Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: AT&T Band 30 shrinking from 10mHz to 5mHz Channel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    87
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0

    AT&T Band 30 shrinking from 10mHz to 5mHz Channel

    I noticed today that all band 30 LTE in the Louisville, KY area has changed from a 10MHz channel to a 5MHz channel. Has anybody else seen this or know why it is happening? Every band 30 site I connected to today has been changed. Band 30 is still being deployed here, sites that didn't previously have it are getting it along with the band 14/66 upgrades. I searched for existing threads about this but didn't find anything. If this discussion is happening already in another thread feel free to close this one and link to that thread.

    Before:
    Name:  before.jpg
Views: 1157
Size:  105.5 KB

    After:
    Name:  After.jpg
Views: 1138
Size:  109.8 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3,873
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    This was happening here in NYC for a while on some sites. They are all back to 10mhz channels now though. It had to do with Sirius XM interference. Not sure it's related to what's happening by you though.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    2,326
    Device(s)
    iPhone X🅂, Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility & Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    What Joey said — it’s related to interference between AT&T and Sirius XM in the 2.3 GHz band. I’ve been seeing several sites like this, but not to the extent you seem to be seeing. Keep us posted, for sure.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    - Bentley



    AT&T's commercial 4G network, with LAA-LTE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1,286
    Feedback Score
    0
    A map of SiriusXM terrestrial repeaters: http://www.dogstarradio.com/sirius_map.php
    Looks like there is one repeater in downtown Louisville.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    877
    Device(s)
    Galaxy s7 edge, nexus 6p as a backup
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Damn, they have the power cracked on those, 4000 to 5000 watts...

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    1,048
    Device(s)
    AT&T S8+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    Damn, they have the power cracked on those, 4000 to 5000 watts...

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    I still don't understand why that's even allowed and cellular towers can only be like 150 watts or something like that. So much for people claiming cell towers give cancer. Lmfao

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    877
    Device(s)
    Galaxy s7 edge, nexus 6p as a backup
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroSignal View Post
    I still don't understand why that's even allowed and cellular towers can only be like 150 watts or something like that. So much for people claiming cell towers give cancer. Lmfao

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    Now we need to remember that 5g is going to nuke everybody too.. lol. If cell towers had that power they wouldn't need towers everywhere

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    If cell towers had that power they wouldn't need towers everywhere
    Yes we would...because your handset is still low power (a few hundred milliwatts) and has to be heard by the site.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    87
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    After observing for a week or so, I can say all B30 around Louisville and surrounding areas is 5MHz. I took a trip down to Bowling Green KY Saturday for LS fest, and it was also 5MHz there as well as the entire stretch down there where I hit it. Today for work I'm out in the Frankfort and Lexington area, and noticed it jumped back to 10MHz right as I hit Frankfort. Weird...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    87
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Another update, it appears that Frankfort and Lexington KY areas were changed to 5x5 last night. I was just out in these same areas yesterday for work and it was still 10x10. I drove through Frankfort and I've been all over Lexington this afternoon, as well as Versailles and Nicholasville KY. All were now 5x5 MHz for band 30.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3,873
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mdob07 View Post
    Another update, it appears that Frankfort and Lexington KY areas were changed to 5x5 last night. I was just out in these same areas yesterday for work and it was still 10x10. I drove through Frankfort and I've been all over Lexington this afternoon, as well as Versailles and Nicholasville KY. All were now 5x5 MHz for band 30.
    Are they rolling out fixed broadband by you?

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    87
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Its been a little more than a year after I initially noticed this change. Band 30 is still 5MHz in all of Ky, at least a large part of TN, and IN until I get closer to Indianapolis going north or until Illinois headed west. Looking at Cellmapper data Indy, Cincinnati, St. Louis, and Knoxville are all 10x10. Louisville, Lexington, Evansville, Nashville, and Chattanooga are 5x5 B30.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,612
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    No issues here, the nearest "unconfirmed" SiriusXM repeater to me is in Santa Rosa, 70 miles south. The nearest confirmed one is in San Francisco, 130 miles south. I subscribe to and love SiriusXM, though

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    3,835
    Device(s)
    iPhone 11 Pro 256 GB Midnight Green
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    B30 5 MHz was what I saw in the loop in Chicago.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

    Chicago, IL
    2+46+46+46+4

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,612
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jakeuten View Post
    B30 5 MHz was what I saw in the loop in Chicago.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

    Wow, that's not much, I bet 5 gets pretty loaded up on the L during peak times!

    Kinda OT, but the CTA has some really cool videos of the different CTA and Metra Lines from the drivers view, check it out sometime! I watched the Purple Line last night. https://youtu.be/tag-0WOzn7o
    Last edited by ilvla2; 11-04-2019 at 02:10 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AT&T Band 30 LTE
    By sharp99 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-01-2017, 10:04 PM
  2. AT&T Bands
    By tsalisbury0 in forum AT&T Network Expansion and Upgrades
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-15-2017, 01:23 PM
  3. AT&T Band 30 installation pics
    By Chaldo in forum AT&T
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2016, 09:41 PM
  4. AT&T's Band 30 WCS LTE Deployment
    By VVivian in forum AT&T
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 04-22-2016, 12:00 AM
  5. New at this: Bringing new samsung phone from asia to Rogers - Help!
    By system_iron in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-13-2007, 05:14 PM

Bookmarks