as VoIP numbers or regular, mobile ones?

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    DPRK
    Posts
    638
    Carrier(s)
    Currently: at&t
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by tinkering View Post
    Can anyone confirm if their new US numbers are usable for text verification from services like Uber, Microsoft, FB, etc? In other words, are they detected as VoIP numbers or regular, mobile ones?
    The number will be detected as a VoIP number.

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    305
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by altNz View Post
    The number will be detected as a VoIP number.
    Curious when (month & year) you got your US number, if you don't mind my asking?

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    305
    Feedback Score
    0
    Anyone have this scenario: UK number (to eliminate the monthly fee). Using Piranha purely for data in the US?

    From https://www.piranha-mobile.com/mobile-rates/, I see that data is 2c/MB. I also know my monthly data use is very low.
    The questions I have is for data use (primarily pure texting via GV or WhatsApp) how reliable is Piranha? I realize it's an
    MVNO - so the question is really, is it as solid as the carrier it runs on. Any glitches "locking" on to the underlying carrier
    (AT&T and T-Mobile in my area)? How accurately does it measure your data usage - e.g. is it pretty close to what your phone claims
    is being consumed as mobile data? If I need to make an occasional GV voice call what kind of quality can I expect? I have no issue
    with FreedomPop's free SIM running on AT&T for a GV call - but I was not sure if in the Piranha case the data pipe went through some
    UK gateway and added latency?

    Yes, I do realize that it's expensive for anyone to call that UK number and the alternative is for a 70c/month US number. Is it safe to assume
    that the "quality" of service (data access in my case) is not dependent on whether the number is a US or UK number?

  14. #44
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    430
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone, FreeUp, FreedomPop US & MX, Toggle UK, Piranha, Netzclub DE, Simyo ES, Three UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by russsell View Post
    Anyone have this scenario: UK number (to eliminate the monthly fee). Using Piranha purely for data in the US?

    From https://www.piranha-mobile.com/mobile-rates/, I see that data is 2c/MB. I also know my monthly data use is very low.
    The questions I have is for data use (primarily pure texting via GV or WhatsApp) how reliable is Piranha? I realize it's an
    MVNO - so the question is really, is it as solid as the carrier it runs on. Any glitches "locking" on to the underlying carrier
    (AT&T and T-Mobile in my area)? How accurately does it measure your data usage - e.g. is it pretty close to what your phone claims
    is being consumed as mobile data? If I need to make an occasional GV voice call what kind of quality can I expect? I have no issue
    with FreedomPop's free SIM running on AT&T for a GV call - but I was not sure if in the Piranha case the data pipe went through some
    UK gateway and added latency?

    Yes, I do realize that it's expensive for anyone to call that UK number and the alternative is for a 70c/month US number. Is it safe to assume
    that the "quality" of service (data access in my case) is not dependent on whether the number is a US or UK number?
    Piranha has definitely has reliability issues in the past, and I haven't used it enough in the past couple years (they switched providers) to know how much that's improved. Regardless, the APN is with a UK provider, so I'm pretty sure all data routes through the UK, which means higher latency on a call.

    As a backup to your FreedpmPop SIM, I'd probably go with Truphone first, for it's free incoming calls and SMS on a US number. Data is more expensive at $.09/MB, but if you need to make a call, you can turn on the data, setup a call back through GV mobile webpage (I think, haven't tested this in awhile) to your Truphone #, answer the call and then get connected to the party you're calling. You're then saving all that VOIP call data usage and also avoiding the latency issue.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    DPRK
    Posts
    638
    Carrier(s)
    Currently: at&t
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by russsell View Post
    Curious when (month & year) you got your US number, if you don't mind my asking?
    Based on your comment I'm guessing you're not aware of this information from Piranha:

    Dear Piranha Mobile user,

    Our present USA and Canadian number provider have decided to increase the charges to more than double the current monthly charge. We have therefore decided to terminate our contract with this supplier.

    We have now acquired a new number provider and the charges for numbers per Month will be $0.70 USD per number for USA or Canadian.

    All new USA, UK and Canadian numbers will now support A2P.

    We will be changing all USA and Canadian numbers on the 29th of June 2020.

    If you have a UK number and you would like to change to USA or Canadian number, you can do this after the 1st July 2020 free of charge.

    We will allow one number change from UK to USA or Canadian per SIM that has a balance of over $1.00 USD.

    If your balance is less than $1.00 USD on your SIM on the 29th June 2020 no new number will allocated, and any number allocated will be removed.

    We strongly advise you check your current SIM balance by using *100# from your handset and if necessary, go to the website and top up your account.

    If you have any questions about your SIM account, please contact us using the account ticket support system found in your online account.

    Regards

    Piranha Mobile Administration Team

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2018 Truphone thread 2018
    By Mike Nassour in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 73
    Last Post: 07-19-2020, 08:46 PM
  2. 2017 Piranha Mobile Thread 2017
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 100
    Last Post: 08-24-2018, 12:20 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2018, 02:52 PM
  4. 2018 Lycamobile Thread 2018
    By rfranzq in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-15-2018, 10:40 PM
  5. The All-Things China Mobile thread...
    By MotoV3-Slut in forum Regional Providers and Other Providers
    Replies: 116
    Last Post: 10-22-2007, 11:15 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks