Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 206

Thread: Simple Mobile Moto e5 findings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,011
    Device(s)
    Moto G5s Plus, Moto G4 Plus, Moto E5 Plus, Samsung J7 Neo, HTC One
    Carrier(s)
    metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile.
    Feedback Score
    0

    Simple Mobile Moto e5 findings

    Let me start out by saying that the Tracfone version that I bought at Walmart.com was evidently not the same phone. It would only connect to the TF VZW network. Other TF sims wouldn't connect to their respective networks. Now with the Simple Mobile version I was able to make calls with all 3 TF networks. It is also sim locked to anything other than Tracfone. If anyone can tell me where to get the sim unlocked I'd really appreciate it. Oh I almost forgot. Everything online says these phones are quad core. I noticed when I returned the TF version it said octa core on the box. The Simple Mobile box also states this is a octa core phone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5,278
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cellular-dude View Post
    Let me start out by saying that the Tracfone version that I bought at Walmart.com was evidently not the same phone. It would only connect to the TF VZW network. Other TF sims wouldn't connect to their respective networks. Now with the Simple Mobile version I was able to make calls with all 3 TF networks. It is also sim locked to anything other than Tracfone. If anyone can tell me where to get the sim unlocked I'd really appreciate it. Oh I almost forgot. Everything online says these phones are quad core. I noticed when I returned the TF version it said octa core on the box. The Simple Mobile box also states this is a octa core phone.
    When you tried the Tracfone Verizon SIM was your SIM a BYOP or one that was in a Tracfone branded phone.

    Example a Tracfone Rebel 3 or a Tracfone LG Fiesta 2 or any other Tracfone branded phone?

    Sent from my Naughty Naughty Nokia 3.1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,761
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cellular-dude View Post
    Everything online says these phones are quad core. I noticed when I returned the TF version it said octa core on the box. The Simple Mobile box also states this is a octa core phone.
    Run the CPU-Z app and you'll see all the specs. I won't receive my Simple Mobile E5 until Wednesday.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,288
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    BYOP VZW SIM (from TF kit active on TW) works in the SM E5 I just got.

    CPU-Z says it's a quad core Cortex A53 @1.4GHz. GPU is Adreno 308 @ 400 MHz.
    Qualcomm msm8937, 32bit though.

    720x1440 resolution, 1837 MB RAM (assume 2 GB - kernel reserved/graphics, etc.)

    Has a magnetometer (compass) which the E4 didn't. I forgot to check NFC before I took the SIM out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    508
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sounds like it is very close to the J7 Sky Pro for CPU and memory specs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,288
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    Sounds like it is very close to the J7 Sky Pro for CPU and memory specs.
    That's what I thought from previous research. And for $50 (or $20 with Ebates) a deal.

    The J7 might have a better camera though.


    Need to run AnTuTu on it and my E4+ for comparison.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,761
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    BYOP VZW SIM (from TF kit active on TW) works in the SM E5 I just got.
    I assume you still can't properly activate a TF/VZ BYOP SIM with its IMEI.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,389
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    I assume you still can't properly activate a TF/VZ BYOP SIM with its IMEI.
    It could be Verizon white listed if Tracfone did not know ahead of time if they would set it up for Verizon or T-Mobile.
    I do not know exactly how they decide or do this.
    Tracfone may have their own white list done after the packaging.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,011
    Device(s)
    Moto G5s Plus, Moto G4 Plus, Moto E5 Plus, Samsung J7 Neo, HTC One
    Carrier(s)
    metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SnowyWhite View Post
    When you tried the Tracfone Verizon SIM was your SIM a BYOP or one that was in a Tracfone branded phone.

    Example a Tracfone Rebel 3 or a Tracfone LG Fiesta 2 or any other Tracfone branded phone?

    Sent from my Naughty Naughty Nokia 3.1
    All my sims are BYOP triple minute sims. They worked instantly without any tinkering of the settings.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    6,389
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Where is the exclusiveTracfone AT&T MVNO? SM and TW but nothing exclusively for AT&T.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    1,011
    Device(s)
    Moto G5s Plus, Moto G4 Plus, Moto E5 Plus, Samsung J7 Neo, HTC One
    Carrier(s)
    metro by T-Mobile, TracFone on Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Run the CPU-Z app and you'll see all the specs. I won't receive my Simple Mobile E5 until Wednesday.
    Yeah. It's a quad-core. Too bad that would have been a nice perk for it to be octa-core.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,761
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    It could be Verizon white listed if Tracfone did not know ahead of time if they would set it up for Verizon or T-Mobile.
    I do not know exactly how they decide or do this.
    Tracfone may have their own white list done after the packaging.
    I'll run the IMEI of my SM Moto E5 through the whitelist checking when I receive the phone on Wednesday.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,288
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Need to run AnTuTu on it and my E4+ for comparison.
    E4+ 41444
    E5 45543

    so a bit better, but not drastic.

    Neither match's my 2013 LG G2.


  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    7,288
    Device(s)
    LG G2, Moto G5+, Moto E4, (Droid Mini, GS3, Droid4, L41C, Droid3, S390G, LG500G, T404G, T301G, V170)
    Carrier(s)
    Total Wireless (Verizon, Red Pocket, Tracfone)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    I assume you still can't properly activate a TF/VZ BYOP SIM with its IMEI.
    Had no plans too.

    I expect it'll be like the iPhone SE and need rebranded.

    Interestingly, *#06# gives a serial number(ZL******WC) not IMEI.
    Also a bar code.

    Have to wait til later to get the IMEI off the box.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5,761
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2, Samsung J3 Sky, LG Q6
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Have to wait til later to get the IMEI off the box.
    Isn't it in Settings-->About Phone ?

Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wifi calling on Simple mobile with Moto G6
    By ces1948 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2018, 01:18 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 01:45 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-09-2003, 03:22 PM
  4. T-Mobile & Moto T722i
    By xGuasaGuasax in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2003, 06:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks