Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: adding a gig on grandfathered plan

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,057
    Device(s)
    So many.
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint SERO, Framily, Freedompop GSM
    Feedback Score
    0

    adding a gig on grandfathered plan

    So I'm still on the 5 for $100 plan and afraid to touch anything on it. One of my members needs more data for the month and is asking if she can just pay extra to get more data. Now, I know I can't change the plan without consequences, but can I use the feature to add 1GB for $10? Just want to make sure first. Thanks!
    Been gone a long time. Hello, HoFo- I'm BACK.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    999
    Feedback Score
    0
    Back when the 5/100 went away, I recall someone posting on here that adding a gig did trigger them to lose the discount. They were successful in getting the discount back again having a supervisor look into it as it is really not an account change. However, it may be triggered by their system regardless.

    You might want to ask via chat and if they say you won't lose it then save that chat to support fixing any issues later.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    22
    Feedback Score
    0
    Purchasing an extra Gb of data is NOT considered an account change, and will NOT impact your Grandfathered status.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    67
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by thefisch View Post
    Back when the 5/100 went away, I recall someone posting on here that adding a gig did trigger them to lose the discount. They were successful in getting the discount back again having a supervisor look into it as it is really not an account change. However, it may be triggered by their system regardless.

    You might want to ask via chat and if they say you won't lose it then save that chat to support fixing any issues later.
    I remember a couple of people having that happen to them when they added a gig. I'll bet the same thing will happen trying to do it now. It might not be so easy go get a supervisor to change it at this point....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was one of the people who lost the grandfather discount adding a gb and got the discount back. I have added a gb to a single line a couple of times since without issue.

Similar Threads

  1. Adding 2nd Line on Ambassador Plan?
    By zaino22 in forum Fido
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-21-2010, 10:17 AM
  2. adding more line on individual plan, can I?
    By matt.mingkee in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-22-2006, 09:16 PM
  3. new contract or stay on grandfather plan?
    By humansoul in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 06:51 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2005, 02:16 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-05-2005, 01:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks