Thread: SMS delivery reports with Bell network

Hybrid View

Feedback Score

SMS delivery reports with Bell network

TL/DR - Can anyone confirm if the Bell network supports outgoing SMS delivery reports?

I just switched from Koodo where I would get SMS delivery reports, but I am not receiving them from Bell. I swapped SIM cards with my old and new phones, and have ruled out the devices - it’s definitely the network. Strangely enough, I do get sent/delivered timestamps on INCOMING SMS/MMS messages.

As Koodo uses the Bell/Telus network, I find this rather odd.

I called Bell tech support twice, and it seems that both agents didn’t really get what I was talking about. I find delivery reports incredibly useful to know when the recipient actually gets the texts, for when their phone is off/battery dead/etc…

Thanks!

Feedback Score
    I've never used it before. Just enabled it on Android Messages, and there's no indication that messages were read by the other person.

This is a feature on the core network, so that's why it's different between Bell and Telus.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

Feedback Score

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by mddrouillard View Post
    This is how rcs messaging works on bell. Only certain handsets.

Feedback Score
    I just came across that link! I guess Bell calls it "Advanced Messaging". It says that it is supported on the Samsung Galaxy S7, which is one of the two phones which I've tried it on. When I have the Koodo SIM inserted, it works as shown in the link, but when I have the Bell SIM inserted it doesn't. Similarly, when I have the Koodo SIM inserted in my Huawei P20 Pro, it shows when texts were delivered, but when I have the Bell SIM inserted it doesn't.