Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: can Tracfone use VoLTE on AT&T network? half of my town lost AT&T 3G signal since

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    321
    Feedback Score
    0

    can Tracfone use VoLTE on AT&T network? half of my town lost AT&T 3G signal since

    can Tracfone use VoLTE on AT&T network? half of my town lost AT&T 3G signal since the hurricane a few months ago....

    not a problem for actual AT&T customers because their 4G LTE signal was restored a week later... in fact, it's been twice as strong as before... I have a prepaid AT&T spare phone and it **always** gets more than 80mbps download and 15mbps upload... if forcing the same AT&T phone to 3G bands, less than half of my town, mostly in the downtown area, CANNOT get any AT&T 3G signals.... the AT&T corporate store manager said that AT&T had no plans to fix that at all... since 99% of their customers are on 4G all the time


    obviously that's a big problem for those who use Tracfone on AT&T network... because it required 3G for voice calls...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    615
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    As far as I know, AT&T has not let their MVNO's to have VoLTE yet unless you got it by accident. I know Cricket was the only one for while that supported VoLTE, but just recently, AT&T is letting their own prepaid users get VoLTE.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,749
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    As far as I know, AT&T has not let their MVNO's to have VoLTE yet unless you got it by accident. I know Cricket was the only one for while that supported VoLTE, but just recently, AT&T is letting their own prepaid users get VoLTE.
    That's finally good news for those using AT&T not on Postpaid. Likely they will withhold some of the perks, maybe even HD Voice and Visual Voicemail. At least you can make calls and text on LTE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,749
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AmandaCL View Post
    ...the AT&T corporate store manager said that AT&T had no plans to fix that at all... since 99% of their customers are on 4G all the time.
    A TF user reported quite a few months ago being told by an AT&T store manager in Florida that problems with the 3G towers may not be fixed. There are many articles from commercial users (not voice phone) stating new activations on the AT&T 3G network are ending, but not sure if that applies to voice phone users. AT&T is being less candid than Verizon has been about 3G shutdowns. End of 2021 maybe.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    321
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    A TF user reported quite a few months ago being told by an AT&T store manager in Florida that problems with the 3G towers may not be fixed. There are many articles from commercial users (not voice phone) stating new activations on the AT&T 3G network are ending, but not sure if that applies to voice phone users. AT&T is being less candid than Verizon has been about 3G shutdowns. End of 2021 maybe.
    I had some medical equipment and truck tracking devices that relied on AT&T 2G a few years ago. When AT&T shuttered their 2G, the equipment manufacturers gave us free "upgrades" to the same equipment updated with 4G LTE modems. It was like a nice bonus because the updated equipment were much nicer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    5,749
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AmandaCL View Post
    I had some medical equipment and truck tracking devices that relied on AT&T 2G a few years ago. When AT&T shuttered their 2G, the equipment manufacturers gave us free "upgrades" to the same equipment updated with 4G LTE modems. It was like a nice bonus because the updated equipment were much nicer.
    Good insight of the bigger picture! Yes, the same thing happened for M2M users with the AT&T 2G shutdown end of 2016. T-Mobile offered easy activations to those users that would have had to replace equipment out-of-pocket. Might not happen now, as T-Mo has also been shutting down 2G/3G capacity.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    321
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Good insight of the bigger picture! Yes, the same thing happened for M2M users with the AT&T 2G shutdown end of 2016. T-Mobile offered easy activations to those users that would have had to replace equipment out-of-pocket. Might not happen now, as T-Mo has also been shutting down 2G/3G capacity.
    yeah.. T-mobile 2G service in most parts of my state have also gone down the toilet, but I kind of expected that. (just not so soon)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    2,581
    Feedback Score
    0
    At&t is the stingiest proceed provide when it comes to volte.

    Sent from my K88 using HoFo mobile app

Similar Threads

  1. does Tracfone use VoLTE on either AT&T or Verizon?
    By AmandaCL in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2017, 09:13 PM
  2. Can I use k810i on at&T
    By enjoixallen in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 05:12 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2007, 09:52 PM
  4. P900 AT&T - Can I Use it on T-Mobile
    By gstull in forum UIQ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2004, 08:22 AM
  5. P900 AT&T - Can I Use it on T-Mobile
    By gstull in forum UIQ
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2004, 11:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks