Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 75

Thread: Using Three (UK sim) in 3rd world countries

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,570
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    As I indicated above, I use data only for GV/Hangouts with Three PayGo, and have only used it in Go Roam locations. The 1p/MB for all countries listed at http://www.three.co.uk/Support/Roami...ns?#countries1 seems like a bargain.

    Where are you seeing the 6 months expiration?

    In my Three online account I see:
    Credit / Valid until / Remaining
    Top-up credit / Won't expire / £9.98

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,570
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fstuff View Post
    wait.. i just thought of something.
    is the 1p/meg rate just for Go Roam Europe?
    and Go Roam Around the World need the add-on packs?

    or 1p/meg for both?

    if the former, then it explains why they have the 500meg add-on pack.
    if the latter, then i cant figure out why they even off the 500meg add-on pack???
    Go Roam countries with the 1p/MB are listed at: http://www.three.co.uk/Support/Roami...ns?#countries1

    All supported countries besides the Go Roam countries have various rates listed at: http://www.three.co.uk/Support/Roami...ons#countries2

    You can use Three PayGo in any location at the rates listed above. Add-Ons are optional.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Go Roam countries with the 1p/MB are listed at: http://www.three.co.uk/Support/Roami...ns?#countries1

    All supported countries besides the Go Roam countries have various rates listed at: http://www.three.co.uk/Support/Roami...ons#countries2

    You can use Three PayGo in any location at the rates listed above. Add-Ons are optional.
    holy.. Aruba $6/meg?!
    is there anyway to set Three to not allow usage non-Go Roam usage?
    (i dont want to continuously check whether or not i'm in a Go Roam country.)

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,821
    Feedback Score
    0

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,570
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fstuff View Post
    holy.. Aruba $6/meg?!
    is there anyway to set Three to not allow usage non-Go Roam usage?
    (i dont want to continuously check whether or not i'm in a Go Roam country.)
    I'm not sure if there's a way to prevent non Go Roam usage on Three.

    For some of those other countries, check out www.drimsim.com . Aruba would be €0.2/MB (~$0.23/MB) per https://drimsim.com/international-sim-card#price . I haven't yet tried www.drimsim.com, but I may before my next trip.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,570
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    I'm not sure about all the WorldSIM options, but according to https://www.worldsim.com/internation...#Roaming-Rates , data in Aruba is $0.90/MB.

    Is there another WorldSIM data option that would be cheaper for international use?

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    415
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    How much is an Aruba local sim ?
    I could see this as a problem if you are on a cruise ship and going to many ports. Never knowing which signal you are picking up.....
    Wanted: old barnfind VWs and Sports cars ,
    save them from the crusher , I have had my tetanus shots so rust does not scare me ,
    anything considered even parts cars

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,570
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by trackVW View Post
    How much is an Aruba local sim ?
    I could see this as a problem if you are on a cruise ship and going to many ports. Never knowing which signal you are picking up.....
    Good question. Yes, Aruba with these travel/roaming SIMs seems expensive, even at $0.23/MB with Drimsim.

    If someone is traveling extensively/regularly, it almost seems like a T-Mobile plan could be worthwhile, especially if you can get it at a discount through a business reseller, or for full-speed data at a reasonable price, perhaps Google Fi. I don't think the Google Fi international country list is up-to-date, because it really should match www.t-mobile.com/optional-services/roaming.html , and http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic...uba-Aruba.html indicates Fi should work in Aruba.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    415
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    I wonder how you would find other plans like this , I bet there are other companies in different countries that have something like this , there is a simple from Hong Kong that has wide international coverage but only for a couple weeks

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    411
    Device(s)
    Motorolla Q9c, Droid 1 (2009), Alcatel Elevate (2016)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Good question. Yes, Aruba with these travel/roaming SIMs seems expensive, even at $0.23/MB with Drimsim.

    If someone is traveling extensively/regularly, it almost seems like a T-Mobile plan could be worthwhile, especially if you can get it at a discount through a business reseller, or for full-speed data at a reasonable price, perhaps Google Fi. I don't think the Google Fi international country list is up-to-date, because it really should match www.t-mobile.com/optional-services/roaming.html , and http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic...uba-Aruba.html indicates Fi should work in Aruba.
    you said you have both freedompop and tmobile.
    im assuming tmobile for foreign countries?
    how much is your tmobile? and what speeds in the foreign countries?

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5,821
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    I'm not sure about all the WorldSIM options, but according to https://www.worldsim.com/internation...#Roaming-Rates , data in Aruba is $0.90/MB.

    Is there another WorldSIM data option that would be cheaper for international use?
    found this - http://prepaid-data-sim-card.wikia.com/wiki/Aruba
    just google "Aruba unlimited data plan " and see all kinds of searches come up.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,570
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fstuff View Post
    you said you have both freedompop and tmobile.
    im assuming tmobile for foreign countries?
    how much is your tmobile? and what speeds in the foreign countries?
    The FP Global SIMs worked fine when I was in Europe in June, 2018. Each still had 700MB available at that time. All 4 of my FP Global SIMs still currently work in the US, so I'd guess that they will still work in Europe, but now with only 250MB each.

    I use a T-Mobile data only SIM that allows regular LTE in Canada and Mexico and throttled 128Kbps data in 210+ countries. I use it with GV/Hangouts and Viber, mostly for messaging, but voice calls do work, although not great at 128Kbps.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    415
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is the T-Mobile data only sim Prepaid or do you have to do a contract ?

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,570
    Device(s)
    LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by trackVW View Post
    Is the T-Mobile data only sim Prepaid or do you have to do a contract ?
    It's month-to-month, but it's a special deal through a business group account. I haven't figured out if anything comparable is available to the general public, but I don't think so.

    A similar T-Mobile data only plan is available at https://teltik.com/plans_step1_choose.php for $23.50/mo ($20+$3.50) for 5GB/mo LTE. That plan is specified for tablets, but in my experience, T-Mobile data SIMs will work in most any non-T-Mobile phone, even if not officially. The TelTik plans are meant for businesses, but you could talk to/chat with TelTik to see if they have suggestions for how you could qualify as a business.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    415
    Device(s)
    nexus and RIP Motorola flip phone
    Carrier(s)
    T -Mobile ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the link to Teltik , I never would have found that......
    since these are month to month accounts does it include free music streaming and free Netflix etc streaming ? And it you hit the data limit does it shut off or just get real slow ?
    Thanks again for the tip

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 08:08 PM
  2. Iphones in 2nd world countries...?
    By georgeluv in forum Apple
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 05:46 PM
  3. Replies: 105
    Last Post: 04-16-2007, 10:38 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-03-2005, 11:52 AM
  5. ROAMING - possible to use 850 freq. in 900 freq. country?
    By Tiger123 in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2004, 06:34 PM

Bookmarks