Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Using Unlocked Galaxy S8 for Tracfone over Verizon Network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0

    Using Unlocked Galaxy S8 for Tracfone over Verizon Network

    Hi guys,

    I'm looking at buying an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S8 and I have questions about using this with Tracfone prepaid.

    I need to use it on the Verizon network since we are in a dead spot in AT&Ts.

    Do I need to do anything besides getting one of Tracfones Verizon BYOP Simcard? I have heard others say they needed to take the phone to Verizon for them to activate it first. Is this really teh case?

    Im kind of a novice so if someone could walk me through step by step of what I would need to do, I would appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,761
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ChiefDJ View Post
    I'm looking at buying an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S8 and I have questions about using this with Tracfone prepaid.

    Do I need to do anything besides getting one of Tracfones Verizon BYOP Simcard?
    Are you buying it brand-new or used? On ebay or at another store, online or local?

    To activate a TF/Verizon BYOP SIM, you need to go to Tracfone web site, select BYOP-->Verizon/CDMA and input the phone's IMEI (serial number) to make sure it is on Verizon's "whitelist". Most brand-new factory unlocked phones are on the list, but you can't always be sure. Used phones might not be on the list if they're "blacklisted" (stolen, still on contract, etc).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    407
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am in a similar boat, but with the S9. I dropped the idea of getting the pixel, but saw some sales on the S9 / S9+ today.
    Looks like a decent alternative.
    I will be looking at this thread today .... hopefully somebody has more details and will respond.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Are you buying it brand-new or used? On ebay or at another store, online or local?

    To activate a TF/Verizon BYOP SIM, you need to go to Tracfone web site, select BYOP-->Verizon/CDMA and input the phone's IMEI (serial number) to make sure it is on Verizon's "whitelist". Most brand-new factory unlocked phones are on the list, but you can't always be sure. Used phones might not be on the list if they're "blacklisted" (stolen, still on contract, etc).
    Thanks for the reply. It will be a new phone.

    So beyo d fetting the tracfone byop kit and following the directions there really is nothing else that needs done?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,761
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ChiefDJ View Post
    So beyond getting the tracfone byop kit and following the directions there really is nothing else that needs done?
    Basically it. You don't need to take it to a Verizon store for anything.

    If you want to transfer service from another phone on Tracfone to the new BYOP SIM, use Chat and let the rep do it, reduces the risk of losing your existing balance.
    Last edited by hpham; 11-22-2018 at 08:10 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,468
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ChiefDJ View Post
    So beyond getting the tracfone byop kit and following the directions there really is nothing else that needs done?
    Both Chat and the automated activation system require a computer browser. Might could do it with a tablet, but a phone would not work well. If there is no service transfer from another TracFone, the automated system should be OK. Are you wanting to port a phone number from another service?

    You will need a SIM kit first, and they are available for $1 from retailers like Target, Best Buy, Kmart, some dollar stores. Walmart is not always a good source.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,389
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can order the SIM kit directly from Tracfone`s e-Bay store. Ships free and arrives reasonably fast.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Tracfone-Ke...02o4:rk:1:pf:0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    407
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can report back that the S9+ works without a hitch. I sim swapped, and everything is up and running without any additional steps or settings: calls, messages, internet.
    Very happy with the phone.

Similar Threads

  1. Free IMEI Unlock for Samsung Galaxy S8 for AT&T Network
    By attphoneunlock in forum ATTPhoneUnlockingShop.us - Specialists in unlocking any mobile phone on AT&T network
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2017, 09:46 AM
  2. Free IMEI Unlock for Samsung Galaxy S8+ for AT&T Network
    By attphoneunlock in forum ATTPhoneUnlockingShop.us - Specialists in unlocking any mobile phone on AT&T network
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-07-2017, 09:35 AM
  3. Unlocking AT&T Samsung Galaxy S8 for Cricket
    By bricks1343 in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-01-2017, 11:50 AM
  4. How to unlock samsung galaxy s8 for free from at&t network?
    By Express Unlocks in forum attunlockcode.com - Unlock Your Mobile With Any Carrier | Best Online Phone Codes | Fastest Response Time
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2017, 10:13 PM
  5. How to unlock Samsung Galaxy S8 for any network
    By Codes2unlock in forum Codes2unlock.com - Unlock Your Phone Easily and Safely
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 04:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks