Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 44 of 44

Thread: T-Mobile Roaming And VoLTE

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    682
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Weatheronthe8s View Post
    You can get Verizon CDMA for now. In some parts of the country(such as where I live), it's even the primary roaming carrier before Sprint. When its shut down though I'm not sure what will happen then. I don't think USCC has any agreements for Verizon LTE. To my knowledge they have no roaming agreements at all with AT&T.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using HoFo mobile app
    Ok so that’s what happens to Verizon or AT&T customers, no VoLTE roaming on USCC? That’s pretty scary.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    135
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 (US Cellular), 10.5 inch iPad Pro (Sprint)
    Carrier(s)
    US Cellular, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DebiLee View Post
    Ok so that’s what happens to Verizon or AT&T customers, no VoLTE roaming on USCC? That’s pretty scary.
    Yeah. USCC has no VOLTE agreement with AT&T or Verizon to my knowledge. If I had an iPhone though, I could get T-Mobile VOLTE roaming. I know they have that. With Android though, unless you live in a native USCC VOLTE market, you don't get any VOLTE at all including roaming. You can't even turn it on. As far as I know you can get the VOLTE roaming if you live in a VOLTE market on Android but I'm not sure. When I go to places that only get service from T-Mobile and AT&T, my phone will connect to T-Mobile's LTE. However, I can only use data and can't make phone calls. To make phone calls, I have to use something that uses data like Textnow. I would at least like some kind of VOLTE roaming on my Android. Getting Verizon or AT&T VOLTE would be kinda nice too for those circumstances. AT&T would be alot better to have where I live though.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using HoFo mobile app

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    682
    Feedback Score
    0
    I spotted this while researching something else. https://support.t-mobile.com/thread/146598

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    682
    Feedback Score
    0
    It was the Summer of '14. After making a delivery to the Price Chopper in Bennington, VT, I went to place a call and for the first time ever "Extended" appeared on my Verizon iPhone 5. I had stumbled onto partner network U.S. Cellular. I had one bar of reception and no data. Suffice to say, it was a long, boring night void of sweet, precious internet until I was able to leave the following day.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    135
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 (US Cellular), 10.5 inch iPad Pro (Sprint)
    Carrier(s)
    US Cellular, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DebiLee View Post
    It was the Summer of '14. After making a delivery to the Price Chopper in Bennington, VT, I went to place a call and for the first time ever "Extended" appeared on my Verizon iPhone 5. I had stumbled onto partner network U.S. Cellular. I had one bar of reception and no data. Suffice to say, it was a long, boring night void of sweet, precious internet until I was able to leave the following day.
    Yeah, it’s rare in most places. But some places Verizon still relies on USCC for roaming. As far as I know, Verizon doesn’t have access to fast data on USCC roaming. I’m sure it was boring with no data. Even if you got better signal though, I’m not sure if your data experience would be very good unless you were maybe just outside of Verizon's coverage area but USCC still picked up. My area is just 1x roaming and it does seem to have quite a few places here where it’s still needed.


    Sent from my iPad using HoFo

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    135
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S8 (US Cellular), 10.5 inch iPad Pro (Sprint)
    Carrier(s)
    US Cellular, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DebiLee View Post
    I spotted this while researching something else. https://support.t-mobile.com/thread/146598
    Yeah. This is if you are a T-Mobile customer needing to use USCC's towers for roaming. They seem to have been having a time when it comes to getting the VOLTE roaming working. As far as I know, it even works in my area now despite not having native VOLTE. I'm not sure about everywhere though. They might still not have USCC roaming for T-Mobile customers in some places. I just experienced T-Mobile roaming on my USCC phone a few days ago. I again got data but couldn't make phone calls. It's indicated by no signal bars and only a 4G LTE data indicator. The only way for me to even check the band is to use something like SignalCheck Pro. The *#0011# service mode will just show no signal. My phone seems to struggle to keep a stable signal though when roaming on just T-Mobile LTE. It seems to be using band 4 in times it should switch to band 12. I wanted to figure out some better information but never got a whole lot. I just kinda went off of general area. I ran CellMapper the entire trip but for some reason those points still haven't processed for some reason. Despite a point I got in Snowshoe, WV(a place with only proper working AT&T service) and my phone only connecting to it for 911, still showed up on the CellMapper map under AT&T as the only point in that area with a tower(more like low power antenna due to restrictions in that area) shown. I'm not sure if the signal really was as bad as it was with T-Mobile on this trip or if it's just my phone being so confused. It still worked to some degree though.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using HoFo mobile app

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,288
    Device(s)
    N/A
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless;
    Feedback Score
    0
    It seems to be using band 4 in times it should switch to band 12.
    My (Android) Blackberry KeyOne does this (I'm on Verizon Wireless.) But I think it's by design...

    I've got one place I frequent where there's some conveniently located band 4 fringe. So I'm in a spot and I get -120 dbm band 4 signal (1 bar), I run a speedtest and get some download speed. I can move a few feet, lose band 4 and get a like -90 band 13 signal (2 or 3 bars), run a speedtest and get exactly the same download speed. My conclusion is that it uses carrier aggregation to camp on band 4, but run roughly 0% of the data on band 4 and roughly 100% on band 13.

    (Of course if I move the other direction the band 4 signal increases, then it starts using at least some band 4 and speed test speeds go up.)

    So unfortunately it makes the signal bars rather useless since they just drop to "nothing" then jump back up when it switches bands; it should probably show strength of the strongest carrier instead of whichever it happens to be camping on. But, if T-Mo is set up this way then camping on weak band 4 is harmless, it can aggregate with band 12 and data will shift to 12 as the 4 signal strength decreases.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,605
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Weatheronthe8s View Post
    Yeah, it’s rare in most places. But some places Verizon still relies on USCC for roaming. As far as I know, Verizon doesn’t have access to fast data on USCC roaming. I’m sure it was boring with no data. Even if you got better signal though, I’m not sure if your data experience would be very good unless you were maybe just outside of Verizon's coverage area but USCC still picked up. My area is just 1x roaming and it does seem to have quite a few places here where it’s still needed.


    Sent from my iPad using HoFo

    Verizon roams in-market EVDO onto USCC (and vice versa) here in bad spots, at least until VZ shuts their CDMA down at the end of next year, that is. On that note, does anybody know what USCC's plans for CDMA are? At one time, they were actually running CDMA, TDMA and AMPS concurrently here, they apparently like to do shutdowns very slowly, which has it's good and bad points.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,726
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ilvla2 View Post
    ....... does anybody know what USCC's plans for CDMA are? At one time, they were actually running CDMA, TDMA and AMPS concurrently here,.....
    While also running GSM in Maine.
    Donald Newcomb

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,605
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    While also running GSM in Maine.
    Yep, that too. Is that network still up?

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,726
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ilvla2 View Post
    Yep, that too. Is that network still up?
    AFAIK, no. It existed only for roamers and since both AT&T and T-Mobile now have LTE in Maine and T-Mobile (at least) roams USCC's LTE service, it would be redundant.

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,605
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    AFAIK, no. It existed only for roamers and since both AT&T and T-Mobile now have LTE in Maine and T-Mobile (at least) roams USCC's LTE service, it would be redundant.
    Yeah, I remember that roaming network. I wonder what they did with the sites, sell them off, or convert them over to CDMA/LTE.
    Last edited by ilvla2; 08-22-2019 at 11:32 PM.

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    15,726
    Device(s)
    Moto G7 Power, Nexus 5X
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ilvla2 View Post
    Yeah, I remember that roaming network. I wonder what they did with the sites, sell them off, or convert them over to CDMA/LTE.
    I doubt that there were separate sites, rather just some GSM equipment cohosted on the same site as TDMA, analog, CDMA, etc. What was decommissioned would have just been some circuit cards and a GSM-based switch somewhere.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,605
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
    I doubt that there were separate sites, rather just some GSM equipment cohosted on the same site as TDMA, analog, CDMA, etc. What was decommissioned would have just been some circuit cards and a GSM-based switch somewhere.

    That makes more sense, yeah.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 10:20 PM
  2. T-Mobile Roaming and Text Messaging!
    By jkahn40 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 12:54 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-26-2004, 09:13 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-11-2004, 09:48 PM
  5. Suncom and T-Mobile Roaming Question
    By terthen in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2003, 05:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks